We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Desert Paradise Resort
Ranked #27 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The check-in process was a little long and drawn-out and the pressure to attend time-share sales was a bit heavy, but when we finally arrived at the accommodation we were much happier. We had a ground floor apartment and parked close by. The rooms were spacious and had everything you would need for a few days including sample detergents etc. The only poor areas were noisy air conditioning and lack of free wifi. The gardeners keep the gardens well manicured but use the loud leaf blowers too much early morning, blowing debris under the doors etc. As there are no vacuum or sweeper facilities the debris goes all over the floors. More frequent housekeeping would solve this - every 3 days is not really good enough. The power shower is set to be too powerful - not everyone likes a severe superpowerwash in the morning! Aside from these few things, positively, we felt very safe and secure here, the bed was comfortable, there was plenty of storage space and it was generally very clean (no dust or bugs). This is a quiet haven, and not far with the car from the strip. The pool area was clean and well designed, overall its a nice place.

Room Tip: Ground floor for easy access with luggage. You have a private patio balcony on the ground floor as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MeanduEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (598)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

333 - 339 of 598 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

We were guests at the Desert Paradise Resort and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. 2 bedrooms with large walk in closets, full kitchen with supplies and washer/dryer, which were all utilized. There was an adult pool, hot tub and a great family pool. The staff was pleasant and very accommodating. The strip is about 2 miles away but would recommend renting a car for convenience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simseyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at the Desert Paradise Resort as a trade for our timeshare week at a different resort. The booking and check in process was very easy and the front desk staff was pleasant and helpful. The room was what we were expecting and was clean and well stocked with essentials for our stay. The kitchen is set up well and has Cuisinart appliances, however the dishwasher didnt work so well and we had to rewash most of our dishes.

The property was clean and well kept and the maintenance staff were courteous and efficient. Overall I was quite pleased with our initial experience.The only complaint I have regarding the actual room is the bed. It was extremely hard and uncomfortable. I woke every morning with a sore back and very little rest. And these mattresses are apparently specially made for Diamond Resorts. I think they got taken in that deal.

The grounds and pool area are also very nice and well maintained. There is a family pool area with plenty of shade as well as open space for sun bathing. There is also a childrens' area.The adult pool and hot tub is perfect for sun worshippers but if you are not so inclined to lay in the sun, you have very little if no shade options.There is a bbq pit with 5 bbqs for use and they came in quite handy. The front desk supplies you with the tools at no extra charge.

My pleasure changed quickly, however, when, in a moment of weakness, I accepted an invitation to the time share presentation.
I was open and upfront about owning a timeshare with a different company and that I had no desire to purchase anything from Diamond. The presenter assured me that if I kept an open mind and decided that I still was not interested, he would be happy to accept that.
All went well until at the end of the presentation, I indeed said no. Then his entire attitude changed. the pressure was on and he became increasingly rude. By the time we left the show suite I was extremely angry with Carl and would not have paid a dime for two seconds of Diamond Resorts time.
They were trying to trade a week of our timeshare for 5000 of Diamond's points. Doing the math it worked out that I would be paying four times the price for a week at Diamond as I originally paid at my timeshare. A very bad deal.

To sum up, we enjoyed the individual resort,and would stay here again but would never purchase or recommend anybody purchase Diamond Resort points. They are ridiculously expensive and not as flexible as they say.

Room Tip: If you don't do stairs well make sure you ask for a ground floor when checking in. the balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We were guests and stayed in 2nd bedroom. The bed was very comfortable and large walk in closet. Bathroom is right outside bedroom. All the little things that add up when you buy at store are there: dish soap, paper towels, detergent for washer and a few dryer sheets. Washer/dryer right in unit. Full kitchen with all the utensils was a plus. All in all was a great value

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 56marty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were nice and had plenty of privacy. It was well stocked with everything that you need for extended stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. The pool area was cozy and peaceful. The strip is about 2 miles away. They offer a shuttle, but I would recommend a car rental for convenience, since all the hotels offer free self parking.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank APB1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 days/2nights.My mom loved it here. We had a 2bed 2bath.This place has everything!She didn't want to leave. They had a birthday gift for her when we arrived. I thought that was so nice. The staff was so helpful. They give u a list of everything restaurant and shops if u need anything.They have two pools/two hottubs one for families and one for adults . Nice clubhouse with pool table and tables for chess and checkers with Big screen TV. We loved it here. Can't wait to come back to Las Vegas and stay here again !!! Thanks Desert Paradise Resort for making my moms birthday stay so great and special !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nivz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

1. Staffs were hospitable and friendly
2. Well kept pool, grounds, parking lot, clean and comfortable room, Kitchen had everything we needed.
3. Little bit away from the Strip but was worth it.

Highly recommended !!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jpshiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Desert Paradise Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here at Desert Paradise Resort. We were delighted to read that our accommodations, amenities, customer service, and location met, if not exceeded your expectations. Many of our guests actually prefer the distance away from the strip. Hopefully you were able to take advantage of our complimentary scheduled shuttle service to a few of the hotels located on the strip. We sincerely appreciate your recommendation of our resort, and we look forward to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Desert Rose Resort
#39 of 264 in Las Vegas
3,913 reviews
Polo Towers Suites
#28 of 264 in Las Vegas
2,558 reviews
Tahiti Vacation Club
#67 of 264 in Las Vegas
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#17 of 264 in Las Vegas
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Paradise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Paradise Resort

Address: 5165 S Decatur Blvd, Las Vegas, NV 89118-1520
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#21 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $83 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Paradise Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Vacatia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Desert Paradise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Paradise Hotel Las Vegas
Sunterra Desert Paradise Resort
Desert Paradise Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing