We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit above the "you get what you pay for" category”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip
Ranked #194 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Its in a great location (super close to Hooters, Tropicana and MGM) there is a good breakfast place and a liquor store near it. The room is rather small and the beds are full sized so not much for moving around. If your looking for a place to crash, this hotel will do the job. It is small but its clean and comfortable, which is most important. The area is super quiet so you will get a good night sleep.

The bathroom sink and shower are actually separated by a door so make sure the people that stay with you are "close" to you.

there is no fridge, but there is a few ice machines close by.

The pool is pretty nice but I didn't bother spending time there.

on a budget, this is the perfect Vegas spot for you :)

The front desk employees are super friendly and there is FREE WiFi!!!!!!

Fax and printer service is also available.

Room Tip: Its kinda tight so no more than 3 people lol
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Erik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mchute, General Manager at Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Thank you sharing your comments regarding your experience at the Howard Johnson Tropicana! We are happy that you found our staff to be super friendly and that you appreciated the free Wi-Fi. We hope to have you as our guest in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (925)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

640 - 646 of 925 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Billy D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mchute, General Manager at Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mchute, General Manager at Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Damon480
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mchute, General Manager at Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

When I first arrived I was greeted by a very unfriendly desk person. I asked for a room up front because I was alone and she stated, "Those are for people who pay more and you are at the AARP rate. I finally got a room after 20 minutes of waiting for her to accept the agreed cost I was quoted. I was given a room where the toilet over flooded after I had just unpacked. I asked for another room and the girl actually had the nerve to get upset. They then set me to a room with no shower curtain and torn bed sheets. It was the worst experience of my life! The service was aslo terrible..very poor customer service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlmostFamousRocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mchute, General Manager at Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay. I sincerely apologize that you experienced some issues with your room. I can assure you that I will investigate the issues mentioned with the staff. The rooms in front buildings are remodeled “deluxe” rooms and there is an additional charg for these rooms. Again, I apologize for your inconvenience and thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

I know many people probably don't go to Las Vegas for a quiet night's sleep, but my husband and I were passing through Las Vegas and just needed a bed for one night. We basically just needed a place to rest on our trip. While the place wasn't fancy, it was clean and quiet. Everything in the room worked (TV, air conditioning, etc.). No complaints.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AmericanRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mchute, General Manager at Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and your business. We are truly happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Phenomenal
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mchute, General Manager at Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Americas Best Value Inn Las Vegas
The Strip
Travelodge Las Vegas Airport North/Near the Strip
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hooters Casino Hotel
#123 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,667 reviews
Silver Sevens Hotel & Casino
#119 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,552 reviews
The Strip
Motel 6 Las Vegas - Tropicana
Motel 6 Las Vegas - Tropicana
#159 of 263 in Las Vegas
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip

Address: 165 E Tropicana Ave, Las Vegas, NV 89109-7306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range: $35 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip 2*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk to the Strip from our Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas hotel. Our pet-friendly hotel in Las Vegas is a quick walk to casinos, restaurants and shopping. Take a dip in our seasonal outdoor heated pool and enjoy a meal or slice of pie at neighboring Coco's Bakery Restaurant. Take advantage of free Wi-Fi Internet access, and if you need fax service, you will find it in the business center of our hotel in Las Vegas, Nevada. We are also conveniently located just 2 miles from McCarran Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Vegas.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing