We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at Cancun Resort”
Review of Cancun Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Cancun Resort
Ranked #105 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    392
    185
    94
    66
See reviews for
502
231
25
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have no idea where these reviews are coming from. There are different buildings, we were in the "Cancun Building". Maybe the others have been updated, but this one was very disappointing. It is a miserable experience just taking the elevator up from the parking garage. There is a little alcove inside a door that is supposed to be accessed with your key, but actually never is locked, day or night. Yucky old carpeting there, and in the elevator itself, which is basically a beaten up, smelly service elevator. Also, the elevator is supposed to require your door key, but this too was never functional, morning and night. We had to get maintenance to fix the toilet as soon as we arrived as there was a steady flow of water audible. Most of the bathroom fittings had some kind of maintenance requirement. The 1 bedroom suite was OK, but the appliances were very dated in the kitchen. As someone has pointed out, the closet was basically inaccessible if you used the roll out sofa, although the sofa itself was quite good in comparison to other places. The preparation for arrival was not great, with an almost empty toilet roll hanging untidily in the tiny second bathroom. The master bed was good, but a tiny TV in the master BR, and a nice large one in the living area. They insisted on music being played at the pool all day from 9 am to 10 pm, and refused to turn it down, even though we were there mid week, and the pool area was almost empty at night. This music drifts into the unit. There were hardly any hangers on arrival, and the overall closet space and layout, at least in this unit, is poor.The towels had a mildew smell.
The pool area is pretty decent, though the water was a bit chilly. Not much to offer in the way of food, and what we ordered was not the best.
There has not been a shuttle to the Strip for 2 years I was told. The surrounding area is very shabby, not ideal for walking outside the resort. There is a supermarket across the street, and a good Outlet Mall very close by.
I notice that the manager answers all the postings here,which is nice, but the ones that are critical are given pretty meaningless responses. Personally, I would not go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank exuct78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lana L, Manager at Cancun Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you, we appreciate your feed back. I apologize that you did not have the best experience during your stay, please know we are always doing our best to ensure quality assurance for all of our guest and owners.
We hope that you will reconsider your experience and provide us with another opportunity to enhance you next experience.

Please let me know when you plan on returning.

Thank you,

Lana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This stay was a birthday peresent to my son and we loved the property. It makes you feel you are in a real Mexican resort, not in Las Vegas. Nice pools and waterslides.
The rooms or rather condos are spacious. We had a 1-bedroom condo that was elegant and had all appliances, dishes and utensils.

At night, you can sit at the spacious balcony and enjoy a glass of wine. There is a a kids' arcade room, but several of the machines ate coins, which we got refunded from the staff.

Very close to the Strip and also to the outlet mall. Several grocery stores and a library nearby. The only thing that was missing was a free Wi-Fi. Most hotels offer this free of charge to their guests. Having in mind that we purchased food & drinks at the bar, even though the drinks were quite diluted, and purchased tickets for kids' game room, we spent quite a few dollars more at the resort than just what we paid for the room. Free Wi-Fi would have compensated for that.

Oh, yes, a very funny Hungarian lady who works at the activities/garage desk. Reception staff is very nice and helpful, too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cosmo185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lana L, Manager at Cancun Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for the feed back. We appreciate you choosing Cancun Resort and will do everything we can for quality assurance.

We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jordan, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The rooms were very nice and clean. The pool was amazing. The pool tempurature was perfect and the slides were fun. We enjoyed all the activities. We enjoyed playing horseshoes and attending the kids club. Very close to the strip. We had a great time and plan to come back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cxjensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lana L, Manager at Cancun Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
LOVE YOU!!!!

Thank you,

Cancun Staff Las Vegas :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Overall, it was a pleasant stay. The pool is amazing, but they wouldn't let me slide down the Mayan ruins like "Apocalypto" the movie. The bar service was terrible, and took 30 minutes to get a drink. Don't expect pool service, cause you have to go inside for all food and beverages. The one bartender on duty moved slower than my 90 year old grandma, even though she had plenty of customers. Other than that, the rooms are great. Very similar to an apartment, the villa's have a full kitchen and dining area. Plenty of room to sprawl out if you choose.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lana L, Manager at Cancun Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
We apologize that you didn't receive the best service at the bar, we appreciate the comments and will ensure quality assurance. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you.


Let me know the next time you return! We will take care of you.

Lana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynden, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Loved staying at this resort. Huge pools with two water slides. Very close to the airport and close to tons of shopping and restaurants. Its off the strip and while we stayed you'd never know you weren't in mexico except the flight was faster. Were planning on coming back for a week vacation. The room we had was huge. It had a full kitchen and dining room, two bathrooms, a living room with a divider, a bedroom and a huge master bath with a jetted jacuzzi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Firefightermmm7234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lana L, Manager at Cancun Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
:) Thank you so much!

We enjoy taking care of guests like yourself! We take pride in our Resort, thank you for the great review.

Hope to see you back soon !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed here the weekend of May 10-12. Cancun is now under the management of Diamond Resorts, so the experience may differ from years prior. The front desk service was extremely pleasant, and check-in was a breeze. No added resort fees, just a $100 deposit on the room. Free parking pass is given at check in, and there are covered and uncovered lots underneath each building. Note that this is a timeshare property, not a hotel. Despite this, I really felt the service provided was hotel-quality.

The room we were in (#5312, Tulum Bldg.) was a beautiful one-bedroom unit. We were immediately impressed with the size of the unit - ample ceiling height, large outdoor patio, living room, separate dining room, full kitchenette stocked with every utensil you could think of (blender, pots & pans, dishes/cutlery, etc. etc.), 2 bathrooms (one of which was truly gigantic, with a two-person jacuzzi bathtub!). Cancun is across the street from a Food 4 Less, which makes preparing your own drinks and meals a cinch. We would stay again based on these luxuries.

There is a cafe and lounge near the pool area, and we had breakfast one morning we were there. The menus are pretty standard...generally uninspired fare, palatable to the whole family (omelettes, burgers, pancakes, etc.). Bloody Marys from the bar were SPICY! Really woke me up that morning. :-) The pool and multiple hottubs are what really makes this resort what it is. Waterslides are a kick, and I never felt crowded. I was a little concerned to hear a visitor complaining to pool staff about how dirty the Adults Only hottub is, complaining that he had gotten a bladder infection. Eugh. I can say that I'm fine, but also that I opted not to use the Adults Only tub by chance anyway (I like the ones in the sun). I also didn't feel that the resort was in any way negligent of cleaning properly. The pool area and our unit were actually shockingly clean.

Why three stars? While we always stay off strip, this was very much a family-focused resort - activities posted were all for kids, and there were little ones running amok everywhere. Kinda hard to get a sexy Vegas vibe if that's what you're going for. Driving distance to The Strip, which we enjoyed. No shuttles run there from the resort, so keep that in mind. As an unmarried twenty-something, I'll probably shoot for something a bit more focused on my age group in the future, but I can't speak poorly of the resort for that. They're doing a great job providing a clean, safe, and fun environment. :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor and facing the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Tahiti Vacation Club
#68 of 263 in Las Vegas
408 reviews
Enterprise
South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa
Polo Towers Suites
#32 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Enterprise
Residence Inn Las Vegas Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cancun Resort

Property: Cancun Resort
Address: 8335 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89123-1006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Enterprise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cancun Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new standard of luxury Las Vegas resorts has been established. Cancun Resort, in fabulous Las Vegas, Nevada, is an all-villa masterpiece and the epitome of sophistication and indulgence. Scant few Las Vegas resorts can equal the comfort, affordable luxury and sheer spectacle of this architectural gem. A stay at Cancun Resort will take your mind and soul on a journey to places and times that only your wildest imagination can find. Exquisite Mayan sculptures, creative and playful waterscapes and slides, dramatic lighting effects and the harmony of elements; fire, earth, water and wind work together in concert providing an unforgettable vacation experience at our Las Vegas resort's ideal location. Dream of the ultimate vacation destination. This is it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Vacatia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Vegas.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Vegas Cancun Resort
Cancun Hotel Las Vegas
Cancun Resort Las Vegas
Cancun Resort In Las Vegas
Las Vegas Cancun Hotel
Cancun Resort Villas Las Vegas
Cancun Resort Spa Las Vegas
Cancun Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing