We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great-not perfect-place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Desert
Ranked #31 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 23, 2007

This is a terrific place to stay to see Las Vegas. It is just off the strip, behind the MGM Grand/Planet Hollywood and near the monorail (MGM Grand station) and has very nice large rooms. The staff was helpful, the pools nice, good business center and there was amply parking. My wife and I enjoyed coming back to relax every evening.

Things I'd like to see them improve: the furniture could be more comfortable and felt cheap, 2 closets were difficult to open/not working properly....and that is really about it.

Overall, I really like this place, will definately stay there again and basically think that for the price it may be the best place to stay in Vegas, but I hope the Wyndam take-over results in new furniture and some increased maintenance.

Quick note on planning a trip to Vegas....we easily pulled off day trips to Zion NP, Death Valley NP in addition to the standards of Hoover Dam and Red Rock Canyon. Zion and Death Valley were both 2-3 hr drive from the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank TourSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,972 - 1,978 of 2,245 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2007

We did an exchange with RCI and did a week at this wonderful resort. Couldn't fault it. Anyone going to Vegas has to do the Grand Canyon,plane-heli-water raft ride and BBQ with the native Americans it was the best thing (beside Shopping) that we did!!

Stayed: February 2007
4  Thank saesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2007

I stayed at the Grand Desert for a week in August with my boyfriend and 2 friends. This resort is in a great location, only a five minute walk to the strip or $7 cab ride. We had a 2bd deluxe room, and it was beautiful. We had a room on the 13th floor with a view of the strip. Check-in was quick and easy (even at a late arrival time of after midnight). The Shuttle to Harrah's was great - and free!. We also signed up for the trip to a local supermarket, which was great, because we were able to stock our full size kitchen for the week which saved us money at restaurants. Unfortunetly, I got a terrible flu 3 days into our trip, and was in bed for the remainder. However, the convenience store near the pool was greatly stocked - it had all the things I needed, without my boyfriend having to go to the strip to a Walgreens or CVS. The concierge were also great. When I got sick, they helped my boyfriend and friends rearrange our plans to see a Cirque show, and even got us a discounted rate to see "LOVE" (which was great!) when we had to reschedule. Also, after check-out we were able to store our bags in a luggage hold, and use the facilities for the remainder of the day, as our flight was not until 8pm. I def. recommend this resort, and won' t hesitate to return the next time we go to Vegas. We used my brothers time-share to book this trip, but I checked the rates, and it's very affordable for such large accomidations in vegas - and no gambling on premises which was great - because we had enough of that on the strip!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank mam783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2007

We stayed in a one bedroom unit and there were four adults. The condo was very clean with nice ammenities. Our toilet handle broke one evening and someone came and fixed it while we were out for the day, absolutely professional and a note was left that it was done and if there was any other problem to give them a call. Our safe did break and they tried to fix it but that did not happen. We had no problem with that though. We already lost our money on the "STRIP". We had a car but used the shuttle most of the time which was very efficient. The drivers were all excellent and very friendly. If we were to come here again I don't even think we would get a car, it wasn't necessary. All in all it is a beautiful resort and everyone was very professional and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank ArchOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2007

stay for 1 week during first week of january. Pools were heated even if i was really cold outside. Only thing bad about resort is you can hear people next door as if they were in same room. Also, we are not walker so too far from the strip. Will defenetly stay there again next time. Loved the spacious unit compare to small hotel room.Paid $650 for 1 week during CES (convntion week) and was totally worth it

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank barbeaujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2007

Stayed for 1 week during December thru an RCI exchange. The hotel was excellent. There were 6 of us and we stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. It is around 2 blocks from the strip and it was our first time to stay in an off strip hotel but since we just drove to Vegas from California, we didn't have any problems with the transportion. We drove everywhere. In fact, this is the first time that we have been to so many other places other than the strip.

The wifi was okay although as other reviewers said, it isn't free. I couldn't really find any fault with the unit. Everything was just great. One night the lights in the bathroom went out. We called housekeeping and within 5 minutes, somebody went to our room to fix the problem..and this was @ 3 am.

Overall, this is a great and affordable accomodation in vegas and we would consider staying here on our next trip.

  • Stayed: January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank bakasyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2007

The staff was so helpful. A note in the room says they want their guests to have an excellent stay and want them to call them for anything and we did. They helped us in every way... From the heating (since it was a cold December), to extra blankets and pillows, and even gave us other extras.

The whole property is wonderful, the spa and pool was great. Take advantage of the activities (by checking their calender), they had kids happy hour in their games room. Having a full kitchen saved us a lot of money, since we had 8 in our party. We stayed in a two bedroom condo unit, which is big enough for 8. The rooms are big, and the washrooms are nice, especially the master bedroom. We even had a large terrance.

Their shuttle bus runs approx. every 30 minutes, sometimes better since they have 2 buses running. Ask the front desk for other services, as they also arrange for transportation to downtown on specific days and certain hours.

I can go on and on, as to how great our stay was here... but I will let the other reviews do that for me...

If you want a great deal in this resort, look at eBay...

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank Rabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 264 in Las Vegas
3,503 reviews
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations on the Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations at the Flamingo
Signature at MGM Grand
#12 of 264 in Las Vegas
12,934 reviews
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#20 of 264 in Las Vegas
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Desert

Address: 265 E. Harmon Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89169-6431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#29 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#44 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#48 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $110 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 787
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Wyndham Grand Desert offers spectacular one- and two-bedroom suites with fully-equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, dining rooms, large bedrooms with plenty of closet and storage space, living rooms with pull-out sofas; some suites offer a spa tub in the master bedroom. The perfect vacation home - away from home - for a weekend trip or an extended stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Vegas.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Hotel Las Vegas
Grand Desert Las Vegas
Wyndham Las Vegas
Grand Desert Resort Las Vegas
Fairfield Resort Las Vegas
Las Vegas Wyndham
Fairfield Las Vegas Grand Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing