We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrived as strangers and left as great friends!”
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Desert Rose Resort
Ranked #52 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Arrived as strangers and left as great friends!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Amazing! We arrived on August 26th, around 11:30am, my husband myself, and our 2 boys. Kindly, allowed us to check in at that early time. They welcomed us with warm smile and checking in didn't take long time, it was so fast. No cigarette smell, no loudness, everything was so calm, and it is so hard to believe that you are really in Las Vegas, seriously. Breakfast was wonderful, healthy and more than enough to start a beautiful day. I read few reviews complaining about breakfast, wow some people are just born to complain, seriously. We felt so thankful about this beautiful place with almost everything. Staffs, housekeepers, security guards, engineers, front desk staffs, concierge, and almost everybody do their shares amazingly so well. I have no enough words to express our heartfelt appreciation. This is what I call giving service from the bottom of your heart. As the saying goes "Arrived as strangers and left as great friends" this is truly what we felt. Although, it is hard to list names of all the people working there that gave us super service, I try to list names of the people I remember: Dainette, Adora, Willie, Micheal, George, and all all, housekeepers, engineers, front desk attendants, concierge staffs, breakfast chefs and others sorry didn't remember your names. Thank you so much for making our stays memorable and fantastic, we will definitely will share to others about you. Dainette, you are an amazing person, thank you for spoiling our kids with cookies, everyday!

Room Tip: We stayed in one bedroom suite, we were four people, mom, dad and two young boys. Room was so clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Desyan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,056
    1,202
    318
    107
    83
See reviews for
1,371
1,307
143
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Llandeilo, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Good position near strip.Walking distance. No casino means that kids are free to move about hotel .and the pool is lovely. Staff were helpful. Breakfast was a bit of a nightmare cos of queuing at peak time. Need to sort that out.! Tip for dad's Hooters is the next door hotel!!! Thought I'd mention it !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Nice clean rooms and excellent staff. The one negative I had for this hotel is that I got a ground floor room facing the parking lot so everytime people would park their cars I could hear them and had to keep my curtains drawn. But the room was clean, kitchen was completely equipped, toilets clean and the overall stay was excellent

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juice18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Had a lovely stay - apartments have everything you need and more. We clean up after ourselves so left the 'do not disturb' sign on the door the first couple of days - house keeping knocked 4 times and then rang up to check on us ! Breakfast is simple but plenty full. Pool is clean and always got a sun lounger. My only complaint would be the nasty cleaner woman who threw rocks at the little birds we were happily feeding at breakfast - but other than that everything was just perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ema34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was our 4th visit to the Desert Rose. We stayed 5 nights at the beginning of August in a 2 bedroom apt. Our disappointment upon arrival is due to the fact that we had access to our room only @ 5:00pm when check-in time is @ 4:00pm. Then, twice was our room was cleaned around 5:00pm when we needed the room to get ready for the evening. We talked to the Reception desk manager who understood our frustration, apologized and made sure the room would be ready earlier for the future days. We truly believe that the housekeeping employees are understaffed and overworked. We have seen a big change since our visit last year. We suspect this is due to the change of management; we were told that Shell vacation has been bought over by Wyndham . We also made a suggestion : the check-out time of 12:00pm is too late for their employees to get the rooms ready for 4:00pm . This resort is very well located, close to the strip. We had a nice room and it was very clean. It is a good value for your money. However, they need to address the housekeeping issues.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GinetteandMichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We purposely booked at the Desert Rose because it was not on the Strip and not a Casino hotel. We were blown away by the space and well appointed kitchen area, not to mention the 5 shower heads in the master bedroom. Staff were very friendly and welcoming and the grounds were immaculate. The breakfasts were good though a little busy but no lack of food especially if you showed up just before closing - different hot selection daily as well as cereals and toast. If we ever return to Las Vegas, we would look no where else for accommodations!

Room Tip: We were in building 1 on the 2nd floor facing the front parking lot - we requested not to face Hoote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCLutkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed 8 nights and enjoyed the location, close to the strip and able to park the car close to the room. We weren't happy with our original room as the balcony received no sunshine and was on the ground floor right next to a busy access route. We asked for a different room, and the one allocated to us had dust and crumbs on surfaces, which we cleaned ourselves. Housekeeping was generally poor, not providing spare toilet rolls and arriving late in the afternoon when we were preparing to go out for the evening.
Overall, we were reasonably happy with value for money, although guests should watch out for the timeshare invitation to a presentation upon arrival.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John and San D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Polo Towers Suites
#32 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,342 reviews
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#15 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,324 reviews
The Strip
Wyndham Grand Desert
Wyndham Grand Desert
#29 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#7 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,147 reviews
The Strip
Travelodge Las Vegas Airport North/Near the Strip
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#42 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Property: Desert Rose Resort
Address: 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119-1143
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#49 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#61 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Rose Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 blocks from the Las Vegas Strip, Desert Rose Resort provides you with great access to all the glitz and glam of Las Vegas along with all the gracious pleasures of a resort hotel. Settle into one and two-bedroom condo suites in Las Vegas with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable living and dining areas – all beautifully decorated with sleek, contemporary furnishings and a rich color palette. Desert Rose Resort’s pool is an oasis, a truly relaxing and refreshing hideaway – dramatically different from the crush of people at some Vegas hotels. Lucky you, Desert Rose Resort is a winning deal in Las Vegas - without stepping foot in a casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Vacatia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Vegas.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Rose Hotel Las Vegas
Desert Rose Las Vegas
Desert Rose Resort Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing