We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tacos el Gordo

Tacos el Gordo
Ranked #42 of 4,792 Restaurants in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: The Strip
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The real deal”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is a 'must try' in Vegas. Basic taco stand with all the "real" Mexican food. None of the typical American facsimile of Mexican food.

Be careful when you go – some times of the day are very very crowded with long lines. Go earlier or later to avoid the queues.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danny_jp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    497
    202
    45
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Lanier, GA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Food, Interesting Expierence”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Ended up at this location accidentally. We were over on that side of town and I punched Tacos el Gordo into my gps on my phone and it sent us here instead of the one on the strip that we were planning on going to. Area was just a little sketchy, no one in the place spoke English but they were all super nice and helped me with my order ;) We had 4 ea. carne asada tacos, 2 of the spicy pork tacos and one quesadilla. Food was all excellent, one of our best and cheapest meals in Las Vegas! I was wanted to try some of the more interesting offerings but was recovering from stomach flu before my trip and I just couldn't do it! Will try again next trip. Also saw them building another location North of the strip on 15.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanetMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Muy Delicioso!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is a great spot to eat if you want to take a walk at the end of the strip. Who doesn't super cheap and fresh Mexican food for lunch. This place was packed with Mexican people so you know it was the real deal.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mickbcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
101 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The Real Deal - Family of five is satisfied for $28!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Kudos to my husband for tracking this gem down on Yelp. It was walking distance from our hotel but off the strip. You know when Mexicans are eating at a Mexican joint, it's authentic. They have a super simple menu and it's meat and cheese only, no chicken, er, pollo.

It's not on the menu but a plain cheese quesadilla is available for $2. omg it was awesome. They also have aqua fresca in all different flavors.

I tried to go there a second time in our 24 hour stay but we ran out of time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladyerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Get in line for the Adobada Tacos!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Adobada tacos with pineapple slices! Yummy local food. A bit greasy, but delicious authentic Mexican street food in a not fancy simple restaurant. A great break from the fancy stuff down the road. Walk off the guilt on the strip afterwards.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CruiseDirectorAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacos el Gordo also viewed

 
Las Vegas, NV
 

Been to Tacos el Gordo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing