We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip
Ranked #194 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Customer Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

The customer service was great. Everyday we needed extra towels and we got it without any problems. Close to the strip and but a good distance if you dont want to be in all the crowd. Several food options.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade and they will give it to you if you have a child.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 718Passport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
WOW, thank you for the wonderful comments! We are truly thrilled that you had such a wonderful experience at the Howard Johnson Tropicana. Our staff goes above and beyond to meet and exceed our guest’s expectations. We are happy that you found our close proximity to the strip to be of convenience. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    161
    253
    155
    170
See reviews for
194
170
110
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

The girl at night did not know what she was doing. We was supposed to post a pet deposit and it was done in the morning when we checked out. this hotel got the rating it did because everything is knew even the people that work there. You ask a question of some of the female workers and you get the deer caught in the headlight effect. The man in the morning is better and offered to just not charge us. the point is the knowledge of the staff.
Service is knowledge for the convenice of the guest or customer. We pay for a service and should not be the learning to used to train employee's

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We sincerely appreciate your feedback; I can assure you that I will share your comments with my team in our monthly service training meeting. I apologize that your experience at the Howard Johnson was anything less than perfect. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

My buddy and I was checked into this hotel for the weekend. The battery on our truck died and the front desk jumped it for us. We did not have to call a tow truck and spend alot of money. Steffanie provided the jumper cables and Fred used his car to get us on our way.
Close to everything and a very very good value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback! We appreciate all of your comments and will them with share them with our team. We pride ourselves on delivering quality and personalized guest service, Stephanie and Fred assets to our team! Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

When we checked in Mark and Fred where very kind and informed. The hotel did not have breakfast, but did direct us to CoCo's and that they had specials. Fred also provided us with menu's for food other than pizza.
The girls on the desk during the day where very nice and professional. The only draw back was one night there was no one in the office when we came back to the hotel. There was a sign , but after waiting a few minutes we just continued on to our rooms.
This was a great stay and we enjoyed our time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for the feedback regarding your visit to the Howard Johnson Tropicana. We are sincerely happy that you found our team members to be helpful. We pride ourselves on delivering great customer service and do our best to exceed our guest’s expectations. I sincerely apologize that the desk agent in the night left the office for a minute to deliver towels to another guest. Again, thank you for comments and we hope to have you as our guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerny, ne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

The front desk at check in and check out was very knowledge about where I had to be. the front desk was very fast and professional at check in and check out Monday morning.
The value was excellant, because who stays in the room in vegas just too many slot machines.
I would suggest a coffe pot in every room.
The staff was great and the rooms clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eldon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, General Manager at Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Howard Johnson Tropicana. Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding your experience and interaction with our professional staff. We have shared your remarks with the team. I apologize that the coffee maker was missing from your room; we do have this free amenity in all guest rooms. We have since replaced the missing coffee maker in the room that you stayed in. Thanks again and we look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Americas Best Value Inn Las Vegas
The Strip
Travelodge Las Vegas Airport North/Near the Strip
Hooters Casino Hotel
#134 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Motel 6 Las Vegas - Tropicana
Motel 6 Las Vegas - Tropicana
#167 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
The Strip
Travelodge Las Vegas Center Strip
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip

Property: Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip
Address: 165 E Tropicana Ave, Las Vegas, NV 89109-7306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip 2*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk to the Strip from our Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas hotel. Our pet-friendly hotel in Las Vegas is a quick walk to casinos, restaurants and shopping. Take a dip in our seasonal outdoor heated pool and enjoy a meal or slice of pie at neighboring Coco's Bakery Restaurant. Take advantage of free Wi-Fi Internet access, and if you need fax service, you will find it in the business center of our hotel in Las Vegas, Nevada. We are also conveniently located just 2 miles from McCarran Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Vegas.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson on East Tropicana, Las Vegas Near the Strip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing