We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Desert Paradise Resort
Ranked #28 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed the week of Labor Day. It was a nice 2 bedroom condo. I went with my husband and parents. The washer and dryer in the room was a plus. Beds were comfy and nice sized closets, in both rooms.There was a few flaws. The shower in the 2nd bathroom was way to short. I am not a tall person but it is super short. And, it would be nice if both bedrooms had the en suite. The pool area was nice. We never had a problem with chairs. We did get suckered into the timeshare presentation, and really regret it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cubschick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Desert Paradise Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

We’re glad that you have had a pleasant stay at the Desert Paradise Resort. We understand that our product may not be for everyone, but we appreciate that you took the time to participate. Your comments about the shower facilities have also been forwarded to the appropriate management team for consideration. We strive for excellence at Desert Paradise and hope that you continue to experience this quality whenever you choose to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

303 - 309 of 596 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised at our accommodation. We had a very spacious one bedroom unit which had all the mod con appliances you could need for a comfortable stay, food processor, large fridge freezer, washer dryers, dishwasher, coffee perculator (you can ask for a kettle at reception), two flat screen TVs, air con ( a little noisy at night as no speed control on fan) ....... and my favourite of all a walk in wardrobe. We had parking right outside our door which was great when loading the car up for days out, much preferable to walking miles through hotel corridors which would be the case if staying on the strip.
There is a lovely pool with shade from trees, but it may helpful to provide umbrellas as the searing sun is difficult to move away from at times. The grills at the pool area are well maintained although we didn't make use of them during our visit, plenty of others did. Our room was serviced twice during our 11 night stay, but it clearly was hoovered in the first service and without a hoover in the unit, i resorted to trying to brush a carpet with a broom as it looked a bit grubby after several days.
The only two down sides to mention are ...... the balcony area which is dark all day no matter where the sun is in the sky and was next to the bin storage which didn't encourage me to sit out. The major negative though was the concierge, we arrived from the UK very red eyed and exhausted after two long flights, however despite explaining this, our concierge was not to be deterred from trying to reel us into her sales patter (the diamond resorts are timeshares). We tried to leave the reception several times but she insisted on bombarding us with information (her job i know but there is a limit). The icing on the cake was when she tried to put a booking on our credit card for god knows what (id lost the will to live) in order to lock us into attending a sales session the following morning. When we didn't play ball and finally left, little did we know we would endure daggers looks from her every time we entered the reception which led us to use the back door entrance at times .... yes we were cowards in the face of this avid sales woman :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Denis187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed first week of September. Wonderful gated property minutes west if Las Vegas Blvd consisting of one and two bedroom apartment style rooms. I don't feel the booking sites give credit to all the amenities or room details that your money buys at this property. Beautiful landscaping along the walkways takes you under a canopy of older growth acadia, evergreen, and palm trees creating soft shade and an openness for gentle breezes. The complex is dotted with lavender Mexican Petunia bushes and brilliant yellow Coreopsis trailing among the decorative rocks. The 8 unit apartment blocks circle the saltwater pools which are centered on the property. The first pool sits behind the front office and is an adult only pool that is open until 12AM. In the middle is a fenced toddler fountain spray play area, and in the back is the large family pool complete with a waterfall open until 10PM. Both pool areas have covered cabanas; cushioned chair and lounges were plentiful all around the pools. The adult and family pools each have their own spa with the family spa being quite large and the water spills from a rock waterfall. In the middle near the toddler area sit the restrooms and shower area accessible from both pools. The pool area has surround sound with classic tunes and expertise must have been employed in it's design because it was easily enjoyed in the pool area without being heard in the rooms (that still amazes me!) Our room was a one bedroom with clean line architecture, crisp furnishings, and endless closet space. The living area had transitional/modern furniture with a fold out sofa bed (not the rickety sofa bed I've always known), an armchair, and movable storage coffee tables. The living room opened onto a snack counter that divided the kitchen/dining and living areas. The kitchen was well spaced, U shape with granite countertops complete with microwave, stove/oven, full refrigerator, toaster, coffee maker, blender and dish washer. The kitchen is supplied with stemware, glassware, plastic glasses with pitcher, 7 piece pot and lid set, oven ware, flat ware, kitchen towels and cooking utensils. The resort provided complimentary sponge scrubber, dish soap, drying rack, trash liners, and dishwasher soap. Next to the open kitchen is a dining area that seats four. On the other side of the living area is the bedroom, bathroom, and laundry area. Our bedroom had a king bed with crisp cotton percale sheets and cotton duvet, walk in closet with a safe, and ceiling fan. My only personal issue were the four overstuffed foam pillows. I did not find them to be comfortable but in defense of the property nor did I call to find out if they had any alternative pillows. Both the living and bedroom has wall mounted 40 inch flat panel TVs. The bathroom was quite large with a garden tub/shower, granite countertop, and travertine style floor tile. The commode area was double doored so that it could accessed from the bedroom or living area for privacy. Followed by the laundry area with Smart Wash Maytag washer and dryer and the iron/ironing board. Finally the unit had it own patio with table and chairs and the resort provides huge thirsty beach towels in your room. Personal tip: the beach towels are so thick I discovered they were better managed by draping them on the patio chairs to dry overnight in the dry desert air. The front desk staff was considerate and professional (hat tip to Mark) and from there guests are recommended to stop at the concierge's desk. This is when the their special concierge encourages you to sign up for their 90 minute luncheon with offers of discount show tickets or a $75 MasterCard. Interestingly the phase "Time Share" is never used in the spiel. Frankly, I let her say her monolog and responded that I would think about it and walked away. I never felt overt pressure but then again if this sort of encounter intimidates you then I don't think Las Vegas is the destination for you. They do have a shuttle service with multiple stops along the strip and Fremont St. that doubles in frequency Thursday to Sunday. Also shuttles to the grocers on limited days. We did not utilize the fitness center or the billiards room for me to comment. Having stayed in Vegas multiple times through the years from a junior suite at MGM to a 70's red velvet nightmare at the Riveria (since refurbished) I can honestly say the dollar for dollar the Desert Paradise is an excellent buy. By saving $250 a night we gave up the marble bathrooms and high rise views of the parking lot, I can definitely live with that. But what we gained was quiet which is not easily found at the strip hotels. When our child was cranky from sensory overload and we have spent our last nerve from a fussy kid and jostling crowds we were able to escape it all to a quiet, well ordered property, slip into the pool and let the waterfall refresh our spirit- priceless.

Room Tip: The office and the back of the property face east in the direction of the strip, can see very little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

we booked this resort as part of our timeshare. it was a very pleasant surprise. the place was clean, roomy, great location. the AC blowers were loud, but you got used to them after a couple days. yes, I will book here again!

Room Tip: away from the pool. facing east to see the storms come in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Nice room, quiet location, pushy and rude sales people made us feel uncomfortable to interact with resort staff.

We stayed at this property for 1 week as part of an Interval International timeshare trade. The room was lovely and quiet, and we enjoyed the longer pool hours (the adult pool and hot tub are open to midnight) as compared to places where we stayed on the strip where pool access ends as early as 6pm. While it is significantly off the strip, limited shuttle services are available.

That being said, I would hesitate to recommend this property to others due to pushy and rude timeshare sales people. When we checked in, we were tired and it was late. After receiving our keys, we were obligated to stop at the concierge desk for "resort information" which turned into a timeshare pitch. We indicated we wished to drop off our bags in our room and relax before committing to a session. However, the woman would not take "no" for an answer. Reluctantly, we signed up for a free lunch presentation. As we had been staying on the strip prior to checking into Desert Paradise, we had plans for the following day, something which clearly irked the initial sales woman who wanted us to attend the presentation the next day.

After attending the more than 90 minute presentation, we left unclear as to what we would be purchasing - essentially $30,000 worth of property in the form of points? The sales agent assigned to us would not let us leave with anything written on paper, nor allow us to contemplate such a large expense outside of the meeting time. While we remain interested in potentially investing in a timeshare style property, we certainly would not do so under this type of pressure, and without the ability to walk away and think about the decision overnight. We asked our agent for his business card should we have further questions following the meeting and he flat out refused saying "no" - clearly the "personal relationship" built during the meeting ends the moment you refuse to sign on today. I remain reluctant to invest several thousand dollars with Diamond or any company that refuses to allow me to look into their business practices, or financial statements outside of the "90 minute" sales pitch. If this business is built upon such practices my recommendation remains: BUYER BE WARE!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Tara95473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Desert Paradise Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

We are truly sorry that your experience with our Concierge and Sales staff members significantly marred an otherwise positive stay here at Desert Paradise Resort. This kind of behavior and lack of proper customer service should not, and will not be tolerated. We look into these issues as soon as possible, and make sure that our Concierge and Sales staff members recognize and properly practice our “Meaning of Yes” philosophy. We hope that this isolated experience/incident will not prevent you from coming back to our resort again in the future, and that our extended pool/hot tub hours and access to the strip will help override the negative vibe obtained by your sales presentation. We sincerely appreciate your business with us and wish you the best on all your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

this is the third time i have been with my wife. excellent service specially at the front desk, we receive very professional assistance from mr cody, miss kimberly and mr anderson, allmof them are very helpful. honestly i recomend thid resort
eduardo todres

Room Tip: first floor close to teh pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eduardo t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Desert Paradise Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about you and your wife's most recent stay here at Desert Paradise Resort. Your repeat business is especially appreciated by all of the staff here. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated! We hope to see you both again here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was definately a three star property as far as rooms. It was comfy and very convienant. If you are looking for a 4 star or anything luxury this isn't it. But if you want comfort and convience I think its' the place. It's a little out dated.
We had a 2 bedroom.
master had a king with a big walk in closet and it's own bathroom. Other room had a queen with small walkin closet. there was a bathroom in the living room, pull out coach, tv, dvd player, full kitchen with full size fridge and all the untinsils and kitchenware.
There is a full size washer and dryer too
There are two pools, one for adults only with jacuzzi and another with little waterfall and jacuzzi also.
there are bbq girls there too.
The workout room is average size
There is no breakfast. I thought there was one morning and was going to grab somethign but it was for "open house" they are a timeshare property. No one once bothered me about attending so that was nice but sucked that the food was only for those that wanted to attend lol

The location is great. Free parking. It's just a few min from the strip.
Close to freeways

The cleaning people didn't do the greatest job so we just didn't have them come anymore. I think they only come every 3 or so days anyways.

There are no elevators. There are only two floors per building though so it's not a big climb.
The place is gated and is closed at night only open with code which is nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank llsmr777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Desert Rose Resort
#40 of 264 in Las Vegas
3,906 reviews
Tahiti Vacation Club
#67 of 264 in Las Vegas
436 reviews
Polo Towers Suites
#30 of 264 in Las Vegas
2,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#47 of 264 in Las Vegas
3,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Paradise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Paradise Resort

Address: 5165 S Decatur Blvd, Las Vegas, NV 89118-1520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#27 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $45 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Paradise Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Vacatia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Desert Paradise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Paradise Hotel Las Vegas
Sunterra Desert Paradise Resort
Desert Paradise Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing