We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace, quiet and luxury abounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cancun Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cancun Resort
Ranked #104 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Peace, quiet and luxury abounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

The week before Thanksgiving in Las Vegas is pretty quiet all over. With temperatures soaring to the high 40's, it's not sun and fun weather. But if you wanted to, Cancun has one of the few heated pools in Vegas. 5 outdoor spas also heated, allow you to "pretend" it's summer in any case. Our villa was a one bedroom with two baths, fully stocked kitchen, living room, balcony. Very nice.

This resort is a timeshare, so housekeeping happens twice a week. More frequently by request ($). A restaurant, poolside bar, activity room, and even some water slides will have us back sometime in prime time. However Cancun delivered exactly what we were looking for on this vacation.

Room Tip: We chose pool view and were well satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mort69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    380
    182
    92
    65
See reviews for
485
228
24
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We booked a 2 bedroom suite and were pleased with the size of the unit, however the elevator was very slow to arrive due to the fact that the main elevator was broken so each time we had to wait 10-13 minutes for it to arrive which was quite annoying for a three day stay. Also several lights were out in the unit but a call to the front desk resolved the issue within a few hours. Expect an invitation to a 90 minute timeshare presentation with a full breakfast and a free gift. The presentation actually takes 3 hours and the full breakfast was horrible at best. One of the salesmen was extremely rude, got angry and stormed off when we declined to purchase the timeshare, he refused to give us the free gift until I went to the front desk and demanded to speak with the hotel manager who quickly resolved the issue. Also you need to check out before 10am, at 10:03am housekeeping started knocking on our door, we told them we were loading the luggage cart and would be out in a few minutes. Between 10:03am and 10:08am, housekeeping knocked and then entered our room five additional times, they were doing the same to the other guests across the hall from us, the housekeeping staff seemed to be having fun trying to rush us out of our rooms, it was extremely annoying. Based on our experience we would not return on our next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the new upgraded suites on the back of the property where it is quiet.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank psmconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Cancun Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We sincerely apologize for any annoyance and/or inconvenience you felt caused by the unexpected maintenance issues you experienced during your stay. As we our primarily a Vacation Ownership property, an approximately 90 minute sales presentation to see if you are interested in purchasing ownership interest with Diamond Resorts is part of the check in process. However, this presentation is optional, and our guests do not have to attend this, provided it is not part of the requirements for their stay package. We sincerely appreciate your business with us and look forward to a more positive association with you in the future. If you are interested, and want to lean more, we do offer exciting and valuable incentives for your attendance. While sales presentations are for only a specific amount of time, a sales person may extend the time frame should they believe there is interest in purchasing. We regret that you did not enjoy our complimentary full breakfast, although we do appreciate your feedback regarding it, as it is a valuable tool in improving the guest experience. Our housekeeping staff works hard to ensure that all units are ready for the next guest in a timely manner. Your concerned feedback will help us improve practices and increase guest satisfaction for our future guests. No other reports of this incident have been brought to our attention. We hope that you would be willing to give us another chance to make a better impression on you in the future. Your business with us is appreciated and we wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
195 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

If you want to stay in Vegas but you don't want the hustle and bustle of the Ching Ching Ching of the casino slots, come to this place. It has a resort feeling, 4 miles away from the actual strip, close to the highway, outlet shopping, local food, and everything a Vegas casino hotel isn't. It's not glitzy but it feels like home.
Cancun resort is all villas and it's beautiful, clean, and huge rooms.
A 1 bedroom has 2 full baths, a kitchen, dining area, and living room. It's not crawling with drunks and zombie gamblers.
Cons: if you're a gambler, there's no casino.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marQ_Qram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

The apartment is great, full kitchen, two bathrooms and a great bed.
We got a message call that we had to come down to the front desk and receive our welcome gift.
The Welcome gift was actually a try too sell us a membership in some holiday club with ownership in these apartments, when we told the guy that we had other plans and could not be on this meeting he went angry and unfriendly. Then he want to sell us everything, rental car, show tickets, dinner tickets and more. The worst thing with the whole stay is the cleaning lady left our room door open the whole day until we came back late evening. Just pure luck that nobody went in and stole something, we had MacBooks, iPads and iPhones in our room. And when I asked front desk on check out if I could get my company name on the receipt. She just looked stupid on me and told me "I´m not allowed to do that"

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Cancun Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
As we are committed to creating an experience that exceeds guest satisfaction, your feedback was most concerning to us. We are however pleased that your unit met your expectations and you found our beds to be comfortable. While we do offer the opportunity to learn more about Diamond Resorts during a presentation, your attendance certainly is not mandatory, provided it is not part of the requirements for your stay package. If you are interested and want to lean more, we do offer exciting and valuable incentives for your attendance. We certainly do not advocate an unfriendly approach to this and what you experienced is not how we expect our concierge staff to interact with guests. We encourage anyone who feels inconvenienced to contact our reception team. We are extremely concerned to note your dissatisfaction in the service our housekeeping and front desk team members provided. We will address these concerns with team members immediately and internally. We appreciate your feedback as it is a valuable tool in improving the guest experience and we wish you all the best in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

The staff at this resort and spa are extremely helpful and friendly. The Vegas strip is a short drive away which both my husband and I liked. You were away from all the hustle and noise of the strip. The grounds of the resort are nice. The bedroom was comfy but the living room furniture was worn and a bit uncomfortable, but I understand new ownership has recently taken over, so I would give it another try if we head back to Vegas. All in all it was a vey good stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed in a one bedroom villa that sleeps 4. Nice to see there are two bathrooms, full kitchen with all equipments (mixing bowls, pyrex pans, pots and pans...). We did not cook any of our meals this trip, but would have if we had stayed longer.

Looked around grounds, very well kept. Staff is very helpful, very friendly.

You need to drive (take a taxi) to the strip. If you do drive your own car, there is no charge to park your car at this location.

I have just one complaint. This property prides itself being a 5 star resort, which it is in many aspects. But I believe the rating should be 5 star in the little details, like the toilet paper (one ply). Just my opinion.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traci R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Cancun Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us. We’re glad that you enjoyed your overall stay here. However, we regret to read when our resort products are not to one’s likes. We assure you this is a rare occurrence and we are confident this won’t interfere with the enjoyment of future stays! We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

This resort wasn't far from the Vegas Strip. The room was very big, very clean and decor was very nice. The pool and hot tubs were excellent and the resort grounds were nicely decorated and well groomed. Restaurant (breakfast) was very good. Other meals were taken on the Strip. I would definitely go back to this resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dontforgettoremember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Enterprise
South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa
Tahiti Vacation Club
#49 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Enterprise
Residence Inn Las Vegas Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polo Towers Suites
#30 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cancun Resort

Property: Cancun Resort
Address: 8335 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89123-1006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Enterprise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cancun Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new standard of luxury Las Vegas resorts has been established. Cancun Resort, in fabulous Las Vegas, Nevada, is an all-villa masterpiece and the epitome of sophistication and indulgence. Scant few Las Vegas resorts can equal the comfort, affordable luxury and sheer spectacle of this architectural gem. A stay at Cancun Resort will take your mind and soul on a journey to places and times that only your wildest imagination can find. Exquisite Mayan sculptures, creative and playful waterscapes and slides, dramatic lighting effects and the harmony of elements; fire, earth, water and wind work together in concert providing an unforgettable vacation experience at our Las Vegas resort's ideal location. Dream of the ultimate vacation destination. This is it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Priceline, Vegas.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Vegas Cancun Resort
Cancun Hotel Las Vegas
Cancun Resort Las Vegas
Cancun Resort In Las Vegas
Las Vegas Cancun Hotel
Cancun Resort Villas Las Vegas
Cancun Resort Spa Las Vegas
Cancun Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing