We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service could be better”
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Desert Rose Resort
Ranked #41 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Great place, great location given the price and all in all a recommended resort. Staff polite and friendly but they need to sort out the 4 o'clock check in, cos guess what at 4 people were queuing round the block!! They could have checkd people's details as they arrived and then at 4 had an xpress line to just pick up room keys, that's just of many solutions. Oh and try get on third floor otherwise squeaky floorboards may start to annoy you. Apart from check in a great spot.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,881)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

891 - 897 of 3,881 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and 2 kids stayed at the Desert Rose. Very nice complimentary breakfast. Staffs are helpful. The room is nice and clean with sofa bed. The location is perfect for us near the strip. We enjoyed the stay there. The property is very well kept up to date. The A/C ran quiet loud in the living room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stan0955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We went to Las Vegas and found this very affordable hotel. We have a family off 5 so would have had to book 2 expensive rooms on the strip. Desert Rose had a two bedroom family suite, breakfast included...very affordable. It doesn't have a casino which was fine and the pool was a little small, but perfect for a quick dip or afternoon relaxing after seeing the sites. They advertize it is one block off the strip but it is a long block so be prepared to walk or have a car.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 12Jen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and pre-teen daughters stayed at the Desert Rose Resort on a trip to Las Vegas from July 16th to the 20th. Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The location of the hotel is perfectly situated. It is a 5-10 minute walk to the corner of Tropicana and Las Vegas Blvd S., near the MGM and NY, NY hotels. Our room was on the 3rd floor of building 2. The1 bedroom unit was large, clean and well-equipped with kitchenware and utensils. It was nicely furnished. The large refrigerator allowed us to stock up on water and refreshments that we were able to consume during the day. Having a dining table in the room was also a convenience for the night that we had a pizza delivered to our room. The parking lot had ample space. The elevators were small and didn't seem to be air-conditioned. The hallways are open air, and also were not air-conditioned, so there was no relief from the heat until you actually got to your room. The bedroom area did not seem to get a cold as the living room area. Also, on our last night, we discovered that the tv in the living room didn't work and the roof leaked when it rained. When I contacted the front desk, they were very apologetic and offered a concession on our room price.

The rooms were non-smoking, but smoking is allowed on the balcony. Unfortunately, I was unable to fully enjoy the balcony in our unit, because the room next to us had chain smokers on the terrace. Not much of a view, but a pleasant place to read while I was waiting for the rest of my family to get ready.

The complimentary breakfast was a nice touch, but there were limited options, long lines and food frequently ran out perhaps because I noticed many instances of other guests hoarding the food. (Groups of families grabbing stacks of 10-12 pieces of bread each!!) Also, it was difficult finding a place to eat. I finally figured out it was easier to grab a plate and take it back to my room.

The housekeeping staff was friendly and attentive. The pool area was attractive and complimented the low-rise still of the complex.

I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone traveling to Las Vegas with a family, especially if they plan to do activities around The Strip. It is a nice value from the money and offers a respite from all the action, while still being close to it. It is also super-convenient to the airport.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the Hooters hotel. The music from the pool area is loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LorryPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. It was very roomy, the location would of been okay but my 77 yr old mom had a hard time walking the distance to the bus stop. They say only a block away but they are huge blocks, but we just took our time. Kitchen has all you need to eat in. Staff was helpful. Breakfast was very good. We were there a week in April. We used the strip bus, it was simple to navigate around, The kids enjoyed the pool and the fact that it was open late. The laundry room was adequate and they provided a basket in the room. We had trouble with our safe, but they sent someone up right away. He was very helpful and polite. There was 5 of us so having 2 full bathrooms was a plus. We enjoyed the balcony and asked for a view of the strip and it was accommodated. We were in bldg. 3 on the 3rd floor, ice machine worked when we were there. Most importantly the room was clean and service was good. Wifi not the greatest.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poohbear73099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Enjoyed the friendly staff and the location just off the strip was quiet. Did need a car rental and next time will do that. Room was large and clean.Pool was open till elevan in the evening . Complimentary breakfast was good, but get there early. There was an afternoon cheese an wine/beer/soft drinks get to gather, but was to busy to make it. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed for the second time with our whole family of 5. Again, the rooms are spacious and clean, and we got a great night's sleep while we were here. Outside areas, however, are sticky and dirty. Ice machine was broken the whole time we were there (4 nights) and the other ice machine was broken the whole time I was there in 2012. During a heat wave with temperatures reaching 117 degrees ... you NEED an ice machine. Also the pool area is sort of small, so it was crowded, but otherwise it was okay. Breakfast food is average, but I think they do okay considering the large number of people they are serving. Overall, I like this place and I will stay here again because the rooms are great and it is close to the strip. We walked to NY, NY, and MGM Grand (at night only), but took a cab when we needed to go farther up the strip. This is an apartment style hotel room with a full stocked kitchen, dining room table and chairs, separate bedrooms, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank humboldt95528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Polo Towers Suites
#29 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,497 reviews
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#18 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,387 reviews
The Strip
Wyndham Grand Desert
Wyndham Grand Desert
#27 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Travelodge Las Vegas Airport North/Near the Strip
Hampton Inn Tropicana
#28 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,222 reviews
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Address: 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119-1143
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#49 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#61 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $67 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Rose Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 blocks from the Las Vegas Strip, Desert Rose Resort provides you with great access to all the glitz and glam of Las Vegas along with all the gracious pleasures of a resort hotel. Settle into one and two-bedroom condo suites in Las Vegas with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable living and dining areas – all beautifully decorated with sleek, contemporary furnishings and a rich color palette. Desert Rose Resort’s pool is an oasis, a truly relaxing and refreshing hideaway – dramatically different from the crush of people at some Vegas hotels. Lucky you, Desert Rose Resort is a winning deal in Las Vegas - without stepping foot in a casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Vegas.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Rose Hotel Las Vegas
Desert Rose Las Vegas
Desert Rose Resort Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing