We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Desert Rose Resort
Ranked #51 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

This all suite hotel is a very pleasant place to stay in the middle of zany La's Vegas. We had a one bed suite on the south side facing a small inner courtyard. Nice and quiet. If you want the glitz of a Bellagio, this isn't your place. But we wanted no casino, kitchen, and a roomy place. The Desert Rose fit the bill. It was quiet, reasonably attractive, and handy location. We didn't walk to places - a little too far a walk for our old bones. All the big attractions are an easy drive away. There was sufficient parking. The breakfast area got really full with the hotel full up. Be patient and you will get to eat. May need to take it back to your room to sit down. We didn't use the pool so no comment on that. Sometimes. The maid came late - about 6 pm but that wasn't a problem for us. AC could get noisy but it kept the pkace cool. Hallways are open air but do not run along the street so it is private enough walking to the room. You need to use your key card to access the hallways. Overall a quiet, pleasant stay. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,030
    1,174
    310
    106
    83
See reviews for
1,340
1,288
143
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

With my husband and 16 year old son we spent 4 nights here in July as part of our California road trip. We had a 1 bed apartment which was very spacious and spotless and has all the facilities you need. Breakfast was free and adequate, and the concierge was very helpful with our endless questions. The pool area was good and plenty of sun beds for everyone as well. The location was just off the strip but was close enough to be able to walk and we felt very safe coming back at night. Would recommend to others as it was excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FloridacrazyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maastricht
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Had a great time in Vegas, not in the last place thanx to the Desert Rose. This is the hotel you want to stay with your family. After all the casino mad rush and loud music this is an oasis of peace and quiet in a super location.

We lounged by the swimmingpool during the hot hours of the day and visited the strip during the afternoon and the nighthours. Our teenagers loved Vegas, for them it was the best part of our 3-week trip of the Westcoast.

The apartment in the hotel was spacious, clean and super-comfy beds. I'm sure there are superb hotelrooms in the big casinohotels, but this was more than fine for us. The kitchen in the apartement enabled us to rustle up some decent (European) food and to add some good stuff to the terrible American breakfasts (alas, also the Desert Rose provided paper plates, plastic cutlery and mediocre breakfast foods...(and you had to be early to avoid an overcrowded breakfastarea). But decent coffee, happy hour(s) and a BBQ, would definitely recommend this place for families with children!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucaMaastricht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

i stayed in the desert rose for my 1st visit to las vegas, and it is a hidden gem. its lovely and quiet so you get to relax by the pool in the sun when you've literally walked the feet of yourself up and down the strip!!
they offer a buffet breakfast and snacks for free thru out the day which is great, there is also a gym on site for when you feel guilty over the amount of fab food you''ll probably eat while your there.
there is a monorail near the mgm so i found it good to get on to the stratophere end and then walk back.
rooms were great sizes and comfy beds, friendly reception staff.
id recommend going on the night time helicopter flight

Room Tip: pool view opp the bbq terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katherine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the Desert Rose before and after our Western River Expedition in the Grand Canyon. The hotel was extremely clean and an excellent value. The staff was well informed about the Western River Tour logistics, and extremely helpful and friendly. The continental breakfast more than adequate, and very welcome at our 6:30 am departure. This is an affordable option located just off the strip...not glamorous but safe and clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 60745Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We had a 2 bed apartment and they had supplied EVERYTHING you needed, tea towels, paper towels, bin liners, washing up liquid, dishwasher powder etc. Nowhere else we stayed even came close to them. Yes the pool is a bit small and the breakfast not perfect but for sheer convenience (and not having to have a buffet breakfast at main hotel prices when you only want cereal) it is absolutely unbeatable. Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Clowance666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moncton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We just returned from Las Vegas and a five night stay at the Desert Rose Resort. I had read in an earlier review that the guests considered it a "home away from home" and this is exactly what it was. It was a wonderful resort - from the continental+ breakfast to the week night happy hour to the cleanliness of the resort and the friendliness of the staff - I could go on and on.

Even the smaller suites are a good size - you don't feel like you are in a hotel room - it feels like an apartment - very roomy and lots of closet space. The resort is very secure and far enough away from the strip to be quiet. As we had read in an earlier review, we were always happy to return to our quiet resort after the noise and congestion of the strip.

And for families, the washer and dryer is just another bonus.

We left Vegas for a few days and then came back but made the mistake of staying at one of the larger resorts for one night but we regretted not booking that last night at the Desert Rose.

Great job Desert Rose - we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pgdris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#16 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
The Strip
Wyndham Grand Desert
Wyndham Grand Desert
#30 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,043 reviews
Polo Towers Suites
#31 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#42 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,351 reviews
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#8 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,976 reviews
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#11 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Property: Desert Rose Resort
Address: 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#49 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#61 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Rose Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 blocks from the Las Vegas Strip, Desert Rose Resort provides you with great access to all the glitz and glam of Las Vegas along with all the gracious pleasures of a resort hotel. Settle into one and two-bedroom condo suites in Las Vegas with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable living and dining areas – all beautifully decorated with sleek, contemporary furnishings and a rich color palette. Desert Rose Resort’s pool is an oasis, a truly relaxing and refreshing hideaway – dramatically different from the crush of people at some Vegas hotels. Lucky you, Desert Rose Resort is a winning deal in Las Vegas - without stepping foot in a casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Rose Hotel Las Vegas
Desert Rose Las Vegas
Desert Rose Resort Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing