We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Desert
Ranked #27 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had 2 connected 1 bedroom condos. They were fully equiped with everything we needed We had a view of the adult pool surrounded by palm trees. Loved the cushioned lounge chairs and giant pool towels at the pool.
Our beds were comfortable and our condo was spotless. DVD player and stero was nice to have as well.
We love having a kitchen and making breakfast in our condo. Having everything we needed made it so nice and easy!
Can't say enough good things about our stay. Not one negative.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SteamyRice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,481 - 1,487 of 2,217 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

Just got back from a 4 day stay at this resort. We rented a single deluxe and it was like a one-bedroom apartment. It was in Tower 3 on the 7th floor and in great shape! We were pleased with just about everything!
I had already heard about the timeshare push on this site, so we were prepared when we arrived. We went my mother in and were surprised to find that they didn't want to talk to her because she didn't bring my stepdad. I guess they only want couples. However, if you were to get a timeshare, I think this would be the place. Very well appointed and the staff is very good.
Some amenities I liked:
There is a Starbucks kiosk in the lobby of Tower #2. They will make every Starbucks drink there is.
The bed was very comfortable and the pillows were awesome!
They had extra pillows, sheets and a blanket in the closet for the couch bed.
Dishwasher. Whirlpool tub.
Ice maker in the fridge.
Grocery store shuttle. (We did not use it - but, how awesome is that?!)
15 minutes from the strip.

Things I was not thrilled about:
Large gap under the doors. All of them.
No exhaust vent in the bathroom. (But, the a/c fan seemed to do a fair job of airing the place out.)
The a/c worked great in the living room/dining area - but, not in the bedroom.
No airport shuttle. You have to take a cab.

Overall, a fantastic property that I would visit again.

Room Tip: Not too sure. The elevators are fast, so no worries there. We were happy with the 7th floor becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YOM1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I like this resort because it gives you as much or as little of Vegas as you want. A constant shuttle takes you quickly to Harrah's and right in the middle of the action. If you want to stay on the resort and chill out that's enjoyable as well. I would rate it 5 stars but the timeshare presentation went too long. It has all the amenities from 3 pools and hot tub and a fitness center. The staff was always friendly to me and my guest. It has all the action you want and all the quiet at the same time.

Room Tip: If you make your account update (sales presentation) early they should let you out when the next gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Al D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I have stayed at the Wyndham 4 times. And it gets better every Time staff are the best in the world we will be going back next year for another 2 weeks.
If you want a nice Top class room stay here.
The staff are so friendly and help Full and pleasant

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gobbyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I just came back after spending a week at the Wyndham Grand Desert with my girl friend and we had a great time there. You'll see different reviews for the resort depending on what you're looking to do in Vegas. If you're looking for a wild party scene, then this might not be what you're looking for, and you should say on the strip (Caesars, Bellagio, Planet Hollywood etc). But it was perfect for us as we just wanted to check out the different casinos, walk around the strip and relax by the pool.

We had a 1 BR in tower 2 on the 9th floor, it had an ok view of the strip, but obviously not as good as if you were actually on the strip. It's about a 10-12 min walk from the hotel to the strip, but after day 1, we decided to drive to the casinos since they all have free parking. The hotel is about 3 blocks off the strip but once you get to the strip, you're right in the middle of all the large Casinos, but it can get tiring if you plan on checking out all the casinos and walk back to the Wyndham. I do recommend a car to fully enjoy the area, it just gives you a lot more flexibility to come and go as you please. We also decided to drive to the Grand Canyon for the day (long drive, 4 hours and 280 miles to the South Rim each way), but it was definitely worth it.

Our suite was clean and had more than enough space for the 2 of us. It's so nice to have your own kitchen and a living room area instead of spending a whole week in a hotel room with a mini fridge for at least 2x the cost. There was a 40" flat screen TV in the living room and on our last day, they came and replaced the tube TV in the bedroom with a 32" flat screen as well, which was nice. The bed and the pillows were very comfortable, the staff was friendly and there was free WiFi throughout the resort, it worked fine with my laptop, but it was hit and miss on my iPhone. There was a gym on site, nothing fancy, but had some free weights, treadmill, etc that we both used a few times while we were there. There is an free business center on the 3rd floor of building 2 which allowed you to print out boarding passes or just check your email if you didn't bring your laptop.

Since we had a car, we found a Vons (supermarket for those from the East Cost) near by and did some grocery shopping so we can have breakfast and light snacks during the day there, they do offer a shuttle service but i think it cost $4 or $5 to take you to Vons. The front desk did try to pitch us to go to a time share "survey", but we respectfully declined and they left us alone except for 1 phone call during the week to ask us to attend, but we still didn't accept, and that was it.

The only thing we could have asked for was a balcony to be able to enjoy some fresh air. a few minor nuances, some reviews did mention a very strong carpet cleaner / deodorizer when you first walk in the room (like when you first walk into a soap store or Yankee candle store), we did notice that as well, but you get use to it after a few days. Based on the location of the buildings, the sun is pretty much gone after 3 PM so the pool temperature was a bit cool for my taste, but there were still a lot of people in the water.

Overall, we had a very nice time and would definitely return, it's a great couples retreat or for families with small kids, but not a great place for bachelor parties if you're looking for scantily clad women falling all over each other, but you're only a 3 min car ride away from the strip if that's what you're looking for.

Room Tip: Tower 2 on a higher floor, it's newer and in the middle of everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yeh642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights with family including infant. Booked online and got a great deal. Picked this place because it's away from the overwhelming insanity of the strip and also a lot cheaper. It's child friendly, 100% no-smoking rooms, no casino and two pools including a family pool. Don't stay here if you're in your 20's and looking to party! We found that most of the guests were either older or like us and had younger families. No sign of young party animals anywhere near this place.

The rooms were super large and had tons of space. We had a 1 bedroom room with king bed, and the room also included a livingroom and kitchen area with all the fixings including dishwasher, a hallway with large closet and laundry, and a large bathroom. The room we had was perhaps a tad dated, but all the amenities made up for it. We actually did laundry one night. Everything was super clean regardless of age. Looked like the hotel was going through a bit of a renovation process while we were there.

The on-site canteen was great for a snack and we were impressed with the quality of the food. They also have a Starbucks kiosk near the lobby. The staff was overly friendly.. everyone was equally polite and happy to greet us with a smile everytime we ran into an employee. We didn't get hassled for timeshare stuff at all.. probably because we didn't show up for the "follow up check-in and hotel introduction" the next morning so if you don't want to be hassled, just avoid showing up for this. The grounds were nice, and perfectly manicured and clean. The only small complaint is the pool area is located in the courtyard between the 3 large hotel buildings, making it feel a little boxed in. We were here in late September when the sun is a tad lower in the sky, so the pool areas only saw sun between late morning to mid-afternoon.

This hotel is only a 12min walk from the strip, about 2 blocks away and a fairly easy walk along the sidewalk. You end up at the intersection of Planet Hollywood Casino and the new City Center complex. We walked to the Bellagio to see the fountains twice, and it only took about 20-25 mins max. Not sure why some people are complaining about the distance.. I liked the location, far enough away so you don't get all the noise at night. Also nice to stay in a place that doesn't smell like an ashtray like some of the strip Casino hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank windowpane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This property was everything I expected from Wyndham. Beautifully landscaped and well maintained. Comfortable bed and spacious living area. Kitchen was well stocked-we just didnt have time to use it. My only complaints were too little water pressure and that people are allowed to smoke right outside the entrances. I got enough smoke in Vegas and did not like having to walk into and out the doors and be overcome by it. Move the smoking area to somewhere besides where we wait for the shuttles.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emandk8smom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 264 in Las Vegas
3,433 reviews
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations on the Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Signature at MGM Grand
#11 of 264 in Las Vegas
12,845 reviews
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#17 of 264 in Las Vegas
1,399 reviews
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations at the Flamingo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Desert

Address: 265 E. Harmon Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89169-6431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#37 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#44 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#48 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $57 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 787
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Wyndham Grand Desert offers spectacular one- and two-bedroom suites with fully-equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, dining rooms, large bedrooms with plenty of closet and storage space, living rooms with pull-out sofas; some suites offer a spa tub in the master bedroom. The perfect vacation home - away from home - for a weekend trip or an extended stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, Vegas.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wyndham Grand Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Hotel Las Vegas
Grand Desert Las Vegas
Wyndham Las Vegas
Grand Desert Resort Las Vegas
Fairfield Resort Las Vegas
Las Vegas Wyndham
Fairfield Las Vegas Grand Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing