We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Still waiting for charges to be reversed on card.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Desert Rose Resort
Ranked #53 of 266 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Idaho Falls, ID
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Still waiting for charges to be reversed on card.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

Stayed for one night at the Desert Rose. The room was spacious, although the carpet was filthy. Beyond dirty to filthy. Beds were comfortable and clean. We booked a two bedroom, two bath suite. I did not realize one bathroom had a shower only; no tub. Wi-fi was spotty. Fairly short walk to strip, but very dark and unlit at night. We had prepaid for our room through a travel site and had no problem giving them a credit card on check in for "incidentals" (which we knew we would have none), but four days after checkout I'm still waiting for the deposit to be reversed on my card. The deposit was almost as much as our room charge (within a few dollars). Really? For a prepaid room for one night's reservation? Perhaps they could have mentioned the amount they would be holding up front. Did not realize they had a concierge..... all we ever saw was one woman working the front desk. As a side note, if you are looking for peace and quiet, keep looking. I think a lot of families with small children stay at this resort, and you can hear EVERYTHING through the walls and ceilings. At least, we certainly could. It even kept my teenage son awake!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenjones28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,957
    1,112
    282
    95
    81
See reviews for
1,272
1,232
139
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

Me and my husband stayed here for 5 nights and I was just floored when we walked into the room for the first time. I had booked this hotel based on other travelers reviews I had read but the room surpassed everything I had expected. Wonderful, CLEAN, two room suite with a full kitchen tastefully decorated, everything in working order. Patio area. granite countertops. Bed was comfy and our room was cleaned daily. Even the day we didn't leave our room until late I was phoned by housekeeping to see if there was anything we needed. Wonderful service. Two blocks behind the strip. Located behind Hooters and Tropicana. Wonderful location.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

The DR was a great place. The rooms were clean and spacious, the breakfast great, the staff very helpful. My only complaint was a crazy loud AC, which was a bit disturbing at night while sleeping...but still, I have a great time and it was close to everything.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKGenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

If you are looking for a quiet place to enjoy your time in fabulous Vegas look no further. We stayed in a roomy one bedroom with full kitchen (all cooking necessities included). Staff were curteous and friendly. Room was clean, although it could use a couple of paint touch ups. Free continental breakfast. Free weekday social in lobby from 5:00 to 6:00 (included wine, beer and snacks). Short walk to Luxor, Mandalay Bay, Tropicana, MGM and New York New York. Found great deal online at hotel website. Desert Rose is truly that, a rose in the desert.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank r27779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

I would have given the Desert Rose Resort a 5 star rating except for the fact that we had to be re-roomed because of the noisey compressors on the roof. Warning....the 3rd floor is noisy. Every time the AC cycled on, it sounded like a freight train was passing thru our room! Luckily, the staff at the DR is soooo accommodating, that they moved us right away.
Other than that, I have nothing but praise for the DR. Great rooms, great value, great location. Breakfast is wonderful, but CROWDED! I agree with other reviewers...rent a car, we did and were soooo glad we did. Also, if you plan to win, visit the downtown casinos. The odds there are much better. (Video poker)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bleweyz39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cricklade, England
Level Contributor
220 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

Brilliant place this - with a vast suite (not just a hotel room and bathroom - a large lounge /diner, next to the well equipped kitchen, large bedroom with wash basin off and bathroom), great pool (with free beds and towels at the pool side), breakfast and (from Mon - Fri) free beer and wine served for a couple of hours in the evening. This together with :-
- friendly, efficient, staff
- good location (very close to the MGM Grand)
- great rates
makes this a fantastic bargain - it could not be recommended more highly
Thank you Desert Rose.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanP00le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

Spent a long R&R weekend and was soooooo pleased with the room, staff, appointments in the room, pool. I recommend you rent a car to get around the Strip unless you are athletic and a glutton for punishment. The convenience of stocking your kitchen for easy eats was a great plus. Fridge makes Ice. Wi-FI in room free. It is a class act with a great bang for your buck.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seanpaix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Polo Towers Suites
#32 of 266 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 stars 1,898 reviews
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#17 of 266 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 stars 1,169 reviews
The Strip
Wyndham Grand Desert
Wyndham Grand Desert
#31 of 266 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 stars 1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#43 of 266 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 stars 2,919 reviews
Staybridge Suites Las Vegas
#4 of 266 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 stars 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Property: Desert Rose Resort
Address: 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#49 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#61 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Rose Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 blocks from the Las Vegas Strip, Desert Rose Resort provides you with great access to all the glitz and glam of Las Vegas along with all the gracious pleasures of a resort hotel. Settle into one and two-bedroom condo suites in Las Vegas with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable living and dining areas – all beautifully decorated with sleek, contemporary furnishings and a rich color palette. Desert Rose Resort’s pool is an oasis, a truly relaxing and refreshing hideaway – dramatically different from the crush of people at some Vegas hotels. Lucky you, Desert Rose Resort is a winning deal in Las Vegas - without stepping foot in a casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Rose Hotel Las Vegas
Desert Rose Las Vegas
Desert Rose Resort Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing