We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but they nickel and dime you to death”
Review of Cancun Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Cancun Resort
Ranked #102 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
Stafford, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place but they nickel and dime you to death”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

The bad: First, I thought it would be bigger. From the pics I checked out I was expecting to see a hot tub on the balcony. I exchanged for a 2 bedroom but was told those bigger units with the tubs on the balcony was reserved for their owners. There is no free Wi-Fi ($30 for the week) and you can't even use a free machine in their business center (2 computers) - they charge you. They also charge you for toll free calls! And they charge you to do laundry at coin operated machines that are shared on every floor (unheard of at any place I've exchanged)!
The good: the place was clean, it wasn't noisy, and the beds were comfortable. The kitchen was nicely stocked too. And the common grounds were nice. It was also a perfect distance from the strip IMO (just make sure you rent a car).

Room Tip: You will get a choice of a Pool view, Vegas view, or Mountain view. The Vegas view (actually overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    399
    186
    96
    67
See reviews for
513
232
25
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fontana, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2012

The resort is nice and big. I stayed in 2 bdrm. The electronics have been updated since I was last there. They are making some improvements. The furniture is better. ienjoyed myself. the Pool was beautiful and very nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owner1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

The rooms and pool were beautiful. The gym doesn't open until 8am, so I didn't get to work out at all during our stay since I like to get it done before breakfast. There is a well equipped kitchen in our room so we went grocery shopping and were able to cook some meals to save money. However, buying your own booze is kind of a waste unless you are slick enough to sneak it into the pool area. There is no outside food or drink allowed in the common areas which is especially insulting since the drinks you buy at the lounge are VERY expensive and watered down. They have cans of beer for $5.50 each. Also, a breakfast burrito is upwards of $10 so eat in your room as much as possible. I would also suggest ordering from the local restaurants. The food is much better and much cheaper and they are glad to deliver! The website boasted a shuttle to the strip and a rooftop garden. Neither of these things existed when we were there. Since the shuttle was not running and cab fare is expensive, we rented a car. The wi-fi is not included and requires a half an hour of setting up an account with AT&T. The best part of the resort is the pool area, as long as you're smart enough to make your own drinks in the resort's cups and sneak them in. There weren't any real activities and there was no night life. Overall, a nice place for families but bring lots of cash, as they nickel and dime you to death. I would stay there again, but only because we stay cheap using a timeshare. If you have to pay a regular rate or are traveling as a romantic getaway or are looking to be wowed, I'd suggest staying closer to town or somewhere with more amenities.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank greenskyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We traded our units at Tahiti Village for three of the one-bedroom units at this resort in April and had great service from check in to check out. Everyone at the reservation and concierge desk were very accomodating for our large party. The service staff also attended to all our requests and needs.

The only issue we had during our stay was a party going on till late hours in an adjoining unit. When I mentioned it at check out, I was told that the quiet time started at 10:00 pm and that we should have called. One item to mention too is that we had one unit on the pool side which had a beautiful view but the music being played at the pool in the evenings was very loud.

Our one bedroom unit had a pull out sofa in the living room to allow for accomodations for 4 people. The bedroom size was adequate. There was a large adjoining bathroom with a whirlpool tub that could fit 2 people. There was also another full bath off the living room and folding doors in the living room doorway that you could use to create a private space.

The kitchen was small but had necessary equipment and dishes. There was no washer or dryer in the unit but laundry facilities were available.

I would definitely recommend this resort when visiting Vegas.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrshep52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2012

If you want to experience the fun of Las Vegas but need a refuge from the overstimulating glitz of the Strip, this is the perfect place to stay. We came with our teenager and two seniors and found Cancun to be extremely accommodating of everyone's needs. The grounds were exceptionally clean and comfortable, with pools for kids and adults (lifeguard included),saunas, and shaded hammocks for afternoon napping. Our 2-bedroom villa with full kitchen was well equipped for eating in, and offered enough space so as not to feel overly crowded. After a ful day/evening exploring the Strip (only 10 minutes away), the resort provided a restful haven to which to return for some peace and quiet. The staff was great about answering questions, recommending nearby restaurants (House Hash A-Go-Go at the M--WOW!), and providing extras as needed--like a day pass to the grounds after check out, so we could play poolside until our flight departed. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Sinai, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We traded in our timeshare in Orlando to visit Las Vegas for the first time. Vegas was great. Pros: Property was attractive and clean. Pool was beautiful. Location of Cancun was only 10 minutes from strip (by car with no traffic.). Cons: We booked two units and requested that they be next to each other. I confirmed this three times. When we checked in the front desk confirmed that they were next to one another. When we got to our rooms they were down the hall from one another. We went back to the front desk and they told us there was nothing they could do. Priority is given to owners. The rooms were outdated and needed to be renovated. Kitchen in one bdrm and two bedrm are extremely small. The cleaning staff is extremely noisy in the morning. Every morning they woke us up with banging things around and loud chatter. We extended our stay for a day. These arrangements were made months in advance. When we checked in this was all confirmed. Regular stays are Friday to Friday. Come Friday morning we received 5 phone calls and a dozen knocks on the door asking us when we would be leaving. We finally had to speak to a manager to insist that the staff stop bothering us. Staff at the Cancun was less than friendly. Also the spa is not a full service spa. They only do facials and massages.

Room Tip: Don't expect a good room unless you are an owner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElkoNv
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

What a beautiful hotel, it remind us of going to Cancun Mexico. It was beautiful. Would reccomend it to any one going to vegas! We give it an "A" plus.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, balcony's full kitchen, recommend it to every one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Tahiti Vacation Club
#66 of 262 in Las Vegas
414 reviews
Polo Towers Suites
#31 of 262 in Las Vegas
2,412 reviews
Enterprise
South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Enterprise
Silverton Hotel and Casino
Silverton Hotel and Casino
#55 of 262 in Las Vegas
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cancun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cancun Resort

Property: Cancun Resort
Address: 8335 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89123-1006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Enterprise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cancun Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new standard of luxury Las Vegas resorts has been established. Cancun Resort, in fabulous Las Vegas, Nevada, is an all-villa masterpiece and the epitome of sophistication and indulgence. Scant few Las Vegas resorts can equal the comfort, affordable luxury and sheer spectacle of this architectural gem. A stay at Cancun Resort will take your mind and soul on a journey to places and times that only your wildest imagination can find. Exquisite Mayan sculptures, creative and playful waterscapes and slides, dramatic lighting effects and the harmony of elements; fire, earth, water and wind work together in concert providing an unforgettable vacation experience at our Las Vegas resort's ideal location. Dream of the ultimate vacation destination. This is it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Vacatia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Vegas.com, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Cancun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Vegas Cancun Resort
Cancun Hotel Las Vegas
Cancun Resort Las Vegas
Cancun Resort In Las Vegas
Las Vegas Cancun Hotel
Cancun Resort Villas Las Vegas
Cancun Resort Spa Las Vegas
Cancun Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing