We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property, large rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Desert
Ranked #30 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
calgary, canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, large rooms”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

After countless trips to Las Vegas, we decided to stay off the strip. We have a 13 year old, and boy did we make the right decision. We got a 2 bdrm room, with full kitchen. Nicely laid out, dining/eating area was a bit tight, but rooms are large, nice clean bathrooms, large kitchen. Beds fairly comfortable...have had better, but they were okay. We were in Tower 3, our room looked over the pool. Lovely property, quiet, clean, very ritzy feel to it. Not a lot of pressure for time share sales...we declined the presentation and they said no problem. This is an ownership time share resort, but we loved it. Free shuttle to Harrah's was awesome. Staff were excellent. I would definitely stay here again - for sure!

Room Tip: Try and get a room looking over the pools, very nice, lots of palm trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alice1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,074
    738
    184
    72
    52
See reviews for
727
592
39
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This resort is so beautiful. It is a very ritzy looking resort on the inside. Nice friendly employees. Clean beautiful rooms with lots of windows and great views of the strip. They have free shuttles to Harrahs! Would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom room in tower 3. Beautiful, clean room, the pool is open 24/7 and the shuttle service is a great addition. Planet Hollywood is a 10 to 15 minute walk, not a 5 min walk like a previous poster stated. If going at night, take the shuttle or taxi as the area isn't that safe. The shuttle service is good but the female driver does not care who gets on or not as evidenced by what happened at 10pm on Saturday night. Several jerks pushed old people out of the way to rush on the shuttle (yep, you fat guy in the Broncos cap). The elderly people had been waiting patiently for 20 minutes and the jerks had been there 2 minutes. The shuttle driver could have mitigated the circumstances by 1. Allowing the old and disabled on first and 2. Checking our shuttle passes.
Continuing on with the bad, the sales people are horrible at this place. You check in at the desk of a chaotic lobby where sales people and customers with the blank 'I only came here for free show tickets and now I paid $50,000 for one week use of a condo and I have lost 6 hours of my day' look on their faces are milling around. After you check in, you check in again to get your 'packet and parking pass' AKA gorilla sales push number 1. The lady seemed nice enough but then started pushing and pushing. We said no, not interested and didn't have time. She pushed stating 'You have one week, you go, you go' in her Greek accent. We said no again and she said 'but you have points, you have to go fir the owner update. Did you know that Wyndham OWNS RCI now?' (Big lie by the way). Finally we relented as like another poster said, they hold your parking permit hostage until you say uncle. We ended up not going but forfeiting the $20 deposit and unplugging our room phone on the morning we were supposed to attend. We looked at it as a cheap parking fee and a savings of 6 hours. It is a lie about the owner update. They will try to make you buy their Wyndham points. We spoke with several people who complained about the lie and hard sell of the points. Two coupled at one of the show also wrote discussing being strong armed and getting crap show tickets when all was said and done. If you don't have a vehicle, then bypass the second check in and go right to your room.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank pidaua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

The Good: Exterior and public areas very nice, great shuttle service to Harrahs, quiet, clean, roomy, full kitchen, no resort fee, no casino. No pressure at all to sign up for timeshare presentation.
The Bad: Elevators required room key to access. Many times my key would not work and had to get reset by front desk. The unit decor was ugly, cheap, brown, and 70's looking. The air conditioning never cooled the room to a comfortable temperature no matter what it was set on.
The Ugly: This is a non-smoking resort (one reason I chose it), but my unit has a decades old smell of stale smoke. It is horrible. I thought I could tough it out but I will have to ask for a room change tomorrow. Guess I'll wait until then to comment on customer service!

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Isabella-McKania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed in a 1 bedroom and it was fantastic! We requested a strip view and got it although it was right next to the elevators so we heard people although it didn't bother us. Room was clean (carpets had just been cleaned) and had a very comfortable bed along with a huge Jacuzzi tub and a separate shower/bathroom. Shower had very hot water! Staff were helpful with everything and even recommended the show Absinthe -absolutely fantastic! It was a 5 minute walk from Planet Hollywood and the shuttle took you direct to Harrahs. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JenJen85254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback including location and transportation information for future guests. It sounds like you had a wonderful vacation! We’re so glad you enjoyed the unit accommodations along with the Absinthe show. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I always enjoyed staying at the Grand Desert. My room has always been clean, comfortable and gives me the amenities of an apartment, but close enough to the Strip, that I never miss any of the action.

If you're looking for a full service restaurant and some other hotel type amenities, this may not be the place for you. However, it you want value, great staff and customer service, based on room location a great view of the Strip, 2 nice pools-one designed for families and some relief of the noise and traffic on the Strip, this may be just what you're looking for.

And did I mention the shuttle that's does roundtrips to Harrah's. Again, I highly recommend Grand Desert and I don't think you'll be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms in Towers 2 & 3 have Strip views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PBruce74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are so happy to hear you have enjoyed each stay with us while on vacation. It sounds like you have been able to fully enjoy the accommodations and amenities we offer onsite. We appreciate your recommendation for future guests. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed in a 1-bedroom in Tower 3, overlooking the Strip. It was nice and quiet. The room had very nice features, decor and furnishings. The bathroom was big and there were two bathroom sinks, one in the bedroom area that my husband used. The shower head had a lot of power, surprisingly, considering everyplace has low-flow. There was a Jacuzzi tub that was also enjoyable. I really didn't have a single complaint about the room except for some sort of red gummy stuff that was on the back of the bathroom door from some prior guest. Since everything in the room looked so good, that stuff was very noticeable. The maid should definitely clean it. All of the staff, every single person, was very friendly. Everyone treated us very well and made us feel special.

Room Tip: If you want more quiet, ask for Tower 3. I called the day before to request this, along with an upp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naj12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We’re glad you enjoyed the unit décor and accommodations. We are sorry you had to spend even a minute of your vacation dealing some cleaning issues in the bathroom. We will be sure to have housekeeping address this concern. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#7 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,153 reviews
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#15 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,326 reviews
Polo Towers Suites
#32 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#9 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,628 reviews
Desert Rose Resort
#51 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,770 reviews
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations at the Flamingo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Desert

Property: Wyndham Grand Desert
Address: 265 E. Harmon Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89169-6431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#37 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#44 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#48 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 787
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Wyndham Grand Desert offers spectacular one- and two-bedroom suites with fully-equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, dining rooms, large bedrooms with plenty of closet and storage space, living rooms with pull-out sofas; some suites offer a spa tub in the master bedroom. The perfect vacation home - away from home - for a weekend trip or an extended stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Vacatia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Vegas.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Hotel Las Vegas
Grand Desert Las Vegas
Wyndham Las Vegas
Grand Desert Resort Las Vegas
Fairfield Resort Las Vegas
Las Vegas Wyndham
Fairfield Las Vegas Grand Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing