We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay”
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Desert Rose Resort
Ranked #45 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This was an absolute gem of a place to stay. Far enough away from the strip for it to be quiet but close enough to walk to, Rooms were a great size, clean and very well equipped. There was no breakfast facilities on site but you were given coupons for the nearby Coco's. Could not fault this place at all

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank omegacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for the great review, many visitors comment on the convenience of the proximity to the strip. We are glad you enjoyed your room and its equipment. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,093
    1,209
    324
    110
    83
See reviews for
1,386
1,317
143
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guilderland, New York
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I stayed here as part of a package with the Arizona River Runner's Colorado River rapids rafting tour.

The room was spotless and included a well-appointed kitchen with coffee pot, blender, paper towels, dishes, etc.

It's just a short walk to Hooters and the MGM Grand and is convenient to the monorail.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobLucky3565703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
We are so very glad you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to seeing you on future River Trips. Enjoy your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 16 nights all went without a hitch. The rooms were spotless. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Although housekeeping isn't daily there are always plenty of staff about so we just put our trash out by the door and it was dealt with immediately. Great location, far enough way from the casinos for a bit of peace but close enough to walk back and forth to the fun. Short walk to MGM Grand and the monorail.

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for the extended stay words of kindness. It is always a pleasure to see our longer duration guests enjoy their stay. We welcome you back as soon as you can, and we will deliver the same hospitality you have come to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New Haven, Indiana, United States
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We really enjoyed staying here, the property was well maintained and manicured. Our room was comfortable and fairly clean. I definitely wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. The staff was very helpful and polite too. For those of you that are worried about it not being on the strip, we actually found that to be a big plus. It was not nearly as noisy or crowded. It was only a very short walk to the MGM and you were in the middle of craziness!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traci H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to put in such a nice review. We love our location being one block from so many big name casino hotels. We are glad to see that you would book here again. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We booked this place last year for our visit to Las Vegas at the end of April 2014.
Having read some very poor reviews in recent months we almost cancelled and it was with some trepidation that we arrived on 30th April 2014 for a 5 night stay.
The room was excellent, very clean and with brand new appliances in the kitchen and it looks as though it has recently been redecorated. The staff could not have been more pleasant or helpful.
The breakfast advertised last year has been deleted from the services and the computer adjacent to the reception area is still not working. That apart we couldn't find any complaint and we had a great stay here.
It was explained that they are about to embark on a 2-year renovation, so that could affect future guests for the duration, but I'm sure it will be worth the wait.
First class!

Room Tip: A room off the ground floor might be better with less A/c noise? We didn't get a choice in any c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 61nevillej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We value you as a guest and we appreciate your feedback. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic place to stay,what a shame the property is being changed to Timeshare. No breakfast(was available when booked). No daily room servicing anymore. The room we had was a 2 bedroom style apartment & was huge . Very we'll appointed cooking facilities, all cups & plates. Flat screen tv's. Would not hesitate in staying again, just wish it was hotel style. Just a warning, stay clear of concierge trying to upsell timeshare. On a down note lost power during the night of departure & had no emergency lighting in stairwell. Very dangerous. Front desk didn't seem to care.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dwayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
I am very sorry that your experience was not what you anticipated. The dynamic of the lobby is changed due to the renovations scheduled for 2014. We are very excited for the amenities that we will be able to offer once it is complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Again wonderful stay at the Desert Rose, reception staff helpful and friendly. This property has recently been taken over by the Wyndam group and in my opinion for the better in some ways, Thomas Cook guests and other guests are now provided with a breakfast box or Coco's vouchers who prebooked the breakfast before the change. Before the breakfast set up was chaotic. The lobby area was cleaner and calmer with the absence of the breakfast and manager's specials. A bottle of wine was presented to us on arrival to replace the manager's specials, with a choice of wine, which was a nice touch. Starbucks coffee and hot water for tea is always available in the lobby. At check in we were told to ask for anything we required, we did so, a simple phone call or a list left at reception we requested extra bed changes, towel changes and toiletry supplies which were left with no problem when we returned to our room. As there is no longer the daily housekeeping service. We were not mithered with time share presentations at all. A special mention to Jason and Arty who made us most welcome. The location for us is excellent, just off the four corners strip, behind Hooters, you can cut through MGM and the Grand Canyon gift shop, which will take you right to the bus stop for the SDX and Deuce buses. The WAX bus stop is on the MGM side opposite Coco's, this will take you to the strip, then onto North Premium outlets, then onto Downtown. We will return again to this hotel.
Just one point for the Desert Rose is that the carpets and some of the furniture needs replacing in the rooms and hallways sooner rather than later. I believe that the rooms are due to be refurbished in 2015. We noticed a greater security presence around the complex and car parks, also exterior paintwork being freshened up, which is always good to see. On the whole a great holiday with Thomas Cooks reps available in the Luxor 6 days a week.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for coming back year after year. We are very excited for all of the upgrades taking place at our resort. We value your feedback and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Polo Towers Suites
#31 of 262 in Las Vegas
2,408 reviews
The Strip
Wyndham Grand Desert
Wyndham Grand Desert
#30 of 262 in Las Vegas
2,159 reviews
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#15 of 262 in Las Vegas
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,259 reviews
The Strip
Travelodge Las Vegas Airport North/Near the Strip
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#8 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Property: Desert Rose Resort
Address: 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119-1143
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#49 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#61 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Rose Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 blocks from the Las Vegas Strip, Desert Rose Resort provides you with great access to all the glitz and glam of Las Vegas along with all the gracious pleasures of a resort hotel. Settle into one and two-bedroom condo suites in Las Vegas with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable living and dining areas – all beautifully decorated with sleek, contemporary furnishings and a rich color palette. Desert Rose Resort’s pool is an oasis, a truly relaxing and refreshing hideaway – dramatically different from the crush of people at some Vegas hotels. Lucky you, Desert Rose Resort is a winning deal in Las Vegas - without stepping foot in a casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Vegas.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Rose Hotel Las Vegas
Desert Rose Las Vegas
Desert Rose Resort Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing