We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful room, pushy sales staff.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Grand Desert

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Desert
Ranked #30 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful room, pushy sales staff.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom room in tower 3. Beautiful, clean room, the pool is open 24/7 and the shuttle service is a great addition. Planet Hollywood is a 10 to 15 minute walk, not a 5 min walk like a previous poster stated. If going at night, take the shuttle or taxi as the area isn't that safe. The shuttle service is good but the female driver does not care who gets on or not as evidenced by what happened at 10pm on Saturday night. Several jerks pushed old people out of the way to rush on the shuttle (yep, you fat guy in the Broncos cap). The elderly people had been waiting patiently for 20 minutes and the jerks had been there 2 minutes. The shuttle driver could have mitigated the circumstances by 1. Allowing the old and disabled on first and 2. Checking our shuttle passes.
Continuing on with the bad, the sales people are horrible at this place. You check in at the desk of a chaotic lobby where sales people and customers with the blank 'I only came here for free show tickets and now I paid $50,000 for one week use of a condo and I have lost 6 hours of my day' look on their faces are milling around. After you check in, you check in again to get your 'packet and parking pass' AKA gorilla sales push number 1. The lady seemed nice enough but then started pushing and pushing. We said no, not interested and didn't have time. She pushed stating 'You have one week, you go, you go' in her Greek accent. We said no again and she said 'but you have points, you have to go fir the owner update. Did you know that Wyndham OWNS RCI now?' (Big lie by the way). Finally we relented as like another poster said, they hold your parking permit hostage until you say uncle. We ended up not going but forfeiting the $20 deposit and unplugging our room phone on the morning we were supposed to attend. We looked at it as a cheap parking fee and a savings of 6 hours. It is a lie about the owner update. They will try to make you buy their Wyndham points. We spoke with several people who complained about the lie and hard sell of the points. Two coupled at one of the show also wrote discussing being strong armed and getting crap show tickets when all was said and done. If you don't have a vehicle, then bypass the second check in and go right to your room.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank pidaua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,031
    714
    181
    71
    48
See reviews for
703
565
38
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

The Good: Exterior and public areas very nice, great shuttle service to Harrahs, quiet, clean, roomy, full kitchen, no resort fee, no casino. No pressure at all to sign up for timeshare presentation.
The Bad: Elevators required room key to access. Many times my key would not work and had to get reset by front desk. The unit decor was ugly, cheap, brown, and 70's looking. The air conditioning never cooled the room to a comfortable temperature no matter what it was set on.
The Ugly: This is a non-smoking resort (one reason I chose it), but my unit has a decades old smell of stale smoke. It is horrible. I thought I could tough it out but I will have to ask for a room change tomorrow. Guess I'll wait until then to comment on customer service!

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Isabella-McKania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed in a 1 bedroom and it was fantastic! We requested a strip view and got it although it was right next to the elevators so we heard people although it didn't bother us. Room was clean (carpets had just been cleaned) and had a very comfortable bed along with a huge Jacuzzi tub and a separate shower/bathroom. Shower had very hot water! Staff were helpful with everything and even recommended the show Absinthe -absolutely fantastic! It was a 5 minute walk from Planet Hollywood and the shuttle took you direct to Harrahs. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JenJen85254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback including location and transportation information for future guests. It sounds like you had a wonderful vacation! We’re so glad you enjoyed the unit accommodations along with the Absinthe show. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

I always enjoyed staying at the Grand Desert. My room has always been clean, comfortable and gives me the amenities of an apartment, but close enough to the Strip, that I never miss any of the action.

If you're looking for a full service restaurant and some other hotel type amenities, this may not be the place for you. However, it you want value, great staff and customer service, based on room location a great view of the Strip, 2 nice pools-one designed for families and some relief of the noise and traffic on the Strip, this may be just what you're looking for.

And did I mention the shuttle that's does roundtrips to Harrah's. Again, I highly recommend Grand Desert and I don't think you'll be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms in Towers 2 & 3 have Strip views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PBruce74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are so happy to hear you have enjoyed each stay with us while on vacation. It sounds like you have been able to fully enjoy the accommodations and amenities we offer onsite. We appreciate your recommendation for future guests. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed in a 1-bedroom in Tower 3, overlooking the Strip. It was nice and quiet. The room had very nice features, decor and furnishings. The bathroom was big and there were two bathroom sinks, one in the bedroom area that my husband used. The shower head had a lot of power, surprisingly, considering everyplace has low-flow. There was a Jacuzzi tub that was also enjoyable. I really didn't have a single complaint about the room except for some sort of red gummy stuff that was on the back of the bathroom door from some prior guest. Since everything in the room looked so good, that stuff was very noticeable. The maid should definitely clean it. All of the staff, every single person, was very friendly. Everyone treated us very well and made us feel special.

Room Tip: If you want more quiet, ask for Tower 3. I called the day before to request this, along with an upp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naj12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We’re glad you enjoyed the unit décor and accommodations. We are sorry you had to spend even a minute of your vacation dealing some cleaning issues in the bathroom. We will be sure to have housekeeping address this concern. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed from Feb 2 till Feb 13 what a wonderful stay everyone was so friendly and welcoming right from the beginning to the end our suite was older but suited us just fine it was like home away from home it had everything we needed. Daily trips to the grocery store came in handy full kitchens in these suites are great prolly saved us about 500 eating out and only spent about 100 at the store. It is a timeshare but we are owners so we only had to sit through about an hour of a meeting at the beginning then we could enjoy the rest of our wonderful vacation. The strip is about a mile walk but you can cut into the miracle mile shops through the back entrance its only about half a mile. Great neighbourhood walked home every night felt very safe. Security is well staffed here as well and keycards are required to use the elevators which is awesome. There is a a shuttle to the strip evey 20 mins or so but we never had to wait long all the drivers are nice cheerful and friendly a big shout out to Dale he was very entertaining lol :-) the shuttle runs from 8:45 am till 10 pm then they have a different shuttle that runs till 12. Very nice pool and hot tub area good gym. Would def stay here again next time you won't get all these amenities on the strip. Truly worth it. Just one last thing the only kitchen tool it was missing was oven mitts!!! Lol. Washer and dryer units were a bonusnas well. Thank you greand desert for a perfect stay :-)

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Hi Holly,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff. It sounds like you were able to fully enjoy the wonderful kitchen accommodations and resort amenities we provide to our guests. Thank you for your appreciation of our security features onsite. It is important that our guests feel safe and relaxed when staying at our properties. Again, thanks for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

I can't think of anything negative to say about this accommodation. I was here for a week by myself and had a one bedroom, full kitchen suite. It was just like staying in your own apartment. I chose this place for the amenities and location. Great amenities and the location is great. I didn't want to be right on the strip and this was perfect. A 15 minute walk and you are at the entrance to the Miracle Mile shops. I did not have one timeshare person bother me at any time. They have shuttles that will take you to Harrahs if you don't want to walk. Check-in - check-out was a breeze. I will definitely stay here again when I come next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hi Craig,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We’re glad to hear that your unit was fully accommodating during stay. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#8 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#16 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Desert Rose Resort
#51 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations at the Flamingo
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#11 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,537 reviews
Polo Towers Suites
#31 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Desert

Property: Wyndham Grand Desert
Address: 265 E. Harmon Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89169-6431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#37 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#44 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#48 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 787
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Wyndham Grand Desert offers spectacular one- and two-bedroom suites with fully-equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, dining rooms, large bedrooms with plenty of closet and storage space, living rooms with pull-out sofas; some suites offer a spa tub in the master bedroom. The perfect vacation home - away from home - for a weekend trip or an extended stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Vegas.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Hotel Las Vegas
Grand Desert Las Vegas
Wyndham Las Vegas
Grand Desert Resort Las Vegas
Fairfield Resort Las Vegas
Las Vegas Wyndham
Fairfield Las Vegas Grand Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing