We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful new addition to Las Vegas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Smith Center

The Smith Center
Ranked #85 of 446 things to do in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A wonderful new addition to Las Vegas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

The Smith Center gives Las Vegas a great place to watch plays and the Philharmonic without going to a casino or the University. The building is beautiful and the acoustics are great. One surprise is you enter from both sides of the building through small portals as opposed to a grand center entrance. This controls the flow into and out of the building and keeps the lobby free from winter winds and summer heat blasts.

We attended Color Purple. The show was very well done and the venue is great. We were seated in the 'dress circle' area which is a synonym for 3rd floor near the back and my wife had trouble hearing the actors during the first part of the show.

During intermission we asked about hearing devices. They loaned her an infra red headset and the results were fantastic. There is no cost, but you must leave your driver's license as security for head set return.

If you use self parking in the North Lot, be prepared for a hike, but if you need it, there are shuttle carts available to help you get to your car.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank takalevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    36
    9
    9
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
“Find a performance and GO”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Saw Branford Marsalis in small jazz venue. Great music. Venue is small enough to see musicians. Appetizers and alcoholic & non-alcoholic drinks available. Friendly ushers & wait staff. Wait staff well trained - non intrusive while music played. Will go again

Helpful?
Thank Basia61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“An alternative venue for Las Vegas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

My wife and I were invited to the opening night at The Smith Centre for the Performing Arts in Las Vegas. The building itself is well worth a visit, The Architecture and attention to detail is a rare thing these days.
The three hour performance was packed with acts ranging from a solo Violinist,to a Rock Singer, all carefully chosen to give a flavour of what is to come!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Blueyes60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous new performing arts center!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

Retro Art Deco architecture is way kool!!

Wondeful Jazz cabaret, classical concerts and musicals. Check for current listings/times. Park has interesting sculptures.

LasVegas' latest Showcase for the Performing arts!

Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A fabulous new performance venue in Las Vegas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

We attended the first performance of the Las Vegas Philharmonic in their brand new home, The Smith Center for the Performing Arts, in downtown Las Vegas. The Smith Center is an incredibly beautiful venue done in art deco style with lots of marble and beautiful, artiistic finishig touches. Any performance one might see here is made all the more enjoyable by the superb surroundings. Next week we'll see the first of four Broadway shows that we've subscribed to, "The Color Purple." We were so impressed by Saturdays performance that we bought season tickets for the 2012/13 season of the Las Vegas Philharmonic. Downtown Las Vegas is experiencing a wonderful revitalization and the Smith Center is a big part of that.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank hendersonfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Smith Center also viewed

 

Been to The Smith Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing