We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pool and modern facility”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cancun Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cancun Resort
Ranked #103 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Rowland Heights, California
Level Contributor
379 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Nice pool and modern facility”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We used some of our points for a 4-night stay here during spring break.

Pros: A very nice and fun pool for the kids, extra bathroom in the 1-bedroom unit, full (but small) kitchen with all the things you need to prepare a quick meal or snack, comfortable bed, large parking lot, friendly pool staff, easy to get to from either I-15 or 215 many fast food places nearby and no casino.

Cons: one of the two elevators in our building was broken for the first 2 days and the last day of our stay, the rooms were not sound proofed well as we can hear kids (may be adults too) running in the hallway and when the next door neighbors using their showers, and extremely slow WiFi (I wind up using my 4G on my iPad, which was a lot faster).

Room Tip: Askin for a room facing the pool, which has a better view than the ones facing outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigFishDiveClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lana L, Manager at Cancun Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We are glad you had a great time! Thank you for staying with us!

Hope to see you back soon!

Cancun Resort Las Vegas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    380
    181
    92
    65
See reviews for
484
228
24
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Webster Groves, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is a great facility! The pool is awesome and the rooms are very roomy and clean. The rooms and facility could use a little up-dating but overall are very clean and very nice. The staff was very helpful regarding resort related questions/needs. If we needed anything at all, the housekeeping staff had the items to our room in no more than 10 min.
There is however a very big problem. That is the busses. In particular the 117 (bus that runs directly in front of the hotel). Because of the very heavy stop and go traffic in Las Vegas, both the strip and downtown, we prefer to not rent a car. We were told that the bus stopped right in front of the hotel. It does and then about 1-2 miles down the road you need to transfer to either the SDX (Strip Downtown Express) which runs about every 10 min 24 hours a day and the Deuce(double decker which makes many more stops and is consequently slower). The 117 will take you to town square where you can get off and transfer to either the SDX or the Deuce. That works well when the 117 comes on time. Sometimes it was a little late but a few times it was a early and we missed it and since it runs every 30 min we had about a 45 min wait for it. That wasn't so bad but it was coming back to the hotel in the evening after a show etc. You need to take the SDX to the transfer terminal and at that hour the 117 runs every 60 min. We waiter from 9pm until 10 pm one night and another night from 10pm to 11pm at the transfer terminal. That was just unacceptable. The Cancun resort has had a shuttle in the past and they need to start that service again. If there was just a shuttle that could take you and to and pick you up fromTown Square to eliminate the need for the 117 that would be wonderful. It is only 1-2 miles down Las Vegas Blvd. and the round trip would only take 10-15 min total. Otherwise, plan to take a taxi back from late shows etc. We will stay on the strip next time unless Cancun has shuttle service. It was a great resort and we enjoyed it except for the transportation issue!

Room Tip: Two bedroom unit was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lana L, Manager at Cancun Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for the kind comments! We love serving guest and owners like yourself!

Please let us know if you need anything in the future!

See you soon!!

XOXO

Lana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hotel was really enjoyable. The pool was great especially for kids as it has slides etc.

friendly and comfortable hotel.

Rooms where lovely and clean.

Only negative is the distance from the strip but the hotel does have shuttle buses provided i believe.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan, Utah
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Overall our family had a great time. The Water slides were a huge hit. Loved being away from the Vegas strip and away from the drunk riffraff. Had a 2 bedroom for Family of 5 and it provided adequate room. Family of 6 might be pushing it for comfort as pullout is small. Nice having a kitchen and ate a few meals in the condo. Went to food 4 less grocery store that was one block away and had reasonable prices. Outlet mall was only a few blocks North was great. Would request room that is facing the pool. bar/restaurants were ok at the hotel, but it would have been nice to have poolside service like it actually is in Cancun, Mexico. Kind of a pain as the hotel required shoes and shirt every time you want a drink or food. We would have spent much more money and ordered much more with poolside service.

Other Vegas "family vacation" highlights were hiking at red rock park Northeast of downtown and the Stratosphere rides, the big shot and insanity. Prices were not bad for Vegas either as only $28 for 2 rides per person. M&M factory was fun but overpriced. Shows were way overpriced.

As For a family vacation in Vegas this met the bill. Will likely return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schatzjaeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This resort has so much potential, but just can’t quite get it all together. It could be a top destination, especially for families in Las Vegas.

Check-in – We had two units with overlapping check-in dates because we were in LV for a total of 10 days. The Friday unit was a one bedroom, and the Sunday unit was a 2 bedroom. There were 4 in our party, and had 3 more friends join us.

It took over 45 minutes to check into the first unit that had a Friday check-in. I went to check-in and stood in line for quite a while, and I was told I needed to go to another check-in desk. I stood at this desk for 10 minute while the lady was on the phone only to be told I had to go to Concierge desk to check-in. They require exchangers to check-in through the concierge desk in order to pitch you doing the timeshare presentation. They could not find the keys to our unit, and it took a long time. They forgot to give us a check-in packet and parking permit. We realized this when we check in to our second unit. They had quite a few people staying at the resort that were there on a promotion that required them to do the presentation. They try to get you to let them just schedule you for the presentation and if you decide not to do it, you can just cancel it. They were offering a $100 credit towards show tickets. As an exchanger, we were not required to do the presentation and opted not to do it.

Our second check-in was on Sunday. This was even worse than Friday. The room should have been ready by 4 pm, but was not ready until 5:30 pm. We were rushed because we had dinner and show reservations that night, and wanted to check-in before we left. Whenever we would inquire when the room would be ready, we were told that we already had a room, so that evidently meant it was not a priority getting us our second room. They wanted to know when we would be turning in the keys to our first room. They somehow thought we would be relinquishing our first unit although we never indicated that we would be doing this. They kept apologizing for not having the not having the unit ready on time, and saying how hard it was to keep up with all the check-ins. Obviously, they would know ahead of time how many check-ins they have, and could speed up the process. The process is slowed down because first, you are not just checking in, but they are trying to pitch you to do the presentation, and secondly, because they are a points resort and the housekeeping department can not keep up with the higher demand for the units on the weekends. They do require a $100 deposit per unit at check-in that is refunded when you check out.

Units – The units are very small, and have a very unique floor plan.

The one bedroom unit does have 2 bathrooms. The bathroom off the master bedroom is a full bath with 2 sinks and a large jetted tub. The second bathroom is much smaller and only contains a single pedestal sink with no countertop space, and only a shower. The kitchen is very small and is not connected to the living area. It is functional, but only person can fit in there at one time. You cannot open the fridge while the dishwasher is open. The refrigerator was set very high and froze our water bottles, and our vegetables. There is a dining room with a good size table. The living room is adequate but tight. It is the most uncomfortable couch I have ever sat on in my life. When opened into a bed, it is adequate for one person, but when two people try to sleep on it, it bows to the center. The master bedroom had a king size bed that was very comfortable. It is the best thing about the unit.

The two-bedroom unit is very similar to the one bedroom, but has two full bathrooms with jetted tubs, and double sinks. The kitchen, living room, and dining room are the same.

I should mention that our units were both on the first floor. We were in the Tulum building, which is building 5. The one bedroom unit faced the pool, and had the sun. The 2-bedroom unit was across the hall and faced the strip. The balcony was always in the shade. The first floor had a solid balcony and only a small table and two strap chairs. The higher balconies had glass fronts on their balconies, and what appeared to be nicer furniture and a lounge chair. The units were above the parking garage. The units were not very well insulated and the first night people running up and down the halls and slamming doors kept us awake. I did contact the front desk, and they did send security. There was also quite a bit of noise from the people above us.

Exercise Room – The exercise room is very small. There is only one treadmill, 2 ellipticals, and 4 bikes. There is a multi-purpose weight machine, and free weights. There are two mats on the floor next to the treadmill. There is a bathroom inside the room. There are towels, and 2 water fountains. There are 2 TV’s. The big problem is only one treadmill. Also, the air conditioning was set at 78’F in the room. After calling several times, maintenance came and set it to 74’F. It was always very hot in the room, and very packed.

Pools – We were very lucky that the large pool was opened the day we arrived. The day before we left, they turned on the waterfall. There is a small pool in the back, and 2 waterslides. There are at least 4 hot tubs. The hot tub for adults only was closed all week. There are many hammocks, but they are all in the shade. It was a simple process to check out towels & exchange them. The pool area is maintained quite well.

Adult Lounge – There is a lounge for 17 and older at the resort that we used. It had pool tables to use for money. There was a foosball table, and ping pong table that you could check out equipment at the front desk. There was also a large TV, and seating available.
We did not use the children’s play room, but it looked nice. There were activities scheduled all week, but we did not participate.

Parking – There is a small parking garage with a limited number of spaces. Parking was never a problem outside the garage. The do have gates that access the street to the north. The gates are closed at Sunset. At night, you have to go out of the front of the resort, and do a U-turn to go to the strip.

There is a Food 4 Less across the street, and numerous restaurants close by – including a Chili’s, Chipotle, OutBack Steakhouse, Panda Express, & McDonalds. There is a mall, too, with a food court.


Overall, we had a pleasant experience at the resort, and it was adequate for our needs. It was a late request, and this was the best option available to us, but there are many options in Las Vegas, and we might try somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: If you want to get sun on your balcony, you want to be in the Tulum or Yucatan building facing the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oolatwilek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Just to let you all know this place was just horrendous! My reservation was all messed up. Instead of getting a 2 bedroom I was placed in a 1 bedroom with 6 guests which is not allowed Only 4 for a one bedroom. As it was me and my friend had to sleep in my vehicle to make way for my other guests in the room. Second night we slept in someone elses floor where the event was being held. Finally we got a room at the Mirage which I had to pay!!! I was using my points in my time share of which I pay a fortune each month. That is why Grand Monarch Vacations is in chapter 7 . I am not surprized. The staff did not want to budge and furthermore I would not recommend it to no one else. The year before that our A C was out of order and I cooked for 2 nights in 100+ temperatures. I also have to pay maintenance fees can you believe that?! This place sucks. It is bogus and better for you to stay at a motel 6. Really. Its a beautiful set up and all but you are on your own if something breaks etc. Then your vacation turns into a nightmare like mine did.

Room Tip: Do not do it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francisco A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lana L, Manager at Cancun Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We apologize for any inconvenience you may have had, please know if there is anything we could do to have your return please let us know.

We are here to serve our valued owner.

Please contact me if you have any questions or concerns.

Thank you,
Lana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We booked the Cancun Resort as a family getaway for Spring Break. In the past, we have stayed at Trump Towers, Bally's, Paris, Tropicana, etc. This time we decided it would be nice to stay off the strip in a resort with a kitchen (easier with the kids). Low and behold, a Groupon popped up and gave us a great deal/ opportunity to try this new property.

We were a little concerned that we would be away from the attractions that we like to frequent on the Strip. After being here for a couple of days, we both agree... Who needs the strip? The pool here is lovely, with water slides, a life guard, music, and more. And, even though it is Spring Break, is isn't ridiculously crowded like other hotels are during this time!! Yay!!

The rooms are more than adequate. We typically stay at Villas through the Westin and the Marriott, so this is a new experience for us. The two bedroom, two bathroom villa is quoted around 900 sf. There is a small kitchen that is stocked with all of the necessities and a dining room table that seats six. The bedrooms are an average size and they have plenty of dresser storage space. The closets are tiny, but that isn't really a big concern. The bathrooms are both a nice size and the Jacuzzi tub makes for a great bath for mommy and a special treat for the kids. Add a little bubble bath and they were ready to party! The villas are all non smoking (which is GREAT!!) and they have a small patio outside the living room. We are in building four which has been renovated recently and there are three flat screen tv's. The carpeting also appears to be pretty clean (Maybe new? I hate it when my kids are barefoot in a hotel/villa and their feet get dirty from the nasty carpeting).

Parking is FREE (nice) and there seems to be an adequate amount of parking for each building. There were several luggage carts available when we checked in, which made unloading a breeze. Our room was not quite ready at 4:00 (check in time) which was a little annoying after a long drive, but they did provide us with a key to the pool and it was nice to hang out by the pool and chat while we waited. It also gave us time to take a little tour of the property.

The internet is not included and is provided by ATTwifi. This wasn't a problem for us because we actually have att for our internet provider, so after providing our email address, we had unlimited FREE access. I wonder if you have an ATT credit card if it might be free too?? If you don't have an att email, maybe it would be a smart plan to ask a friend to use theirs for the short stay or just pony up and pay the fee.

Overall, I would give this property a four because it is very nice, but not necessarily luxurious. For the price that we paid, we feel that we got a GREAT vacation. In addition, the resort is only a few minutes from the outlet mall and there are grocery stores and eateries very close by. We also have gone to a few attractions on the strip and it has taken us 10 minutes (including parking) to get there.

Room Tip: Rooms in building four on the fourth floor have been remodeled and offer a "strip view"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lana L, Manager at Cancun Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for the feed back!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to serving you in the future!

Ciao,

Lana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Enterprise
South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa
Polo Towers Suites
#30 of 264 in Las Vegas
2,259 reviews
Tahiti Vacation Club
#50 of 264 in Las Vegas
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Enterprise
Residence Inn Las Vegas Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cancun Resort

Property: Cancun Resort
Address: 8335 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89123-1006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Enterprise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cancun Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new standard of luxury Las Vegas resorts has been established. Cancun Resort, in fabulous Las Vegas, Nevada, is an all-villa masterpiece and the epitome of sophistication and indulgence. Scant few Las Vegas resorts can equal the comfort, affordable luxury and sheer spectacle of this architectural gem. A stay at Cancun Resort will take your mind and soul on a journey to places and times that only your wildest imagination can find. Exquisite Mayan sculptures, creative and playful waterscapes and slides, dramatic lighting effects and the harmony of elements; fire, earth, water and wind work together in concert providing an unforgettable vacation experience at our Las Vegas resort's ideal location. Dream of the ultimate vacation destination. This is it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Vegas.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Vegas Cancun Resort
Cancun Hotel Las Vegas
Cancun Resort Las Vegas
Cancun Resort In Las Vegas
Las Vegas Cancun Hotel
Cancun Resort Villas Las Vegas
Cancun Resort Spa Las Vegas
Cancun Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing