We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful Timeshare Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Grand Desert

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Desert
Ranked #32 of 267 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
san diego CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Timeshare Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We needed a two bedroom unit for our family of four for Thanksgiving, and after checking several hotel/condo options, we found the Wyndham through a broker on Craigslist. For the same price as many mid-range average hotels, we stayed in a newly renovated two unit lock-off, tons of space, smoke-free/casino-free, parking free, and hassle-free. It was centrally located, easy to access, two blocks off the strip, and with a helpful staff. The grounds were clean, separate adult and kiddie pools, free shuttle to the strip. The management boasted of their tight security, which was fine, except the 'key-access only' exercise room and hallway doors were always open. No matter. We decided to add excitement by taking the 90 minute timeshare presentation, which turned out to be 120 minutes of course, but was not over-the-top pressure. We opted for $150 in casino chips which luckily turned into to cash using slots at Harrahs.
Next trip to Vegas I will book here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandiegans4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    989
    682
    169
    68
    47
See reviews for
664
534
35
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Initially we had a problem with the free shuttle from Paris to the resort. We were told that we coudn't bring suitcases onto the free shuttle and ended up having to take a taxi cab instead. We were not in a good mood when we got there but the staff quickly remedied the situation by paying for the cab and putting us in the "new" building (#3) on the 13th floor with an amazing view of the strip and not to mention a 24 hour pool and hot tub in that building. Although, the hot tub was not in service until the last day of our stay :( they did have 3 other hot tubs but they were located at the other buildings and it would of been a cold walk back to our buidling since it was only in the 30's at night. The rooms were clean, newly decorated and the beds & pillows were amazing! The only thing about our room is that the walls were paper thin and we could here the neighbors in the adjoining room loud and clear. We did take the Red Rock Canyon Tour through Wyndham Activities Center. Jen, our tour guide from Wyndham, was extremely knowledgable and made our trip very enjoyable. I would definitely recommend this if you haven't seen the Red Rock Canyon yet. We are owner's at another Vacation Resort and visited here as friends of a Wyndham Owner and were for the most part very pleased with our stay.

Room Tip: Get a room on a top level for a great view of the strip. Bldg. 3 has a 24 hr pool & hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holsv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yarmouth, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

My best friend and I had a 3 bedroom suite for a weekend birthday getaway (Happy 25th, gorgeous girl!). More friends were supposed to join us, but sadly it ended up being just the two of us and to be honest it was the perfect amount of space. The suite was amazing; clean, bright and stocked with everything you need, although it took us a while to find the hair dryers. Hint: they are under the sink! But anyway, everything was great. The water was hot and it was quiet; we have no complaints. I must admit though, my favorite part of the whole property was the starbucks cart right in the lobby.

The staff was incredibly helpful. Everyone was so friendly! Specifically Dakota. He was by far the most helpful person there. My friend and I missed the shuttle by just a few minutes and Dakota went above and beyond to stop it before it left the property so we wouldn't have to wait another 30 minutes for the next one. Dakota: if you ever see this, thank you so much! You are the best! My friend and I hope to see you on our next visit :) We will definitely be back someday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

The 0nly reason I didn't give it the best rating was the shower pressure. It was very low in both units. Also I thought we had no coffee filters for coffee the first morning. When I called down they were quick to bring more. Surprise!! They're in the coffee caraffe.

10 of us got there to celebrate my daughters 21st birthday. 7, 21 year olds. Originally had 10 of us in a 2 bedroom because no 3 was available. What was I thinking. Finally 2 days before I rethought this & booked an additional 1 bedroom. It was great. The 7 girls were down the hall. Since these were all broke college girls, I did alot of cooking. The 2 bedroom had full size appliances, but even cooking in the 1 bedroom with the smaller appliances was fine. I picked up groceries before we got to the hotel. When we got there, the 1 bedroom was ready so the bell staff was very helpful taking everyones luggage & groceries to the room. The staff is Very helpful.

The shuttle to Harrahs is great. Every 20 min. It's about 4 blocks to the right to the Hard Rock Hotel. Also there is a CVS across from there that I visited often for additional groceries. Also if you turn left out of the hotel & walk about 4 blocks you get to the convention entrance to MGM. Walk thru the covention center & hotel & you're on the strip.

I would definately come back here. For anyone with a family, this is the place to be.
Also, when we left they called for the Wyndham limo to take us to the airport. It is complimentary. They do recommend you tip the driver what it would cost by taxi. $20 was what they recommended. Very nice ride.

Room Tip: Tower 2 has the lobby. We stayed in tower 3. It was fine. Shuttle stops at all 3 towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loverofsunTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is my second time staying at this facility...I like it because it is not far from the strip and the staff is warm and friendly...the shuttle is available as stated...clean clean clean...a full kitchen with granite and washer and dryer In the room

Room Tip: Loved being on the 15th fl...very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathyrrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Exactly what we were looking for! ?

Maybe not. After checking in, we remembered that this is basically a VRBO with all the self service you can provide. The desk clerk will get you your keys and your wifi info.
The fun starts when you get directed towards the other desk for all your "freebies". Cash, free shows, discounts, and a free breakfast are offered if you just check off a box here that says you agree to sit through a time-share presentation.
To their credit, they gave up soon after I made it clear that we were not interested in the gifts nor the undoubtedly very interesting presentation.
The room was left completely dismantled by the cleaning staff. We had to spend the first hour putting dishes and utensils away, rebuilding the stovetop, putting cushions in their rightful place on the sofa, etc.
Once set up, it was quite nice.

A brisk walk in an easterly direction will get you to the Hard Rock Hotel and Casino, the grand UNLV campus and farther yet, The Whisky Attic (a must for Whisky lovers).

Go west and you end up on The Strip at the Harley Davidson restaurant (not recommended for the grub) or Planet Hollywood. Check out the Hitzville Revue at PH if you love that Holland/Dozier/Holland sound of Motown.

Walk North if Ellis Island is what you're seeking. We were strongly advised to avoid the food there especially when excellent restaurants are plentiful nearby (see Planet Hollywood, Hard Rock and many others).

Breakfast for two is available for about $15.00 within the complex. You can have stroll through the interior courtyard or go for a swim. It was a bit chilly when we were there so the yard was deserted.

Not sure if we'd stay here again. Not everyone there found it as quiet and peaceful as we did. But then again, maybe they got all the "free" stuff.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bullbarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

I rented the two bedroom two bath room through a private owner. The price was right, the accommodations where awesome. This was for three old girlfriends who had not seen one another in 5 yrs. We went to a nearby grocery and did not leave the property for three days. We even baked cookies in the full kitchen. We plan to do this every year in the same location. It was clean and comfortable and had everything you needed and the service was excellent!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tnfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#12 of 267 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,826 reviews
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#16 of 267 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Polo Towers Suites
#33 of 267 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#14 of 267 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,444 reviews
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations at the Flamingo
Desert Rose Resort
#52 of 267 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Desert

Property: Wyndham Grand Desert
Address: 265 E. Harmon Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89169-6431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#37 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#44 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#48 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 787
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Wyndham Grand Desert offers spectacular one- and two-bedroom suites with fully-equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, dining rooms, large bedrooms with plenty of closet and storage space, living rooms with pull-out sofas; some suites offer a spa tub in the master bedroom. The perfect vacation home - away from home - for a weekend trip or an extended stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Vegas.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Grand Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Hotel Las Vegas
Grand Desert Las Vegas
Wyndham Las Vegas
Grand Desert Resort Las Vegas
Fairfield Resort Las Vegas
Las Vegas Wyndham
Fairfield Las Vegas Grand Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing