We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Grand Desert

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Desert
Ranked #29 of 267 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Swindon UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Had a great week here with friends. Facilities were brilliant. Unit had a washer dryer and kitchen facilities. We were just half a block from the strip. Had a great tour from here to the grand canyon. Very central. Well worth it.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank jackieswindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    922
    649
    159
    62
    45
See reviews for
624
495
31
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Ten of my friends (mid twenties) and I stayed at the Grand Desert from Dec 28th through January 1st. We were in tower 3. Seven of us in a two bedroom, four of us in a one bedroom. Wyndham was very nice to put our rooms only a few doors down from each other. The rooms were very nice and a number of people in my party used the kitchen a few times. Everything we needed was there. The walls must be really thick or something because not only did I never hear anyone in the room next to ours, but I never even heard people in our room get back in the wee hours of the morning. We used the pool and the hottub a number of times. Very beautiful area. The fitness center was adequate for our needs.

The staff was wonderful. We arrived super late Friday night (you know how traveling in the winter is...) and the woman who checked us in was great. She even gave us a bottle of wine and box of chocolates... .just because. THAT was very much needed.

We used the shuttle a number of times and only had one time where we waited a little longer than we would have liked. The first shuttle was full so we had to wait for another. The hotel was booked though, with many wanting to get to the strip so its something we understood.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat, for the right trip. Its a fantastic facility and if I needed a condo while in Vegas (lots of friends/family/kids) then this is where I would stay. It is within walking distance and everything about this place is great. However, if I were to go back with a few friends/boyfriend/etc, I would stay on the strip. One, I don't cook, so I don't need the kitchen. The experience of trying the restaurants is fun. Two, the convenience of walking right onto the strip would be nice.

So, again, if you want the amenities of a condo, STAY HERE. But it is a half mile walk to the strip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kger215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
218 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I've visited this property 3 times now, and each time is quite different from the last. This time I could not give it 5 stars because they cancelled the MUCH needed strip shuttle at 3:00 2 out of the 3 days on my trip (without prior notice of course). You can walk to the strip-but it's about a 20 minute walk-1 mile for sure. Not too bad, but considering you will spend the entire day and night walking around Vegas it's simply too much to walk back and forth to the property if you wanted to drop off the kids for a swim, drop off the packages you bought, or to go back to eat lunch or dinner before hitting the strip again. Cabs are crazy expensive because they charge when they are not moving---and believe me the traffic is thick and you will spend a lot of time sitting and paying.

Room Tip: Face the pools for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our room was lovely, very clean, very convenient to have a full kitchen and washer and dryer.We also had a lovely jaccuzi tub ,sadly we were too wbusy to ever try it out! I did not like the checkin process where imediately upon finding out we were guests and not an owner, they insisted we fill out a form stating our income and information. We were also asked if we were married. Not into this sort of thing!
Other than that, the stay was very nice. The hot tub was nice, the gym well equipped and i enjoyed the tanning beds and the fact that they were reasonably prices ( four times for $30).
The staff was wonderful! The bellhops, the drivers, all very nice and very helpful! We liked having the van take us grocery shopping and to Fremont street. It would have been nice if the van would have trips to to drop off at other side of the strip ( by The Luxor). There is a free shuttle to Harrahs, which was nice. but the other end, at night , involved a long walk or taxi.
The buildings are very clean, spacious , nice. It would have been nicer to have more items available in the store as it is a fair walk to most ammenties. Otherwise, it is a very nice place to stay and the staff wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VancouverTakemeaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I felt like a valued guest from the moment I arrived to the moment I left. The check in staff were very welcoming and the accomodation was spottlessly clean, modern, spacious and best of all, the wi-fi was free and fast. There was some building work going on (I had been advised of this when I booked) which meant that there were less parking spaces available, but I was always able to get a space reasonably close to the building I was staying in so this was not an issue. I was also very impressed with the care that the contractors took to make sure that their work did not inconvenience the guests. Check out was just as efficient as check in and I will definately stay here again next time I'm in Vegas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbkiely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I have a timeshire so I stay at Wyndham properties all the time but I have never been to every floor to have all the vending machines be empty. When I complained about the problem I was greeted with complimentry water but I think that should be something the staff should keep stocked and have that attended to. As far as the cleanness it was really clean strange old lady smell but clean. I couldnt ask for better staff they were great. This is off the strip but does have shuttle to Harrahs on the strip. the shuttle doesnt run after 9pm so you would have to get a cab after that. While we were there we noticed it looked like they were starting to redo and give this place a facelift.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank herrington5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was our 4th visit to Vegas and the Grand Desert over the last 15 years. This place has really grown and just gotten more spectacular. The lobby at christmas was beautful along with all the folks that work there who were also very helpful. The room facing the courtyard with all the pools was a picture of perfection. We even had a great time and breakfast at the update session. Thats remarkable in itself!!!!!!!!!! Will always stay here when in the Vegas area as it is convenient with shuttle and its just a stunning resort............

Room Tip: All of our rooms in building 1 & 2 are very nice. Never stayed in building 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dandburt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#15 of 267 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 stars 2,650 reviews
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations at the Flamingo
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#16 of 267 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 stars 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polo Towers Suites
#30 of 267 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 stars 1,946 reviews
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations on the Boulevard
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#11 of 267 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 stars 3,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Desert

Property: Wyndham Grand Desert
Address: 265 E. Harmon Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89169-6431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#37 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#44 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#48 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 787
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Wyndham Grand Desert offers spectacular one- and two-bedroom suites with fully-equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, dining rooms, large bedrooms with plenty of closet and storage space, living rooms with pull-out sofas; some suites offer a spa tub in the master bedroom. The perfect vacation home - away from home - for a weekend trip or an extended stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Vegas.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Wyndham Grand Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Hotel Las Vegas
Grand Desert Las Vegas
Wyndham Las Vegas
Grand Desert Resort Las Vegas
Fairfield Resort Las Vegas
Las Vegas Wyndham
Fairfield Las Vegas Grand Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing