We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location off the strip”
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Desert Rose Resort
Ranked #33 of 265 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed 8 nights and enjoyed the location, close to the strip and able to park the car close to the room. We weren't happy with our original room as the balcony received no sunshine and was on the ground floor right next to a busy access route. We asked for a different room, and the one allocated to us had dust and crumbs on surfaces, which we cleaned ourselves. Housekeeping was generally poor, not providing spare toilet rolls and arriving late in the afternoon when we were preparing to go out for the evening.
Overall, we were reasonably happy with value for money, although guests should watch out for the timeshare invitation to a presentation upon arrival.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John and San D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,934)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

897 - 903 of 3,934 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

After a three week road trip through the South Western US we ended up at the Desert Rose the night before we were scheduled for departure back home. With all the positive reviews we expected a great place, but were rather dissapointed. We had a two bedroom appartment which was OK but nothing special. Bright lights from the facade were lighting up the bed and living room all night. But for the rest the appartment, which was located on the third floor near the lobby was OK. It was however depressing to see the long lines for the free morning breakfast and afternoon snacks and drinks with people all piling up there plates to get as much free food and drinks as possible. Also the pool was crowded with screaming kids from early morning till late night. Place has a good price/quality ratio, but I believe that you can find much better in Las Vegas.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Josgreet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Shell Vacations Club Social Media Team at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We strive to be a resort choice for families who want to stay off the Strip, so we are sorry to hear your recent stay at Desert Rose did not meet your expectations. We apologize for the resort feeling overcrowded in the pool area and at breakfast. We also understand that lights shining in your bedroom would be frustrating. If you choose to visit us at this location again, we would be happy to assist in booking a room that is more comfortable to your family. Thank you again for your comments; we will look into the issues to better the experience for future guests at Desert Rose.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This lowrise apartment hotel is so close to major Resorts - Ttropicana, MGM, Luxor, etc. it is quiet, well-maintained, clean and has full-sized kitchens (we stayed in a one-bedroom). Can't beat the convenience, for Vegas, of parking 30 second walk from your room, hot breakfast daily, nice pool steps away. I think it is actually closer to walk from Desert Rose to MGM and Tropicana than from parking lots in same casinos!
The only negatives - if you areon ground floor, you can hear floors squeak above you, and really early breakfast, to 9 am only. What that causes is the influx of crowds after 8 a.m., looong line ups and nowhere to seat down.

Room Tip: Stay at the top floor, otherwise you will hear everything above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mosaic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stay here to 3 nights. Great location Near the strip. But a quiet location Hotel facilities Were very good Room was clean. And nice Swimming pool. Breakfast was a bit chaotic. And choices were limited

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank charlie3514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We didn't want a mega-sized hotel with a casino, and so this was a good find, near enough to walk to the Luxor, MGM etc. to gawp, and free of resort fees, valet parking and all the add-ons.
There was a line for some of the breakfast items when we were there, but not for the juice, coffee or cereal.
The room was big, with over-sized furniture and a full kitchen, dishwasher and all. Separate bedroom with king bed. Rather small bathroom though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElizabethRegina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our stay here was organised by Western River Expeditions as part of our 6 day rafting trip on the Colorado River in the Grand Canyon. We usually stay at the bigger hotels, but went along with this booking on Western's recommendation. It was perfect for our needs on this occasion. Our suite was very comfortable and roomy and the staff very friendly and obliging. We would definitely stay here again - particularly if wishing to be close to The Strip but not on it - staying in a smaller facility sometimes has it's benefits and this is one hotel that does.

Room Tip: Book a suite rather than a room - lots more space to spread out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AustraliaBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Great place to stay with the family. It was away from the hustle and bustle of the Strip but close enough for us to take a walk at night. Breakfast was sparse, nothing to get too excited about. Full kitchen is a great thing as we cooked some meals on our own. Nice size room and the sleep sofa was very comfortable. We even used the couch/daybed for sleeping. Room was perfect for one adult and three teenagers. Pool was small, but nice. Many guests sat outside to eat their breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Wyndham Grand Desert
Wyndham Grand Desert
#31 of 265 in Las Vegas
2,264 reviews
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#7 of 265 in Las Vegas
3,817 reviews
Polo Towers Suites
#27 of 265 in Las Vegas
2,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#18 of 265 in Las Vegas
1,425 reviews
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 265 in Las Vegas
3,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Address: 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119-1143
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#40 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#61 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $83 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Rose Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 blocks from the Las Vegas Strip, Desert Rose Resort provides you with great access to all the glitz and glam of Las Vegas along with all the gracious pleasures of a resort hotel. Settle into one and two-bedroom condo suites in Las Vegas with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable living and dining areas – all beautifully decorated with sleek, contemporary furnishings and a rich color palette. Desert Rose Resort’s pool is an oasis, a truly relaxing and refreshing hideaway – dramatically different from the crush of people at some Vegas hotels. Lucky you, Desert Rose Resort is a winning deal in Las Vegas - without stepping foot in a casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Vegas.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Rose Hotel Las Vegas
Desert Rose Las Vegas
Desert Rose Resort Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing