We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Desert
Ranked #29 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Terrebonne, Oregon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to stay”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We own at the Grand Desert and use our points to stay there. This past time we went down the Vegas I reserved the 3 bedroom Presidential. It was extremely spacious and comfortable. I was disappointed by the way Wyndham portrays this unit however. They make it seem like you will get a suite with a terrace, however I learned that is not available.
All in all, we like the location since it isn't far from the strip and you can walk through the MGM conference center into MGM to get right out on the strip if you don't want to walk the street. We're heading down again in March for our son's 21st birthday.

Room Tip: Wyndham has upgrades available so you may want to ask about that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginger1921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,074
    738
    184
    72
    52
See reviews for
727
592
39
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

This was our 4th trip to Las Vegas and our first with our youngest child and our grandson. We elected to stay off of the strip at the Wyndham Grand Desert. We were very happy with our condo and found it refreshing to get away from the noise and detractions you sometimes find on the strip. I'm glad we did this as it is apparrent that the ecomomy has effected Vegas. By far I saw more homeless people than before and the streets were less crowded but more covered with trash. Our teenage grandson was stunned by what he saw.
The Wyndham was clean and the staff were great. Our units were well equiped and comfortable. The pools and other amenities were great. No complaints!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in tower 3 and had the advantage of exiting the compound on a side street with less traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol0226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Co
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

This is an ok location (two very long blocks to the strip) with spacious rooms. Ideal for two couples since there is a "family/TV" room between the two bedrooms. Each had its own bathroom which made it nice. The rooms were furnished ok- probably a dated decor but the furniture was not bad.
We signed up for the time-share sales pitch but ended up not going. It was cold so did not use the pool but it looked great. Especially the one for those over 18.
But there was an over powering smell (aroma?) in the halls we could not identify. It was clearly put there-not something from guest cooking. After the second day we decided it was a cheap vanilla icing smell-like from a grocery store cake. Really annoying but it did not reach into the rooms. We actually heard someone on the elevator say they liked it. So, if you like strolling through a bakery before going to your room- this is your place.

Room Tip: 3 seems to be the newest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Dante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

I stayed in this wonderful resort last week and enjoyed my stay. The resort is nice, clean, and spacious. Why pay for small rooms in Vegas when you can get fully furnished one bedroom, two bedrooms units with full service amenities and kitchen. I fully recommend this resort as the staff is wonderful, polite and courteous too.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AKK2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Great lobby and pool area. Pools and hot tubs open 24 hours. Staff very friendly. Time share push is irritating. Vouchers for free play at Harrah's are easy to use. Felt taken with show tickets. We were told we would be expected to buy a drink for 9.95 during show but were not told we would be paying another 9.00 in taxes and entertainment fees per person. Walk to strip is doable, but at night it is kind of desolate. Hard Rock Casino is actually closer. Had no issues with Internet. Unit and furnishings were adequate, nothing wow about the unit. There are different floor plans. This would be a great place for families.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ellendura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

We just returned from a 3 night stay in a 2 bedroom deluxe suite through an exchange with RCI points. The unit was fabulous for 2 couples. We each had our own living space with connecting door. Both bedrooms had king sized beds. The larger unit had a full sized kitchen and jacuzzi tub. We were in Tower 3 which has its own pool and hot tub. No bar service but also didn't have any issues with taking our own beverages to the hot tub (in plastic containers though).
As others said, the shuttle takes you to Harrahs and you can pick up other shuttles from there, but rental cars are not that expensive and there was lots of parking at the casinos on the strip so we pretty much drove where ever we went. Don't be afraid to use the valet parking at the casinos. There is no charge, just whatever you want to tip the valet. Only downside was the wait for the car, but you would otherwise be walking to the parking garage or waiting for a taxi.
They do provide you with lotion, shampoo and conditioner which is not always a given in timeshare units. Also there are no robes in the rooms, another item that is not consistent with timeshare units. The units come equipped with a coffee sample for 1 pot of coffee, paper towels and small salt and peppers.
We never had any problems parking our car at the resort. Even late at night there were stil spots available.
We arrived quite early and the check in girls were able to give us our room which was greatly appreciated after our early morning flight from Calgary. We settled into our room and then hit the strip. The girls did some shopping at the Forum Shops while the boys spent the better part of the day at the Sports Book at Ceasar's. Found some pretty good sales at the Forum Shops which made it an affordable shopping experience. We returned to our rooms for a hot tub and to pick up our parking pass. (if you like betting on horse races the best sports book we found was off the strip at Sam's Town)
At no time did we get approached for a time share presentation which we really appreciated. We never had cause to use the Concierge services so cannot comment on that. The resort is very clean and there is almost always someone busy cleaning something.
If you have a chance you have to check out City Centre. The complex is very interesting and well worth a walk through and drink at the Chandelier Bar.
We have stayed at the Jockey Club before because of its location on the strip but our future trips to Las Vegas will be to the Grand Desert, it is a beautiful resort..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Free_Skier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

We have spent long weekends, short weekend and a full week at the Grand Desert since we became owners in 2001 and it is a go to property for us. But, in May 2010 the whole family (wife, kids, in-laws, my parents, my brother, his friend) spent 7 days in the desert. We love the Grand Desert. Lots of floor plans, plenty of pools and spas, onsite food and drinks along with well appointed rooms. It is a short drive, or longer walk, to the strip but far enough away to allow the whole family to enjoy the facility without being bombarded with neon and solicitations! The staff has always been one of the best crews we run across in our Wyndham travels. It is just a great place to stretch out and enjoy!!!

Room Tip: Everywhere we have stayed has been great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kmbyopie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,156 reviews
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#15 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,326 reviews
Polo Towers Suites
#31 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#8 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,628 reviews
Desert Rose Resort
#51 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,771 reviews
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations at the Flamingo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Desert

Property: Wyndham Grand Desert
Address: 265 E. Harmon Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89169-6431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#37 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#44 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#48 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 787
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Wyndham Grand Desert offers spectacular one- and two-bedroom suites with fully-equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, dining rooms, large bedrooms with plenty of closet and storage space, living rooms with pull-out sofas; some suites offer a spa tub in the master bedroom. The perfect vacation home - away from home - for a weekend trip or an extended stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Vacatia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Vegas.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Hotel Las Vegas
Grand Desert Las Vegas
Wyndham Las Vegas
Grand Desert Resort Las Vegas
Fairfield Resort Las Vegas
Las Vegas Wyndham
Fairfield Las Vegas Grand Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing