We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay if not on strip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Desert
Ranked #30 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The Wyndham Grand Desert was a very good place for us, as we wanted to stay a bit off the strip but not too far. The resort is only 1/2 mile from the strip itself.

Upon check-in, we found our rooms promptly, and it was excellent. We needed to use the sofa bed in the living room area, and we wanted an extra blanket. We called the front desk, and they brought one within about 3 minutes. The rest of the unit was great - a full kitchen, and two bedrooms, one a master and the other with two double beds. The living room and each bedroom had a nice high def TV, and our unit overlooked the pool. It would have been nice if the nits had balconies, but even without them, the view was nice.

We didn't use any of the resort's activities, since there was enough to do in LV itself. However, we did use the pool a couple of times, and it was very good. Being June-July, the weather was extremely hot, though, and iit would have been nice if they had more shady spots around the pool so you didn't scorch so quickly, even after leaving the water.

One hint when staying here or anywhere in LV - don't use the strip to travel, use the parallel side roads instead, they're much less crowded.

The only maintenance issues we experienced were the gasket in the tub/shower falling out our last day, and the dishwasher soap dispenser being broken. We reported these upon checkout, so we don't know if they were responsive or not.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drotravelerNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,565 - 1,571 of 2,243 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed in a 3 bedded apartment , it was fully equipped with everything you need for a self catering experience, should you want to do that. A free shuttle bus ran regularly to and fromtthe strip, but you could walk it in about 10 mins. The pool was 24 hours which was great . The staff were friendly and always available to help or recommend things.
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lou Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Not a place for singles or party animals, but if your looking for a clean semi luxurious condo style resort in Vegas, this is your place. We were at other hotels on the strip almost everyday, but this was a nice quite refuge to come back to. There is also a free shuttle that drops you off at Harrah's. If you want to hoof it to the strip, City Center is about a 7-10 minute walk.
We had tons of square footage and everything was clean and new. The small kitchenette was nice to bring in leftovers and keep cocktail supplies cold.
Great beds.
Tip:
Come prepared with your own groceries or plan on leaving the property to dine. There is no room service and the convenience store only serves prepared foods.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AimeeRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

Highly recommend !
Everything was As presented, would definitely stay here again.
Facilities were very clean & we enjoyed our time at this resort.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank efishncatbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I stayed at the Grand Desert June 2012. We were in a 2 bedroom, we were supposed to have another couple staying with us but they had to cancel at the last minute. This resort seems to have it all. There are multiple pools to choose from including an adults only pool, nice workout facilities, and store on sight with a few grocery items that might be needed (expensive). The rooms also have full kitchens and washer dryer combo which is why we love Wyndham to begin with. Now for some possible negatives. The two bedroom is really only big enough for 4. The living room has one couch and one chair. However if you don't plan to be at the resort very much that wouldn't be a problem. However, if I didn't plan to spend time in the room a regular hotel room would be fine. So if you're like me a maximum of 4 people in the 2 bedroom. We have stayed at Wyndham's that could comfortably seat 6 in the living room. Also, the resort is about a 10 minute walk from the strip. In vegas during the summer that is quite a hike. Wyndham does offer a shuttle to the strip, however it takes you to Harrah's which is not centrally located on the strip. So, unless you are going to that part of the strip it's either walk or take a cab. The other problem is that the shuttle runs from 9am to 10pm and I wouldn't want to walk any place off the strip at night. We did use the shuttle once and it was convenient. We loved our stay but the late night gamblers might want to be on the strip. If you want a quiet place away from the craziness of the strip you will love this place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Compared to the other great hotels in Vegas, this is very ordinary. There's nothing much to do at the hotel unless you want to sit by the pool all day. But then you'll still need to go out to eat. It is off the strip. You can walk to the strip (several blocks) but it isn't the best neighborhood to walk in. They have a van but you're at the mercy of their schedule. Why not stay on the strip and be in the middle of everything where you can just walk to it? Also, typical of a Wyndham property, in my experience, there was something wrong with the tub and shower. It takes Wyndham almost your whole stay to fix problems like this. If you want a real upscale hotel in Vegas, stay at the Wynn.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arizona2AHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We are Wyndham owners and have stayed hers before. This time we were in the older less fancy tower for some reason. It was an overall good trip and decent stay until several months later we realized we had brought home bed bugs from there. We only recently got rid of the sob's . Do not let them put you in the older tower and check for pests. There was a strong smell of wintergreen near the head of the bed which I assume was to keep the creatures at bay but they hitched a ride back home w/ us. Thanks Wyndham!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank jmarie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 264 in Las Vegas
3,502 reviews
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations on the Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations at the Flamingo
Signature at MGM Grand
#12 of 264 in Las Vegas
12,931 reviews
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#20 of 264 in Las Vegas
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Desert

Address: 265 E. Harmon Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89169-6431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#29 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#44 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#48 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $111 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 787
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Wyndham Grand Desert offers spectacular one- and two-bedroom suites with fully-equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, dining rooms, large bedrooms with plenty of closet and storage space, living rooms with pull-out sofas; some suites offer a spa tub in the master bedroom. The perfect vacation home - away from home - for a weekend trip or an extended stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Vegas.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Hotel Las Vegas
Grand Desert Las Vegas
Wyndham Las Vegas
Grand Desert Resort Las Vegas
Fairfield Resort Las Vegas
Las Vegas Wyndham
Fairfield Las Vegas Grand Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing