We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“like your own apartment”
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Desert Rose Resort
Ranked #51 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orange County ca
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“like your own apartment”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for Memorial weekend two days as we went to see the Cher concert at the MGM, but I didn't want to stay in a casino, as there are a few in walking distance like Hooters across the parking lot, MGM walking distance, Tropicana. Anyway comfy bed, full on kitchen, dining area, balcony which ours faced the pool, nice pool. This place though is going to be time shares as Wyndham is taking over from Shell vacation resort. No breakfast as some old info still says so, but they give you a ticket for a pathetic white bag with an orange, bottle water and granola bar, oh and a poor looking muffin, I told them when we checked out it was rather an insult to give you this, and not to bother with it, a laugh really, just have coffee which is Starbucks served in the foyer, but don't bother with the White bag, but I really liked the place, pity it's going to be Time Shares. We got there hours earlier but they let us check in. They don't have room service but if you need anything just call

Room Tip: Don't know if we were North/South/East or West but looking at the pool, sorry no pics of this bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kittytoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for providing your feedback. We are glad we were able to get you checked in early. Many travelers are pleased with the unit accomodations. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,053
    1,196
    316
    106
    83
See reviews for
1,364
1,303
143
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia,USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

It's a lovely retreat only one block from the strip. It' away from the hub bub of the strip but within a quick doable walk. It's quiet, rooms are a good size, and the pool is relaxing. The only cliche is they don't have a breakfast. But,there is a diner next door. ...I say enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meabington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for the nod of approval. We take pride in our resort and all its amenities. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt lake city
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 5/18 -5/22 with family..here is my feedback.
1. Check in was just ok..James slightly confused on how two families were paying. No big deal we payed cash.
2. Day one extremely crowded no chairs etc at pool. Rest of the week vacant. Nice!
3. Hotel is kept clean and maintenance was around hotel was a nuisance but not constant.
4. Room was as pictured and very clean.
5. Beds very comfortable/slept well everynight.
6. 7:40 am day 2 we called front desk and asked if house keeping could bring us a baking pan for breakfast..we were told house keeping does not open till 8 but would send request. After 8 no pan so I went to the front desk to ask for one and was told, there was no way to access one for us and we would just have to wait. We waited till after 9 am and just left. Returned at 5pm and it was on the counter. It was meant for breakfast!
7. Oven in our suite did not work..I just reported it.
8. Coffee available all day every day.
9. BBQ grill was super by the pool..pool was clean.
10. Kids (not handicapped) playing on handicap equipment for pool for hours even though security walks the grounds regularly.
11. My brother saw some guy using a swipe card on several room doors. Security quickly reacted. Comforting but scary.
12. Hotel is very close to strip. Walk is easy.
13. Room safes are there for your convenience.
14. Never pressured to do time share.
15. Staff knowledgeable about "all things Las vegas"
All in all it was a ok. Would I stay here again probably not.
They did their best and I appreciate it. Thank you Yesenia!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank marie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for your detailed comments. Our Starbucks coffee is always mentioned as a hit! We are excited for our lobby and units rennovations starting this year. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This was an absolute gem of a place to stay. Far enough away from the strip for it to be quiet but close enough to walk to, Rooms were a great size, clean and very well equipped. There was no breakfast facilities on site but you were given coupons for the nearby Coco's. Could not fault this place at all

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank omegacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for the great review, many visitors comment on the convenience of the proximity to the strip. We are glad you enjoyed your room and its equipment. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilderland, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I stayed here as part of a package with the Arizona River Runner's Colorado River rapids rafting tour.

The room was spotless and included a well-appointed kitchen with coffee pot, blender, paper towels, dishes, etc.

It's just a short walk to Hooters and the MGM Grand and is convenient to the monorail.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobLucky3565703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
We are so very glad you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to seeing you on future River Trips. Enjoy your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 16 nights all went without a hitch. The rooms were spotless. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Although housekeeping isn't daily there are always plenty of staff about so we just put our trash out by the door and it was dealt with immediately. Great location, far enough way from the casinos for a bit of peace but close enough to walk back and forth to the fun. Short walk to MGM Grand and the monorail.

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for the extended stay words of kindness. It is always a pleasure to see our longer duration guests enjoy their stay. We welcome you back as soon as you can, and we will deliver the same hospitality you have come to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New Haven, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
133 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We really enjoyed staying here, the property was well maintained and manicured. Our room was comfortable and fairly clean. I definitely wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. The staff was very helpful and polite too. For those of you that are worried about it not being on the strip, we actually found that to be a big plus. It was not nearly as noisy or crowded. It was only a very short walk to the MGM and you were in the middle of craziness!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traci H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to put in such a nice review. We love our location being one block from so many big name casino hotels. We are glad to see that you would book here again. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#17 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Polo Towers Suites
#30 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Travelodge Las Vegas Airport North/Near the Strip
The Strip
Wyndham Grand Desert
Wyndham Grand Desert
#29 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,112 reviews
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#9 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Property: Desert Rose Resort
Address: 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119-1143
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#49 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#61 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Rose Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 blocks from the Las Vegas Strip, Desert Rose Resort provides you with great access to all the glitz and glam of Las Vegas along with all the gracious pleasures of a resort hotel. Settle into one and two-bedroom condo suites in Las Vegas with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable living and dining areas – all beautifully decorated with sleek, contemporary furnishings and a rich color palette. Desert Rose Resort’s pool is an oasis, a truly relaxing and refreshing hideaway – dramatically different from the crush of people at some Vegas hotels. Lucky you, Desert Rose Resort is a winning deal in Las Vegas - without stepping foot in a casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Vegas.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Rose Hotel Las Vegas
Desert Rose Las Vegas
Desert Rose Resort Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing