We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a rose in the desert”
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Desert Rose Resort
Ranked #43 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 30, 2010

stayed here 3 nights in 2 bedroom suite. my partner and i were staying with our mum/dad and we figured we could save some money this way. we asked the front desk for a quieter area of the resort and she happily obliged. Room was really nice, it was no Bellagio but we were really happy it was modern, had two separate bathrooms. The large fridge was very welcomed. A previous review mentioned pigeons etc. yes there were some around but it seems the resort has put up wiring to try and keep them off the balconies - they weren't an issue. I am not a fan of housecleaning and put up 'do not disturb' signs so cant comment on that. The smallish pool wasn't too overcrowded or noisy, many 30+ people there and a couple of kids. Spa/whirlpool was small but hot and not many people in it. Continental breakfast was average. I was happy sticking to the toast and fruit loops each day, you wouldn't 'feast up' there. During the week (mon - thurs) they had complimentary beer/soda which was great to bring into the pool and relax.

sleep was fantastic, beds were very clean and fresh/well made and pillows were highend pillows. Some mornings at say ?7am? you could hear a noisy truck with reverse beepers but I guess we should have been up to maximise our days anyway. There was a slight smell outside around the Hooters/Desert Rose front street. You couldn't smell this at the pool or inside the resort, it was not a dealbreaker.

I would estimate a 10min walk to the strip, but considering the strips size it would be maybe 30min walk to where all the happening stuff is (Bellagio fountains). Alternatively you could just pop over to MGM next door which is the last stop for the monorail and pay $12 for a 24hr pass.

I would recommend this place to people wanting to escape the noise and save a bit of money esp. for larger groups such as ours (2 couples). Check-in was quick (1 person in queue). Given the amount of walking required this is not the place to stay if you want to do multiple trips to the strip in a day. It is great if you want to go out once and come back once in a day. I would definitely come back here again if was trying to save money with my friends, but if i wanted a glitzy, easy accessible, high end place for a romantic get away and was prepared to pay 50% more I would stay at Paris. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank true_blue_aussie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,879)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,167 - 2,173 of 3,879 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2010

This is a quiet resort just far enough off the Strip to be relaxing but close enough to walk to the casinos, monorail or bus lines. They take great care of their guests. We've been there twice and will likely stay there again on our next trip.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rycky1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We've recently returned from 9 nights at the Desert Rose resort and I can't praise the place highly enough - from check-in to check-out it was nothing short of superb. I can't believe that anyone could moan about the supposed "long walk to the strip" - it isn't. Hooters is about two minutes away and the longest part of the walk to MGM is waiting for the pedestrian lights to go green to cross the road!! It is a true oasis in the wonderful mania of Vegas and I wouldn't change a thing.
We're coming back to Vegas in January 2012 for two weeks and I've a good idea where we'll be staying........!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaffakelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

This resort is just a short walk (4 regular blocks) to the strip. It is easy to catch a bus to get to a Von's supermarket, or catch the bus on the strip. The pool is big enough and there is a nice area to have a BBQ and large grills to use. It is very easy to get around the complex (Only 3 floors high) and we love having a balcony and full kitchen. If you are driving there is more than enough room to park. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The continental breakfast has more than the usual offerings and the managers receptions are a nice added touch. This is our second visit to the Desert Rose and we will be going back again, and recommending it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sasksunseeker56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We stopped @ this resort,because it was our third visit & we wanted to stay in a different area & just off the strip.Everyone we spoke with agreed the hotel was very good,the rooms are very big with a full kitchen eating area & lounge,large bedded bedroom with on suite bathroom,plenty of room for your clothes with walk in wardrobe & drawers to many to use.Televisions in the lounge & in the bedroom & everyone has a balcony.They even give you breakfast every morning & from monday to thursday you are invited to have drinks with the manager from 5pm to 7pm.The staff can't do enough for you & they do it with a real smile.We give this hotel 9 out of 10,it drops a point because of the number of sun beds available,but again not everyone wants to be round the pool,Tony & Jackie Davies.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TONY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We loved this place! It was so comfortable and clean and had absolutely everything we needed. The internet connection was a little on the slow side, but I wasn't there to do work anyway so it was perfect for checking email, etc.

The continental breakfast was enough for us every day and the happy hour w/ wine & beer was a real bonus. The staff couldn't have been nicer at Desert Rose too.

We had a two bedroom suite for 4 adults and one two year-old and there was more than enough room for all of us. The kitchen was fully stocked. Although we didn't do any real cooking there, it was still nice to have it available if we wanted to. The kitchen was very useful for storing our snacks and drinks.

The pool was small, but perfect for our needs.

Whenever we go to Vegas, this is going to be our spot to stay. It's close enough to everything yet quiet enough because there is no casino and no smoking in the rooms which is perfect for families. I didn't even gamble one penny on this trip and didn't miss the casinos!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cflower101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

The Desert Rose exceeded our expectations. Check in was professional, courteous and well organised. Our room was lovely. As a neat freak I always check the order & cleanliness of a room & I was thoroughly impressed, but not surprised after meeting the housekeeping staff who were so prompt every morning. I was also very excited about the kitchen. Everything was new & all crockery/cutlery was attractive & in mint condition. We had a nice balcony with chairs and table that overlooked the gardens. The pool & spa were my kids favourite retreat. I didn't use the gym, but I took a peep & it was in excellent condition with very good equipment. The kitchen staff who were so warm & generous always put on a good spread for breakfast and afternoon drink and nibbles. Drinks consisted of wine, beer & soft drinks (as much as you want) and nibbles were tacos, chicken nuggets, vegetable sticks with dips etc. It was very impressive how much effort the staff put into pleasing the guests. We loved Gloria & Sean from the kitchen, their service was immaculate. We cant fault the desert rose, it was a nice haven away from the busy strip, but not too far when you wanted to visit. It took us 5 minutes to walk to the MGM and maybe another 10 minutes to walk through the MGM to get to the strip. It was ideal for us!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aaj6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#18 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,385 reviews
Polo Towers Suites
#32 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,485 reviews
The Strip
Wyndham Grand Desert
Wyndham Grand Desert
#28 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Travelodge Las Vegas Airport North/Near the Strip
Hampton Inn Tropicana
#30 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,211 reviews
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Address: 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119-1143
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#49 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#61 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $77 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Rose Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 blocks from the Las Vegas Strip, Desert Rose Resort provides you with great access to all the glitz and glam of Las Vegas along with all the gracious pleasures of a resort hotel. Settle into one and two-bedroom condo suites in Las Vegas with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable living and dining areas – all beautifully decorated with sleek, contemporary furnishings and a rich color palette. Desert Rose Resort’s pool is an oasis, a truly relaxing and refreshing hideaway – dramatically different from the crush of people at some Vegas hotels. Lucky you, Desert Rose Resort is a winning deal in Las Vegas - without stepping foot in a casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Vegas.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Rose Hotel Las Vegas
Desert Rose Las Vegas
Desert Rose Resort Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing