We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old School Vegas done right, very right.”
Review of The Barrymore

The Barrymore
Reserve with OpenTable
The Barrymore is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #280 of 4,868 Restaurants in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $300
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between Las Vegas Blvd and Paradise Road
Transit: Las Vegas Transit 24 hours.
Description: Contemporary American Cuisine
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old School Vegas done right, very right.”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Dinner at the Barrymore was a exceptional experience in every way. The decor is straight out of a rat pack movie, but it is done right. Not a cheap knockoff. It means to be cool and alluring without trying. It is just off the strip and they have a great patio area that is quieter than you might imagine.

It is small and intimate. You have the feeling you are the only table in the joint, as the staff is attentive, knowledgeable and well mannered.

The food is a fantastic. We had a Chateaubriand which was superb. Want to avoid the Disneyland atmosphere of the giant mega food courts of the casinos, check out the Barrrymore.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank GregSims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    110
    31
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stay Away”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Service was great that night. The food was definitely not.

Here's what we ordered:

Steak Tartare, Divers' scallops, Ox Tail Stew, Crispy pork belly.

Didn't use an egg on the tartare. No big deal really, I could live with that.

Divers' scallops. First plate came out, it was overcooked. When they have a texture of a rubber disc, they're overcooked. I asked them to send it back (yes it was that bad, I think in the past 10 years this was only the second time I've had to send stuff back); they brought out another plate and this time it was undercooked. Well I guess picking a poison I'll take the undercooked one; but scallops that size should not be that tricky at a restaurant of that calibre, or so I thought.

Ox tail stew: way too salty, way too chewy. It reminded me of dry processed jerky.

"Crispy" pork belly. The skin wasn't crispy, actually no part of that dish was crispy. The meat was too dry and tough. It was also overseasoned.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sweet_tooth_of_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wittenberg, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Reminiscent of "old Las Vegas"”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We decided to eat here after reading about it on tripadvisor. It was as good as everyone said. We started with the beet and goat cheese salad which was wonderful. Then we had the foie gras which was done perfectly. For our entree we had the bone-in rib eye steak along with lobster Mac-n-cheese. Oh so yummy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank dred1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious and Memorable Post-Wedding Dinner”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We booked the Barrymore based on the Trip Advisor rating and the fact that we hoped it wouldn't be a tourist trap to the same extent as some of the restaurants on the Strip for a meal after getting married at the Stratosphere's Chapel In The Clouds. After a brilliant ceremony there, we arrived at the Barrymore a little early and everyone from the hostess to our waiter to the lady who filled up the water glasses congratulated us and made us feel incredibly happy, adding to our special evening massively.

First of all; when we got to our table, the ambience was just great, our waiter was really pleasant and helpful with recommendations and forewarning about over-ordering (he helpfully cautioned that the lobster mac and cheese was enough for two in light of the fact that we were going to attempt the mammoth steak that they had on the menu for the day).

To warm up we had cocktails and beers following happy hour at the stratosphere which had been recommended by our photographer after the wedding (who knew!)

As I mentioned, we started with the lobster mac and cheese with truffle and mascarpone sauce... there was loads of it and our waiter was right; it was more than enough for two.

Next was the steak of the day which was upwards of 35 ounces and melt-in-your-mouth delicious. They got rare just right plus the selection of sauces, accompanying asparagus and creamed potatoes were fantastic!

Finally, we finished with warm chocolate cake with praline sauce and hazelnut brittle which was as amazing as it sounds.

Couple all of this with warm and pleasant service plus the very generous comp'd cava/ champagne from the manager and we left absolutely blissed out with food babies in our bellies.

Thanks to everyone there for making our wedding meal so memorable and special!

We'll be travelling back to Vegas to celebrate our first anniversary this year and can't wait for a second visit to The Barrymore!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NiamhenMullan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A real gem, go with the right attitude”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We were here on Valentine's Day and had a top-5 memorable night. This place IS a gem, hidden in an older, kitschy hotel, don't sweat it. Just go. Arrive early and enjoy drinks on the heated outdoor patio. Then get ready for a real, old-school treat. There was a live jazz singer the night we were there, the staff and manager were ever attentive without being over-bearing. Israel was an awesome waiter, and we were upgraded on our wine pairing at no additional cost. We ordered a prix fixe menu, a chateaubriand for two. Every bite was amazing. My husband kept commenting on how subtle, but sublime, everything tasted. I had to agree. Our rose dessert at the end was special, I've never had anything like it, and I travel a lot.

Don't miss this place. Prices are reasonable for a delicious meal, prepared and served by experts. VERY romantic, small, intimate, and old school Vegas environment. What a treat!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BoiseLisaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barrymore also viewed

 

Been to The Barrymore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing