We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Desert Rose Resort
Ranked #33 of 265 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed herein February 2014 with my brother (we are both in our late 20s), our mum (late 50s) and Gran (in her 80s) in a 2 bedroomed family room. Room was absolutely ideal. Spacious and clean apart. From carpets which unfortunately seemed to be very dirty throughout hotel. I slept in the "living room" of apartment in the sofa bed which was very comfortable. Free coffee in lobby area and staff very helpful, helped us hire a mustang (arranged it all and had us collected from hotel within an hour to go collect the car free of charge and after we had researched prices online they got the hire cheaper than online prices!) location was great, about 5 minutes walk to New York New York at bottom of the strip but it was quiet and very friendly in comparison to massive impersonal hotels on strip. Pool was lovely and always sunbeds and good quiet gym area. We have now booked to go back in May next year we like it that much!! Xx

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Kmcfarlane26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,934)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

735 - 741 of 3,934 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2014

Thank goodness were were only there two nights in a 2 bedroom unit March 21-22. Mus have had the same room as another reviewer or there are maintenance issues everywhere: closet door in hallway was broken and off track, glass shelf in master bath loose, sliding doors to shower were coming off track, mold around bottom of shower stall, no kitchen towels or oven mitts and interior door lock was visibly ripped off the door with an exposed chunk of wood missing from the door. The one and only computer in the lobby was out of order our whole stay. Room was not cleaned (well?) before our arrival: visible large fingernail clippings on the carpeting, large cobwebs in corners in bathroom and bedrooms. Don't expect a "view" of vegas, rather a view of the Luxor and the backside of the Tropicana (which by they way has the BEST breakfast buffet; albeit expensive, but made up for our crappy hotel room). The lobby has no atmosphere and seems to be under construction. No free USAToday newspapers on Sunday; $3. On a positive note, there is free coffee in the lobby, the grounds seemed to be well kept & clean. The location is okay - only few min walk to the strip. The closest "family" place to eat is Coco's, which is about a 10 minute walk, seemed to be an upgraded Denny's/Perkins type but better food than I remember those places. Concierge was rude; I asked the approximate cost to of a taxi to Treasure Island (where we had tickets to a 9:30pm Cirque show), and she would not even give me an answer. She said you just call a taxi and pay what they ask. We had a car, so we just drove down there (about 2 1/2 miles)....all the hotels have free parking. We had already walked it during the day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank colleen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This place is awesome! Off the strip but not by too much. Close to Hooters, Tropicana, Luxor and MGM. Free parking and no "resort fees". Clean and all in all pretty quiet.... It is Vegas after all and there will always be somebody partying.

Room Tip: The A/C worked great! Would request room on top floor as there was some heavy walkers above us 2 ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed here three nights and then one night on our return. The reception staff were exceptionally helpful, as we had two large extra suitcases they we wanted to store for a week, and they attended to this so efficiently for us.

We really enjoyed our suite (full kitchen, lounge, seperate bedroom, ensuite bathroom) particularly because this hotel is off-Strip, non-smoking and doesn't have a casino - believe me it is refreshing to get away from the action down on the Strip!

The hotel has a guest laundry and excellent free wifi access throughout. They don't serve breakfast, but with a full kitchen, you can opt to self-cater or got to one of the many dining options close by.

We would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jobyscoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We are currently staying at the Desert Rose and I really can't see why people have a problem with it. We stayed here on the recommendation of our daughter who stayed here a few years ago.
The location is ideal. 10 mins (depending on traffic) from the airport and just one block from "the strip" its a 2 min walk to Tropicana and a 5 min walk to New York New York.
Arrived and were checked in immediately and courteously. We are staying in a one bed apartment which is a great size. Huge comfy bed. 2 tv's, hair dryer,safe, full size fridge,ironing board and iron. Cooking facilities if needed. The towels provided are clean as is the bedding. The room is clean too (and I'm fussy)
Pool area nice enough and towels provided.
Complimentary Starbucks coffee provided in lobby and a small convenience store for cold drinks etc....
The only drawback I can find to this property is that there is no bar or restaurant but I knew this when I booked and to be honest by the time we had been out and about all day I was too tired to care.
Over all I think it's in a great location and the room provided everything and more we needed for a 7 night stay. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Desert Rose to someone coming to Vegas if they don't want to be in a casino or on the strip.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor in building 1 I don't think there's much to choose between them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheffieldUKMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed there on our time share given that it was a great deal on points. Won't again unless with kids. The pool area is simple but functional, although no bar so even with a liquor store nearby, this is a poor choice for anyone but families. The room is fine, if a little dated but the toilet rupture st 0300 on our final night wasn't fun...

It is beside Hooters hotel and having to get to walk to your hotel through their dreadfully stinky lot took away the Vegas glitz. Staff were about 50/50 interested but no one asked us about how our stay was and no one offered any apology for our room. It is not quite a dump but it is worth it to aspire to more.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pengdio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Expect minimal service at this property. We stayed Mar 16th for 5 nights in a 2 bedroom unit. There were a fair amount of maintenance issues eg: closet door in hallway was broken, glass shelf in master bath loose, sliding doors to shower were coming off track, mould around bottom of shower stall, no kitchen towels or oven mitts. Our phone rang 3 times in the middle of the night - issue with resort phone system. The one and only computer in the lobby was out of order our whole stay. We were told our room would be serviced on Wed - came back to full stinky garbage in kitchen, no fresh towels, no beds made, no coffee replenished. We phoned the F/D and they came to our room. It was a little awkward. On a positive note, the grounds & pool area are well kept & clean. The location is great - only 10 min walk to the strip. Sadly the lobby has no atmosphere. My complaint - need better signage for the elevators. I kept getting lost & walked past the elevators several times, very frustrating. Final note: we bought our Timeshare at this location in 2008. It was a little disappointing to see the quality & service go downhill.

Room Tip: Building 3 top floor has good view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SKluvstotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Wyndham Grand Desert
Wyndham Grand Desert
#31 of 265 in Las Vegas
2,264 reviews
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#7 of 265 in Las Vegas
3,817 reviews
Polo Towers Suites
#27 of 265 in Las Vegas
2,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#18 of 265 in Las Vegas
1,425 reviews
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 265 in Las Vegas
3,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Address: 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119-1143
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#40 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#61 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $83 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Rose Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 blocks from the Las Vegas Strip, Desert Rose Resort provides you with great access to all the glitz and glam of Las Vegas along with all the gracious pleasures of a resort hotel. Settle into one and two-bedroom condo suites in Las Vegas with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable living and dining areas – all beautifully decorated with sleek, contemporary furnishings and a rich color palette. Desert Rose Resort’s pool is an oasis, a truly relaxing and refreshing hideaway – dramatically different from the crush of people at some Vegas hotels. Lucky you, Desert Rose Resort is a winning deal in Las Vegas - without stepping foot in a casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Vegas.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Rose Hotel Las Vegas
Desert Rose Las Vegas
Desert Rose Resort Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing