We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable holiday”
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Desert Rose Resort
Ranked #39 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 1, 2013

stayed here for 2 weeks in October. rooms are spacious and well equipped. only cleaned once per week, but left rubbish outside, and clean towels could be available from cleaners trollies. not a problem for us.
The second night the air con kept us awake (even though it was turned off) we rang reception at 3am and the night maintenance man came up immediately. He rang reception, and we were transferred to another room immediately. Forgot his name, but he was very efficient and friendly.

Complimentary breakfast was fine, though we were always there early and got seats

Reception staff not as bad as people say. Dianetta on the info desk was very good and matched any price with trips.

We had a wonderful holiday and will return to this resort

Room Tip: top floor rooms are the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 41cags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Social Media Team at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your unit accommodations. We apologize you had to spend even a minute of your vacation dealing with noise, but glad that maintenance was able to address these concerns quickly. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,913)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

807 - 813 of 3,913 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

This was our third visit to the Desert Rose and what a let down it was this time, we stay for 17 nights every August but this will be our last visit..
Firstly the room didnt look as clean as in the past and the first thing we noticed was the ironing board was missing, we called reception but nothing was done so had to go in person to reception the next day to get one...also no do not disturb sign which took a while to get.
The cleaners were useless and never cleaned the whole time we were there, The only thing they cleaned out was my loose change I had for the laundry room..it got to the point where I got my own toilet rolls off the cleaners trolley in another part of the hotel.
The only member of staff who was still very friendly was Gus who served the drinks and looked after the food area.
Its a shame its gone downhill but I guess we have plenty of choices when it comes to hotels in Vegas.
I hope the bosses read this and act on it.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank barrassyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Social Media Team at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We apologize for the housekeeping concerns you experienced during your visit. Our goal is to make each guest feel at home when staying with us. We sincerely appreciate the feedback and will be taking action to ensure that this is not an issue for future guests. Again, thanks for taking the time to reach out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

nice apartment just a few steps to the strip
fitnessroom
Large room with full kitchen and a balkony
Free parking and breakfast in the lobby.
Nice heated pool and hot tub
clean area around the hotel
It's not a casino hotel

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank renegloudemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Social Media Team at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed the unit amenities, parking, and breakfast accommodations. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was my first trip to Las Vegas and I went with my sister and best friend. We were not so much into the gambling scene so this resort was ideal! About a block from the MGM Grand and the start of the Strip, the location really was nice. Apartment-style room with stove, microwave, dishes, sink, and blender...which came in handy. However, we had a ground floor room and we could hear every move our above-floor neighbors made. Horrible creaking, especially around the kitchen/living room area. We were also right next to the housekeeping closet, and the housekeepers had no noise discretion in the mornings. Perhaps it was also because we were on the ground floor, but there was a quarter-sized spider in the tub and another bug crawled out from the wall in front of the toilet. (ick)
If you are going to go to their complimentary breakfast...go early. They do not restock once it is getting close to over, even though there were still plenty of guests streaming in.
The concierge service was great and super friendly...and really nice to get a guest package the next morning, even though we checked in late.
And while the Resort is in a convenient, quiet location...it is unfortunately right behind the Hooter's Casino and Hotel. The stench was almost unbearable walking back to our room. The dumpsters are on the way to the entrance and they make no effort to cover them up or hide them. While it is not the Desert Roses' fault...something should still be done.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor to avoid "upstairs noise". Avoid rooms on the "Hooter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ellen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The resort is ideally situated, very close to the strip, but in much quieter surroundings. Parking on site was freely available and very useful. The welcome was very pleasing. Apartments were comfortable, very clean and well-equipped. Facilities were good, with an outdoor pool and plenty of loungers. Breakfast was provided, which may not have been enough for some, but adequate for us. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the pool are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudithM385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Social Media Team at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you for providing this feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the resort amenities and comfortable units. We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I have stayed here for the past 5 years and always found the standards of cleanliness, customer service and friendliness of the staff to be first class but what a dramatic change this year. I had a 'split' stay having 3 days + a further 9 days after my short break elsewhere. My initial days I had no kettle in the kitchen it took numerous calls and asking staff who promised to bring me one only to be told much later that they no longer supplied kettles, obviously communication with staff was non existance! I asked about 'do not disturb' notices, they didn't have any at all. Plaster had been knocked off a corner in the corridor and 3 days later it was still there obviously no vacumming had been done. On my return I was in a different building just the same regarding kettle but now no dish towels, ringing down most days for towels, was told they were short of pool towels,no coffee replaced in kitchen most days and the worst of all was no cleaning, vacumm or dusting for all the 10 days. I emailed my complaints to T Pric e assistant general manager and asked for some form of compensation. when I asked at reception I was told he was investigating. I have been back home and wrote again only to get an auto message I emailed and received a reply that they were sorry but they could not do any sort of compensation for all this. From the conversations with other guests some had been going to Desert Rose for 10 years the company is about to loose a lot of custom.Apparently they have outsourced the housekeeping,and they may be saving money by doing this but they need to re-assess customer satisfaction because the Desert Rose is certainly not what it used to be.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margsalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Social Media Team at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. We will share this information with our staff. Our goal is to make each guest feel at home during their stay. We apologize for any confusion and will work to better communicate with our guests. We are sorry for your experience and greatly value your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This was our 4th visit to las vegas, we had previously stayed at the MGM, Luxor and Caesars Palace, the desert rose was different altogether as it was a apartment not a hotel room. It was the best stay by far. It was nice to have a separate room with a lounge area and kitchen away from the bedroom. The balcony was nice to sit out on and have a night cap before bed away from the noise of the casinos. Breakfast was good, eggs, bacon ,sausages and toast coffee is free 24hrs. Managers special is on from 5pm mon-thurs free beer and wine etc.. It is a 10 min walk from MGM, Luxor. Pool area is not very big but we did get sunbeds when we went back and the Jacuzzi is red hot open from 7am-11pm.We asked for a room on the top floor which we got room 4314 not much of a view but nice and quite at night. Over all a very good stay and when we go back we will stop here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Shell Social Media Team at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Hi David,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed the unit size and resort accommodations. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#17 of 264 in Las Vegas
1,407 reviews
Polo Towers Suites
#28 of 264 in Las Vegas
2,558 reviews
The Strip
Wyndham Grand Desert
Wyndham Grand Desert
#29 of 264 in Las Vegas
2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#44 of 264 in Las Vegas
3,832 reviews
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#8 of 264 in Las Vegas
3,789 reviews
Tahiti Vacation Club
#67 of 264 in Las Vegas
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Address: 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119-1143
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#40 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#61 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $103 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Rose Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 blocks from the Las Vegas Strip, Desert Rose Resort provides you with great access to all the glitz and glam of Las Vegas along with all the gracious pleasures of a resort hotel. Settle into one and two-bedroom condo suites in Las Vegas with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable living and dining areas – all beautifully decorated with sleek, contemporary furnishings and a rich color palette. Desert Rose Resort’s pool is an oasis, a truly relaxing and refreshing hideaway – dramatically different from the crush of people at some Vegas hotels. Lucky you, Desert Rose Resort is a winning deal in Las Vegas - without stepping foot in a casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Vegas.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Rose Hotel Las Vegas
Desert Rose Las Vegas
Desert Rose Resort Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing