We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The |Wyndham exceeded our expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Desert
Ranked #31 of 265 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 28, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Wyndham Grand Desert on a week's time share exchange in September, and I have to say that I had some reservations about being so away from the strip and also as to the sheer size of the place! I am not a fan of high rise buildings!
When we checked in at the appointed time, 4pm on Saturday 27 September, my heart sank at the length of the queues at check in, it took over 30 mintutes until we came to the front of our queue. However, from then on the "holiday experience" improved by leaps and bounds!

We were given free cookies by the check in guy, (probably as a result of the long queue) and he was most helpful in arranging a newly refurbished apartment with a firm bed for us as I told him that my husband had a bad back. We were not hassled to go on a time share presentation, but were given our free pack of goodies, deodrant, eye cream and mints etc.

The luggage was whisked up to our apartment on the 8th floor, (not too high!!) and the apartment itself was spacious and very well decorated, probably one of the best apartments we have exchanged to over the last 12 years. We had a one bed apartment, the bed was so firm and it was a treat to have the jacuzzi bath in addtion to the large walk in shower. The free toiletries were a nice touch and I appreciated the washer dryer in the apartment. The whole apartment was decorated in gold and earth tones with lovely furnishings and fabrics.

Whilst the pool area did not have sun all day, I was grateful for the shade as it was over 90 degrees most afternoons, and the pool was huge and pretty with the palm trees surrounding it. The free pool towels were a bonus and the security guys made sure the "adult only" pool was kept that way.

I would certainly go back to the Wyndham if I was staying at Vegas again, if you don't mind driving to the casinos, as it's a fair walk to any of the big hotels in the heat, and with all the construction going on in Vegas at the moment, it's dusty and noisy if you are walking far. We didn't use the free shuttle as the hotels we wanted to go to weren't that close to Harrahs.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Derbylady_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,909 - 1,915 of 2,264 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2008

It's our fourth stay in Vegas and our first try at this property. Since we were 3 adults (a couple and a parent), we were looking for a 2 bedrooms / 2 bathrooms accomodation for a reasonnable price and that's exactly what we got at the Wyndham.

The room was perfect for our needs and nice for the price (we paid 800$ net price for a week-long stay booked with an owner). Not as modern as the Signature (no plasma TV, just regular TVs), but it doesnt' matter much to us (at least) since we don't watch much TV when in Vegas (we save that for the rainy days elsewhere).

Pools were moderatly crowded for a off-peak period (week after Labour day). Patrons were mostly retired couples and some families (probably much less than when school is off), so we had room to swim and sit by the pools. Nice jacuzzis, but downtime on those are a problem, as it is often in resorts - leaving at a certain day only one of the three open, and it was the smallest one (seats 3-4 persons max.). Another one remained on maintenance for a full week. On the other hand, the pool hours (6am-11pm) are a plus, since other hotels on the Strip often close their pool grounds soon after the sun goes down. And I've seen swimmers in the pools up to midnight - they are probably not too strict on the rules as long as you're not noisy.

Nice gym too, and many other free activities (Wii and Nintendo console games, ping pong, computer use... all included) offered, some for a small fee (casino night, bingo & pizza, etc.). We didn't use the free shuttle to the Strip since we rented a car, but it's there. You can also walk to the Strip (10 minutes) - in our case, with a 100+F temperature all week, it was not an option. Also shuttle service (for a fee) is offered to Freemont Street, Red Canyon and other attractions, even grocery shopping, so you can go about without even driving and still see plenty.

Very nice staff, everywhere and working hard (I've seen cleaning crews on duty all day long). The salespersons are not too bothering - a nice no is enough, no insisting.

Don't expect much food outlet there, only a counter-service restaurant (no room service), which implies lesser "star-rating" than what other hotels would get with less to offer all in all. There is SO many options to eat in Vegas (and there is a in-room full kitchen) that this seems a relevant choice by this resort, at least in my opinion.

So I recommend this resort for an off-Strip, no casino but nice pool-and-relax stay.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank SebQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2008

We stayed at WGD August 29 through Sept 5. We are a 50 young couple who has been all over. We liked the Grand Desert, got a good deal through Exotic Travel Club. We stayed in tower one, near the adult pool (no kids) the room was nice, although not like the pics. See fab. time at the Wyndham review, that's what ours looked like. The room was clean, bed comfy, kitchen somewhat small. The property itself is nice, not like the (I feel somewhat wacked experience of being on a property on the strip) There were salespeople around, but siince we already have our ETC they left us alone. Loved the water aerobics in the morning (finally they warmed up the pool) and the fact we could eat in our own place when we wanted. The Hilton Grand Vacation on the strip had somewhat nicer layout of the room, but we would go back to WGD in a second. It is about a ten minute walk to the strip. There is a snack bar and a little store in the tower on the third floor. Very nice staff. The little store is expensive so if you are watching $$$ shop at one of the grocery stores near the property.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank earing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2008

We visited May 2008 for Memorial Day. The resort offers free underground parking, two pools - one for adults only, the other is family friendly. The rooms are impeccable: ceiling fans, a/c, stereo, dvd player, bright and roomy, large bedrooms, bathrooms and kitchen. Everything was excellent. The kids made tye-dye t-shirts by the pool, there's showers/restroom w/lockers if needed, and a little store onsite for necessities and such. We had a super time!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Perry_from_SoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We stayed here for 4 nights in March. The room was beautiful. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite. I have several pictures which I will post.

The pros: very modern furnishings, linens, etc. Very clean. Spacious living room and kitchen. The room had a washer and dryer. It was great to have the full refrigerator and stove. Two beautiful pools and several hot tubs. Great location to strip. TV in living room and another one in bedroom.

Cons: We requested a non-smoking room but upon entering room it was very evident that people had been smoking prior. We complained and they sent someone up with some type of air purifier. They told us it would take about an hour so we left and went to store and then to pool. We returned about 2 hours later and it was still running in our room. As a matter of fact they never came back to get it the entire duration of our stay! It didn't work either. You could still notice the odor of smoke but it wasn't unbearable.

Also we were approached about buying a timeshare. You weren't required to sit through the "pitch" but we did and got two $50 dinner vouchers.

Parking was very limited. Especially late at night. Very difficult to find a spot.

Great location, beautiful room, and great pools. We really enjoyed this place.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LYNN2267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2008

We stayed at Wyndham Grand Desert 3 nights (8/26/07-8/29/07), using our Wyndham points, This was part of our 2007 Western US Road Trip. We had been camping for a week and were ready for civilization!

Check-in was very fast, friendly and upbeat. We were in our room in about 15 minutes. Our 1 BR Deluxe unit was on a higher floor in the tower with the lobby. We did not have a balcony, but there were large windows in the bedroom and living room overlooking the courtyard and pool and we could see the top of distant mountains over the roof of the tower across the courtyard. Nice.

The unit was clean, bright, nicely appointed and well maintained. The kitchen was fully equipped and everything worked; Living area included TV/DVD, comfortable seating, and good size dining table; Bedroom had king bed with a good mattress, whirlpool tub and vanity and the Bathroom had a walk-in shower; Washer/dryer set were in a closet off of the dining area.

Our only problem was the door to the washer/dryer closet - it fell when we walked past it, shortly after checking in. We called maintenance and they were there within 30 minutes and replaced the door. GOOD SERVICE, CANNOT COMPLAIN!

We were very comfortable at the Grand Desert. This resort is a large complex with several towers, underground parking as well as outdoor (got an underground spot first night and did not move until ck-out). The courtyards with pools & hot tubs have the feel of formal gardens with plants and statues. This is an oasis in the midst of nonstop activity!

We did not spend much time in our unit - WE WERE IN VEGAS and Vegas kept us entertained - nonstop - for 3 days. We did not participate in any of the many resort activities, or actually use the pools (walked around the nicely decorated courtyards). We did use the computer room to catch up on our email (no WIFI in our room). We booked the shuttle to Fremont Street, and made reservations for a Vegas Show through the concierge. We always used the free shuttle to Harrah's (ran every 15-20 minutes from 9 a,m. 'til midnight and was punctual). This put us in the middle of all of the casinos. Sensory Overload & tired feet!!

We went to the Member Services "Update" which was 'offered' at check-in. We scheduled for next morning (to get it out of the way). There was definitely an attempt to have us 'upgrade' our points, but the pressure was not too bad. We simply said that we had plenty of points. They were not as aggressive as some have been (about an hour).

Of course Las Vegas is very entertaining. We spent most of our time walking around the casinos (gambling a little), admiring the posh shops, taking in the sights and eating lots of great food. It is true that you lose track of time inside the casinos.

One evening we enjoyed the light show (awesome!) on Fremont Street - This is the original Las Vegas that we remember from 1969 (minus the light show). One evening we saw "Jubilee", a good Vegas Revue.

The Grand Desert is a quiet retreat and a great place to relax between shows, gambling, eating, and walking around seeing the many Vegas attractions. We left the Grand Desert on Wednesday headed for Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank A Couple of Traveling Seniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2008

Rented a 2 bedroom from somone on Ebay for a decent price for a family vacation. Had a fun time but took forever to check in. The place was loaded with "representatives" looking for timeshare pitches to sell. We had a good time but I was always looking over my shoulder trying to avoid those timeshare salesmen.

Stayed: August 2008
2  Thank dianedennis55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 265 in Las Vegas
3,538 reviews
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations on the Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Signature at MGM Grand
#13 of 265 in Las Vegas
13,029 reviews
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations at the Flamingo
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#7 of 265 in Las Vegas
3,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Desert

Address: 265 E. Harmon Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89169-6431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#29 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#44 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#48 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $101 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Grand Desert 3*
Number of rooms: 787
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Wyndham Grand Desert offers spectacular one- and two-bedroom suites with fully-equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, dining rooms, large bedrooms with plenty of closet and storage space, living rooms with pull-out sofas; some suites offer a spa tub in the master bedroom. The perfect vacation home - away from home - for a weekend trip or an extended stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Vegas.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wyndham Grand Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Hotel Las Vegas
Grand Desert Las Vegas
Wyndham Las Vegas
Grand Desert Resort Las Vegas
Fairfield Resort Las Vegas
Las Vegas Wyndham
Fairfield Las Vegas Grand Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing