We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the money, but nothing glamorous”
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Desert Rose Resort
Ranked #51 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Evergreen, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
230 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good for the money, but nothing glamorous”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed here because we were going on the Grand Canyon Whitewater trip and it is where they pick up very early in the morning. Frankly, it is not my type of place to stay.

The family 2 bedroom suites are a very good set up. The rooms do need to be updated quite a bit, but they were clean and spacious. This is a great place to stay for a family that is on a budget and doesn't want anything fancy. The rate cannot be beat and it is close to the strip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Locococomama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are always glad to welcome the River Trip guests. I can tell you that we are excited to start the renovations in the lobby this year, as well as the complete rooms’ renovations starting in 2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,068
    1,202
    318
    107
    83
See reviews for
1,371
1,307
143
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

It's been just over a year since we've visited here. A few changes which degrade from the last visit. There used to be a reception late afternoon during the weekdays and breakfast in the morning. No longer. The "concierge" during the weekdays was great. The one on the weekends couldn't have cared less. We are supposed to have daily cleanings per our classification. Never got them and the front desk person was rude every time I called. There seems to be a new culture here now that Wyndham has taken over the facility. I did have a long discussion with the mgr on duty and I really felt he knew what was going on.

Rooms now have flat screen tv's. The location is still convenient. I heard that Wyndham is going to renovate this location, which will be very welcomed by those who use this facility. Too bad.may have to switch to another location now.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scootercus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your response, and more importantly thank you for mentioning our conversation. As we spoke of the upcoming renovations, I am confident we will be able to satisfy all travelers needs once these are complete. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in May. Our sons slept on the sofa bed and reported that it was very comfortable. Our queen bed was great. Our room was spotless and there was plenty of room for the 4 of us. We loved that it was away from the nightmare that is " the strip" and that there is no gaming at the hotel. Nice pool. The area around the hotel was pretty seedy at night. We regretted walking back late at night. The hotel itself is very secure. Would recommend, and would stay again if I had to go back to Vegas.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We are very glad you enjoyed our location. We are even more excited to see you again in the future! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Stayed here for 13 days, great location but shame about the changes. The rooms are run down counter tops dirty, missing equipment, oven that stuck out room, dish washer door not fitting correctly and safty catch hanging of the door.
No breakfast, no manager's reception and most of all no real housekeeping to speak of. The only highlight is every 5 days you may get your rubbish taken and clean towels that is it. If you want clean linen as they can start dirty you have to request it and do it yourself. After staying here for 7 times I can garentee that we will never go back again, had we have been informed of the changes we would not have gone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 92sasha2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for returning to the Desert Rose. I am sorry for the issues you encountered. I can tell you that we are excited to start the renovations in the lobby this year, as well as the complete rooms’ renovations starting in 2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed in a 2 bed apartment. We were 2 couples and this was the best place to stay in Vegas over the weekend.

Rooms are big. I did not like the carpet as much. Overall the hotel, location, staff is good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashwin_Kalra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for the review. We are glad you enjoyed the 2 bedroom unit that you were assigned. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. We are also very excited for the renovation of the lobby and all of the units.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Got an amazing deal for this hotel through Expedia because we had previously booked our flight via that website. This place went far beyond the price we paid.

Location:
-located a short walk to the Strip, but far enough away from the noise & traffic
-closest Strip resorts: Excalibur, New York New York, MGM Grand
-Wal-Mart is 10min drive away on Tropicana Ave if you need groceries
-"Coco" Bakery restaurant located within 5min walk, open 24/7, with healthy, affordable casual cuisine. I definitely enjoyed this place.
-ample free parking on-site

Lobby:
-quiet, undergoing some construction so no breakfast
-starbucks coffee available every day

Room:
-absolutely spotless and comfy, with powerful A/C
-we got a lower-level room facing an inner courtyard, so no sun, but also no noise!
-1-bedroom with sofabed in living room
-best part!! - full kitchen with very new & clean appliances: blender, dishwasher, oven, stove, fridge, microwave, and a full range of kitchenware including baking pans
-con: bathroom is located in the bedroom, so you must step through the bedroom to access the bathroom
-no daily room service, but just dial "0" for housekeeping for towel exchange, extra soap / cleaning supplies, coffee etc, which is very adequate - if you don't need housekeeping at home, why need it for a short stay in a hotel?
-pool towels provided in-room
-free wi-fi

Amenities:
-pool area is small, clean, quiet
-limited deck chairs - please arrive early, before 9am. They are likely to be gone by 11am, even on a weekday
-has jacuzzi, but no outdoor shower
-BBQ grill near pool area - we never used but we imagine that guests are allowed to use it, just ask
-very small fitness room beside pool

If I were to return to Las Vegas, I'd definitely consider staying here again!

Room Tip: For maximal quiet, request an inward / courtyard facing room, but don't expect a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VTeight7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
What a Great Review! Thank you! We are very pleased to hear that it was everything you expected and more. Our goal is to be responsive, respectful and deliver a great experience. We look forward to the next time you choose Desert Rose Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Because the Desert Rose is regarded as ‘off-strip’ (despite being just one block away from the MGM Grand, Excalibur etc) the hotel offers unbelievable value for money, and our suite cost less than £50 a day!

The space was large, clean, comfortable and equipped down to the finest detail - even things like washing up liquid for the kitchen sink, and tablets for the dishwasher are provided. The bed was extremely comfortable and the suite very quiet. The staff are all friendly and helpful, and the hotel concierge delightful.

There is a small (but excellent) outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, a perfect place to relax away from the busy strip, and all rooms are equipped with seperate towels for pool use.

One tiny gripe - our booking was supposed to include a buffet breakfast (like our stay last year), but this service has since been discontinued, and the breakfast boxes provided were very inadequate, comprising one fruit, a small cake, a biscuit and a bottle of water.

Breakfast aside, we would certainly recommend the Desert Rose, and will certainly be revisiting in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike_Kwasniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for staying with us again. It brings joy to us knowing you will return. The enhanced lobby features will add great memories to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Polo Towers Suites
#32 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,345 reviews
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#15 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,327 reviews
The Strip
Wyndham Grand Desert
Wyndham Grand Desert
#30 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,164 reviews
The Strip
Travelodge Las Vegas Airport North/Near the Strip
Hampton Inn Tropicana
#29 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Property: Desert Rose Resort
Address: 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119-1143
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#49 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#61 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Rose Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 blocks from the Las Vegas Strip, Desert Rose Resort provides you with great access to all the glitz and glam of Las Vegas along with all the gracious pleasures of a resort hotel. Settle into one and two-bedroom condo suites in Las Vegas with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable living and dining areas – all beautifully decorated with sleek, contemporary furnishings and a rich color palette. Desert Rose Resort’s pool is an oasis, a truly relaxing and refreshing hideaway – dramatically different from the crush of people at some Vegas hotels. Lucky you, Desert Rose Resort is a winning deal in Las Vegas - without stepping foot in a casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Vacatia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Vegas.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Rose Hotel Las Vegas
Desert Rose Las Vegas
Desert Rose Resort Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing