We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent condo, terrible experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Desert
Ranked #31 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I know it is Vegas, and not really suitable for children, so we decided to stay at the Wyndham because they make a point of family friendly. The pool was decent, but always in the shade because of its location in the middle of the tall towers. The activities center was ok; ping pong, pool, and games. And that is it! The staff, unlike the other resorts we have stayed at, could care less about the activities. Maybe just the off season, but the only friendly staff was the timeshare reps (and one really nice front desk staff.) And once you said no to the timeshare rep, you can forget them being nice too.

The units are nice, very spacious, with modern appliances. We had constant problems with dishwasher, electrical outlets, and garbage disposal. They attended to the issues promptly, only to find that they still didn't work. We made at least one call a day (and 4 on one day) to try to get things to work. Our final morning we used all the towels in the bathroom to mop up the spill of water from the dishwasher (after it had been fixed twice.)
We used the shuttle to get to Harrahs and to the Rio for gambling. Stopped using it when the driver was texting and driving.

Vegas is not kid friendly, and this resort fits in well with Vegas. Good place to use as a central location for gambling, traveling, and eating. I wish the unit hadn't been so troublesome, but I also wish they people had resolved the issues. My final note: We have attended some timeshare presentations, and we chose to attend this one as Wyndham now owns RCI. The presentation was by far the worst I have ever seen, so over the top, I actually laughed out loud (when I wasn't supposed to.) Our rep continually put down weeks ownership, reminding us that we would never be able to get into a place like this one (we traded for two units with no problem.) Not good when Wyndham is putting down RCI.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rovingambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you had to spend even a minute of your time addressing maintenance issues in your unit during vacation. We also apologize for the issues you encountered with our staff. We know while on vacation it is important to be treated well and it is a time for relaxation. We are glad you hear you enjoyed your trip overall. Your feedback is important to us and helps us improve in many areas. Again, thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,330 - 1,336 of 2,245 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

We exchanged through RCI to come here. We were put in the 2 bedroom lockout which I totally preferred after I saw my brothers "normal" 2 bedroom condo. Living and dining room was way more open and spacious and it's nice to be able to shut out the other section, whether it's kids or another couple staying with you. Furnishings were very nice and modern, the bed wasn't super comfy but I really cannot complain about anything with the condo itself. Washer and dryer are a bonus when traveling with kids.

The first day there we picked up groceries and soon found out our fridge was not working properly. Blane, the maintenance man that came up quickly, decided that it wasn't worth the time to sit and try to diagnose the problem so he changed it out with a new fridge in literally 10 minutes. That's customer service! The only other issue was that the air conditioning seemed to time out unless you checked it and set it to manual instead of auto several times a day. Once we figured that out we were fine.

The separate pool areas are very nice. We traveled with children so we didn't get to enjoy the adult pool but it never seemed to be too crowded. The kids pool on the other hand was very busy at different times of the day. The weather was 100 degrees and above so you couldn't stay out all day. They need umbrellas around the lounge chairs as the tables with umbrellas fill up quickly since it's the only shade. First thing in the morning there is shade and after 3 in the afternoon it's shaded so they probably figure it's covered enough.

We didn't eat at the cafe but it seemed pretty busy. The lounge/slot machine area was a nice touch especially if you are traveling with children and can't leave the resort for long periods. The shuttle to Harrah's was awesome! Didn't have to walk in the hot weather and get all sweaty and we didn't have to pay cab fare, so that was a win win. We weren't bothered by the timeshare salesman because after checking in when they sent me to the "special desk" I shot him down 3 times and just told him I wanted my parking pass. My brother on the other hand acted slightly interested and was called daily to attend a presentation.

Overall the location, the resort, and the condo were top notch. I would exchange to come here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UtahFamilytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

If you travel with family and looking for to stay in a place bigger than a hotel room/suite in Vegas, consider this alternative.
(+)
Largest pool in a condo I have seen anywhere, but fully loaded with people. We hardly got to use it because of the excessive crowd.
Weekday prices were reasonable, but weekends were expensive.
Concierge, check-in, Bell hops (except one guy who was a bit rude) were all super nice.
(-)
Maybe it is due to the summer time but the place was packed. Rooms were full, pool was packed with people, parking is hard to find.
Watch out for the aggressive sales pitch to buy vacation condo timeshare. I declined it, but it is very tempting.
Our A/C in the unit broke in the middle of the night. It took 3 tries for them to figure out it can’t be fixed. We had to rot in extreme heat before they moved us after 2 days.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful rooms. My friends have a time share. Pool looked great. Privacy. Beautiful lobbies.

We had a birthday party. Spacious living room, full kitchen with dining area and two rooms with two beds. Master had a big bath tub and twin sinks. Two restrooms.

Only downfall is the parking.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HedyvonRibbonTroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had a 2-bedroom 'lock out' suite which basically means two rooms, two bathrooms, two washers/dryers, two fully equiped kitchens, two dining areas, two living rooms. We were a party of 6 (my parents in their 60s in one room and my husband and our two kids under age 5 in the other room) and we felt we had plenty of room and privacy. Each living room had a pull out bed as well, if needed. Each 'living area' also had a TV, so we had 4 TVs to choose from when we were in the room. The rooms were clean, very spacious, and quiet. They even provided all the toiletries as well and dish detergent and laundry detergent and plenty of linens (they have room cleaning service for an extra charge as they don't come in to clean while you're there otherwise). We didn't hear any neighbors or hallway traffic the entire time we were there.

We only spent time in the family friendly pool, but we really enjoyed it. They even provide floating devices for the kids if they need them. The adult pool has a nice tiki bar with great drinks on a daily basis (or so they say) - that said, one of the days it was completely closed. The pools were clean and had the perfect temperature.

They provide a free shuttle to Harrah's every 20-30 mins which was very nice, but the last shuttle back to the hotel is 10PM. They do provide trips to the grocery store (for $4) and other locations (like Freemont St for $15) for extra charges. The Strip really is close enough to walk, but not in 100 degree weather, so the shuttle is really nice.

We were the guest of a timeshare owner, but decided to do the 'timeshare presentation' just because we were curious, but we wish we hadn't. Unless you are truly interested in becoming a Wyndham timeshare owner, don't go. It really isn't worth the 'free meal'.

All in all, it was the perfect family resort spot. It wasn't crowded, loud, or smoky like a lot of the casino hotels and it really was perfect for our family. We enjoyed it and would absolutely stay at a Wyndman resort again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melssel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Four of us spent a week in a clean 2BR, 2 bath unit. It had a living room, dining area & kitchen was quiet and did not smell smoky. Grand Desert is located east of the strip but has free shuttle service to Harrah's. Since it is a time share condo, it does not have daily maid service but linens are plentiful. If your needs exceed the supply, you have a washing machine and dryer in the unit. For a slight charge, you can book transportation to the grocery store.... we did and were able to purchase everything we needed for the week. This was great because we could do breakfast in the room, fix sandwiches, or just have drinks and snack before going out. Not only did we save money by sometimes eating in, but enjoyed being able relax in the morning. We had a great stay and would love to go back again.

Room Tip: Check in is located in building 3. There is a view of the strip and mountains on the street side, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LCS463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I recently spent a week at the Wydham Grand Desert. The property is exactly what I expect from Wyndham Vacation Club resort. It was beautiful. The lobby, the rooms, the pool area were all fantastic! This is a large (Three Towers) timeshare/vacation rental facility. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. This resort was definitely an oasis in the middle of the 24-hour hustle and bustle of Las Vegas. The complimentary shuttle from the resort to the Strip was so convenient, running all day and evening, there was never a problem. It was an aha moment when we returned to the beauty and elegance of the resort and the grounds. My stay surpassed my expectations.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer great views of the lights of the Vegas Strip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdhillwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 264 in Las Vegas
3,503 reviews
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations on the Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations at the Flamingo
Signature at MGM Grand
#12 of 264 in Las Vegas
12,934 reviews
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#20 of 264 in Las Vegas
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Desert

Address: 265 E. Harmon Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89169-6431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#29 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#44 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#48 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $110 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 787
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Wyndham Grand Desert offers spectacular one- and two-bedroom suites with fully-equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, dining rooms, large bedrooms with plenty of closet and storage space, living rooms with pull-out sofas; some suites offer a spa tub in the master bedroom. The perfect vacation home - away from home - for a weekend trip or an extended stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Vegas.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Hotel Las Vegas
Grand Desert Las Vegas
Wyndham Las Vegas
Grand Desert Resort Las Vegas
Fairfield Resort Las Vegas
Las Vegas Wyndham
Fairfield Las Vegas Grand Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing