We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great first stay in Las Vegas!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Desert
Ranked #28 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Through a friend who owns, my group was able to stay at the Wyndham Grand Desert in Las Vegas. It was awesome. The room (2 bedroom Presidential) was immaculate, the beds were comfortable, and we had no problems other than a non-working icemaker (They offered to send up ice from room service).

I wish that we had taken advantage of the pool areas more, but we were out and about on the strip most of the time.

The staff was friendly and helpful when we called and asked questions, and resolved the ice issue quickly. The free shuttle was great -- my only wish is that it ran a little longer. I would definitely stay here in the future. An excellent experience.

Room Tip: Even if you stay out late, take the shuttle from the resort to Harrah's. A cab ride back from th...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patiently56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,184)
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Grand Desert
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,585 - 1,591 of 2,185 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2012

The Wyndham Grand Desert Resort is a fairly nice hotel. Clean and well kept hotel. We came on Spring Break to Las Vegas through an El Cid Exchange with RCI. My parents had never come so it was an opportunity for them to see the sights and lights of Las Vegas. Yes, the hotel's proximity to the strip is close and the shuttle from the hotel is a awesome feature but let me tell you of the additional aspects that the hotel nor other sites tell you.
1. The hotel does not provide daily maid service. It will clean your room at a cost of $70 for surface cleaning or $100 for a more detail clean.
2. The shuttle which begin at 9:30 a.m. has a last shuttle at 10:00 p.m. and only leaves you at the Harrah's casino.
3. Want to go to the grocery store to stock the room fridge, it will cost you $4.00.
4. The staff is friendly as they are checking you in or greeting you on the property but call enough times to get clean towels, additional soap or toliet paper and their tone changes.

It is so unfortunate that as El Cid Vacation Club owners we were not given the same type of service that we are accustom to at an El Cid Resort. The Wyndham Grand Desert is a nice hotel and for the price had all the amenities we need however, after paying monthly maintance fees we expected not to have to ask for more toliet paper.

Room Tip: Tower III is the first stop for shuttle to pick up and drop off. Private enclosed pool at this Towe...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HuaracheRotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We are Wyndham owners, and only have stayed at 1 other property, which was an older one and was Good but not Great. However, THIS property is very very nice. I would love to say there was something to complain about, but after 7 nights.....the stay was darn near perfect. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was spotless, and had updated decor. The bed was comfortable. Parking was easy. The pools and hot tubs were very nice. The view from the room, OMG, it's actually almost BETTER than being on the strip. Being 2 blocks away, you can see the whooooole strip like a panoramic view out your window. You couldn't get this view if you were on the strip, you'd just see the building or two immediately next to you. The view from our room was as good as it gets. Everything was wonderful. I would go back.

Room Tip: Call ahead the week leading up to your checkin and request a high floor strip view room.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RockyP95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We bid and won an auction on skyauction, wonderful location, very upscale room. Had washer/dryer, dishwasher, stove, fridge, microwave. Great deal!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itsloulou2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Clean and quiet. Nice pool areas; sheltered from the wind by the buildings, but that also creates shade in early morning and late afternoon. That might be nice in the hot summer, but in March we would have enjoyed more sun. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Shuttle to Harrahs is nice, but it is an easy walk to Planet Hollywood area during the day.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rockvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

If you're looking for a place to stay in Vegas near the strip but family friendly (no casino inside) this is a good choice. It's a time share that is rented out on a daily, weekly basis. I was here for a family wedding and it was a comfortable home base for the weekend. Rooms are large and beds are comfy. Negatives include: dreadfully thin walls. (I could hear our neighbors taking the silverware from the drawer and every conversation as if they were in my room.) Also, the only dining option is a 'snack bar' that leaves one seeking alternatives off premises. Staff is nice and helpful. 2 pools, 1 for families and 1 for adults.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robbierob16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Lovely resort with excellent, professional and helpful staff. Shuttle to Harrah's on the strip a plus for those without a car. Stayed in Tower 2 (lobby, computer bank) 14th floor with a city view. Super clean room with 1 bedroom, living room with kitchenette and small dining table, very useful especially for breakfast. Grocery shopping shuttle available for those who want to stock up on necessities for the week. Enjoyed walking by the pools and landscaped courtyard during day and night, very pretty. Thought it might be hard to be off strip, but found the shuttle to be perfectly fine and only used a cab for early morning ride to a convention on strip. The property is beautiful and I heard many people comment that that have stayed multiple times here - I plan to be back too!

Room Tip: Had a city view, but I'm sure the courtyard would have been nice as well.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vermont95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,351 reviews
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#16 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,372 reviews
Polo Towers Suites
#32 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#8 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,715 reviews
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations at the Flamingo
Signature at MGM Grand
#11 of 263 in Las Vegas
12,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Desert

Address: 265 E. Harmon Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89169-6431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#37 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#44 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#48 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $117 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 787
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Wyndham Grand Desert offers spectacular one- and two-bedroom suites with fully-equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, dining rooms, large bedrooms with plenty of closet and storage space, living rooms with pull-out sofas; some suites offer a spa tub in the master bedroom. The perfect vacation home - away from home - for a weekend trip or an extended stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Vegas.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Grand Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Hotel Las Vegas
Grand Desert Las Vegas
Wyndham Las Vegas
Grand Desert Resort Las Vegas
Fairfield Resort Las Vegas
Las Vegas Wyndham
Fairfield Las Vegas Grand Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing