We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to keep kosher in Las Vegas!”
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Desert Rose Resort
Ranked #39 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The Desert Rose is a condo type hotel. It is a block off strip and very close to the MGM Grand and the Monorail.

We had a 1 bedroom suite with a nice king sized bed which was very comfortable. Great sheets too ( I am a sheet snob.)

There is a nice pool (it is December and its warm enough in the pool and the hot tub to still swim.)
We did not participate in breakfast that is provided because we headed over to Smith's food and drug Kosher experience and bought groceries since the suite has a full sized fridge and stove as well as a microwave. Our suite was not well supplied pot wise, (which we would have koshered) but we bought foil pans.

We don't like heavy housekeeping but they came daily to supply what we needed. I wish I had thought to use google translate to speak with them though.

Our room had two nice tv's and a huge couch as well as a table for 4 and honestly, two adults could sleep on the couch even not folded out.

This is not fancy but it is clean and family friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schwevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Social Media Team at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed the bedding accommodations and amenities in your unit. We apologize for the lack of cooking pots in the kitchen area and will look to make improvements on this for future guests. We hope to see you back at our resort on your next trip to Vegas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,913)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

781 - 787 of 3,913 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

The Desert Rose is a great place to stay for families into Vegas. Big rooms, beautiful comfortable beds, well equipped kitchen, three tvs with the most channels i have ever seen, pleanty of storage space a laundry on site and cheap, you name it they've got it.

We arrived early and they accommodated us straight away, no early check in fee, no resort fee. We stayed on the bottom floor in building three, they even gave us a room with two single beds in the second room.

We didn't have a car but there appeared to be plenty of parking. They had a pool and jacuzzi, which we didn't use but others did. In the room they had welcoming packs with tea, coffee (and coffee maker) hot chocolate, they even had little salt and pepper shakers.

Ice was really available. The staff were friendly and helpful, always smiling and checking how your day has been.

I would have given this place a 5 but for 2 things, one was not necessarily the rest roses fault. Now from those above you is absolutely painful. We stayed at the desert rose for five nights, on the last two a family moved in upstairs and their kids are feral running around at midnight the night before we went to the Canyon at 6am and the night when we got back. The second was breakfast. I'm not complaining as it is free, but it could have been much better organized and set out. Some mornings it was utter chaos. The best thing was the ability to get your food and take it back to your room. The food is nothing special, but plenty of bread and cereals, great jam and plenty of coffee, Sally it is the horrible American stuff though.

You won't be disappointed staying at the desert rose, try stay in an upper floor if you can. Oh and by the way, we had no problems with housekeeping. They only didn't come once and a phone call quickly rectified the issue.

I would have given

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrya0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Social Media Team at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate your kind words and will share them with our staff. We are so glad you enjoyed the unit accommodations made available and that you were able to check into your unit early. We apologize for any dissatisfaction with our breakfast amenity on site. We know there is a certain level of satisfaction expected when staying at our properties. Please be advised in January of 2014 we will be discontinuing the breakfast and welcome reception. As you are aware we do offer fully equipped kitchens in each guest unit. If you would rather not cook we do have some wonderful restaurants nearby our resort that serve breakfast such as Coco’s, Einstein Bagels, and Denny’s. Thank you for providing this feedback and we hope to see you back at our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

After staying in another crummy hotel in Albuquerque, this resort in Vegas went above and beyond making it up! My room...or shall I say apartment...was great! Breakfast was pretty good daily. Cleaning crew and front desk stayed in top of things and our location was perfect to the strip! Other than a minor faucet leak, no complaints!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank jj_rog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Social Media Team at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your kind words and will share them with our staff. We are so glad you enjoyed your unit and the resort amenities.Our goal is to make each guest feel at home while staying with us. We apologize for the faucet leak you encounter, but glad this issue was resolved. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

MIGHT BE SMALL BUT HAS EVERYTHING YOU COULD NEED.
IT IS A Bit back off the strip but nice and quiet.
Saved lots as there are no one armed bandits here but plenty within a short walk.
The staff were all great.

Room Tip: Will do airline checking for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Social Media Team at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Hi Keith,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff. It sounds like you had a great vacation and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Great place to stay in Vegas, one street back from the Strip. Our 2 bedroom apartment was very clean and spacious, great pool and spa. Small fitness room but enough for my needs. Check in was a long process, try to avoid the peak time (around 4pm), a long line. Would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LJAK2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Social Media Team at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate your kind words and will share them with our staff. We look forward to your next visit. It's great to hear you enjoyed the pool and fitness area. We apologize for your delay at check-in. We know after a long day of traveling the last thing you want to do is wait to get into your room to relax. With your feedback we can continue to improve the guest experience. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This was our 2nd time staying here and will not try it for a 3rd. Our 1st stay a few years ago was wonderful from start to finish. There must have been a change in management and I believe they have outsourced the housekeeping and niether change is working out well. The resort is in a great location and the rooms are still very nice but for the price you can find an just as nice a place without all the hassles. Elevators were down for over 2 days and I lost count as to how many times our group of 4 had to go back to the desk because our keys wouldn't work in our room or the gates. Lastly, although I had a confirmation explicitely detailing the rates we were given when we checked out they had overcharged me by almost $300.00. The front desk wasn't helpful and 4 days after my return I had to call to get it straightened out.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerseygirl8667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed at the Desert Rose Resort from 4-7 December and thought it was the perfect place. We have stayed in a few of the casinos on a past visit to Las Vegas so had "been there...done that". The suites at the Desert Rose have everything you need, including full size kitchen appliances (refrigerator, cooktop/oven, microwave). The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are exceptionally spacious. The continental breakfast is just what it says but still very good and the dining room sits a good number of guests. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone. I wouldn't call it a negative but the only thing is, you do have a bit of a walk to the Strip but hey, it's called exercise...and we can all do with some of that.

Say Hi to Betty at the check in desk...she was very helpful and always had a smile and welcome for all of the guests. HI BETTY!!! Thank you for a wonderful stay at the Desert Rose. From The Hamlets :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marrianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Social Media Team at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Hi Marrianne,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback including some area information for future guests. We appreciate your kind words and will share them with our staff. It’s so good to hear you enjoyed the unit accommodations and breakfast made available to our guests. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#17 of 264 in Las Vegas
1,407 reviews
Polo Towers Suites
#28 of 264 in Las Vegas
2,558 reviews
The Strip
Wyndham Grand Desert
Wyndham Grand Desert
#29 of 264 in Las Vegas
2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#44 of 264 in Las Vegas
3,832 reviews
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#8 of 264 in Las Vegas
3,789 reviews
Tahiti Vacation Club
#67 of 264 in Las Vegas
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Address: 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119-1143
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#40 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#61 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $103 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Rose Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 blocks from the Las Vegas Strip, Desert Rose Resort provides you with great access to all the glitz and glam of Las Vegas along with all the gracious pleasures of a resort hotel. Settle into one and two-bedroom condo suites in Las Vegas with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable living and dining areas – all beautifully decorated with sleek, contemporary furnishings and a rich color palette. Desert Rose Resort’s pool is an oasis, a truly relaxing and refreshing hideaway – dramatically different from the crush of people at some Vegas hotels. Lucky you, Desert Rose Resort is a winning deal in Las Vegas - without stepping foot in a casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Vegas.com and Cancelon so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Rose Hotel Las Vegas
Desert Rose Las Vegas
Desert Rose Resort Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing