We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super relaxing”
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Desert Rose Resort
Ranked #45 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Hotel is very clean, the staff high-class friendly. The rooms are big and the Price is ok. Only the Location is a bit outside but in 10minutes you are on the Strip. Next time in Vegas i will stay for shore there!!!
Good work guys, my compliments!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aus_reisen_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,844)
There are newer reviews for Desert Rose Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

907 - 913 of 3,845 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed here with friends for a short 4 day visit. The rooms were a good size and had a kitchenette which was great for storing snacks and beverages. The beds were ok and washroom was clean.
I would most likely stay further up the strip as this was across the street from MGM and for me too far from the action.
Breakfast that was included was basic but was great to grab and go.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We only stayed 1 night as the review indicated it was near the airport and we were picking up a rental car the next morning to drive to Death Valley. Nice staff, helpful, we had a 1 bed suite for 4 persons and there was a lovely fully equipped kitchenette. They offered free breakfast which was great except for the polystyrene plates, cups, plastic cutlery etc. No slot machines in sight, and, as it turned out only a block or so from the Strip. On arrival in McCarran Airport, we took a taxi who tried to take us to the Desert Golf Club Resort, in spite of me telling him that it was near the airport. Meter got to $30 and he admitted he was wrong and we paid him $20. Returning in the morning it cost us $15. The hotel has a nice swimming pool area although the breakfast area was in the lobby of the hotel and quite full but it was a comparatively peaceful hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank lifestorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We are a family of 5 & stayed here in early Dec 2012 in a top floor 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment. The apartment was very spacious & allowed us to spread out & have our own space. Our teenage son slept on the pullout sofa bed & found it very comfortable. The king size bed in the main bedroom was extremely comfortable as well. The apartment is fully self contained with all utensils supplied to cook & eat but we did not use them during our 4 night stay. We ate breakfast every morning in the dining area just off the main lobby. There was plenty of choice with both hot & cold selections each day. The breakfast area is quite small though & was very busy so it was sometimes difficult to find a seat. The front desk staff & concierge were very helpful & friendly & answered all of our many questions. The facilities at the Desert Rose were well maintained although we did not use the pool as it was too cold. We did use the small laundry & bought a few necessary items from the small convenience store found in the lobby. The Desert Rose is an easy 10 minute walk to the strip & we felt safe walking to & fro even at night. It was a quiet oasis to stay at after the frenetic energy of the Strip. If you enjoy a quiet apartment style accommodation free of poker machines, this is the place for you!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Lynette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Good - Location is quiet enough in the evening but within reasonable walking distance to the Vegas Strip without the casino effect. Big spacious accommodation for us two. Only one separate bedroom, so not so sure for four people. Nice comfy bed and slept well (do see not so good). Service friendly and concierge helpful. Value was exceptionally good considering the area and being a holiday weekend. The room was clean. Good shower. Would recommend.

Not so Good - Extremely noisy in the morning from other guest rooms, airplanes and helicopters. Room needed some maintenance, example paint peeling off door and patio light fitting hanging off the wall, minor issues.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buddy_R281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My first impression when I walked into the lobby wasn't particularly favourable. It seemed a bit dark and gloomy but we'd just flown in from the UK and were feeling a bit fragile. However, the desk staff were friendly and helpful. Going out into the garden with the pool towards block 4 we felt a bit better and by the time we got to our room we were feeling great. The room was a bit dated ( the colours were brown and beige 70s style) but it had everything you'd want for a short, or possibly long stay. There was a separate living room and kitchen and the rooms were large, although coming from the UK most US hotel rooms seem enormous. The place was clean, it was near enough to the strip to walk but there is a bus that goes up and down the strip and up to Fremont street which is helpful as we didn't get our hire car till the next day. We were only stopping one night and the place was good value for money. Breakfast was fine. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

At first we were not sure about this place and got to love it! We were early for check-in and asked for a top floor room in a recently renovated room. Jason at the front desk looked around and found us a room in the most recently renovated building (building #2) but said it would take about an hour to be ready. He was very helpful and suggested that we go and have lunch next door at Hooters. This turned out to be a very good experience and close to the hotel. The meal was excellent and my wife was able to make her first donation to the slots. When we got back about 1 1/2 hours later, our room was ready. Throughout our entire stay, Jason was very friendly and helpful.

The room was very clean and modern. The kitchen and bath seemed to be very new along with the carpet. The furniture showed some age but was in very good condition. Overall, the room was one of the best we've had in our travels.

Breakfast each day was very good and varied each day between: eggs, bacon, ham, french toast, potatoes, fruit, cereal, etc. Each day we ate outside and enjoyed the cool weather before the temps hit 100 degrees. It was nice not to have to go out for breakfast.

The afternoon welcome reception wasn't fancy but included unlimited wine, beer and soft drinks along with nibbles (cheese, nachos, etc.) We really appreciated the reception after returning from a day at the Grand Canyon.

The location is close to the strip but is a bit of a walk on really hot days for someone who is in the their "senior" years. We used the bus on the strip and found it a good deal to buy 24 hour tickets for $8. We just hopped on and off the bus wherever we wanted all the way up to Fremont St. in downtown. The free tram from Monte Carlo to the Bellagio came in handy.

As I said we came to love the Desert Rose and would not hesitate to stay there again or recommend to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room in building #2 since it's very quiet and updated.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank johnl745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Polo Towers Suites
#32 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,442 reviews
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#16 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,372 reviews
The Strip
Wyndham Grand Desert
Wyndham Grand Desert
#28 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Travelodge Las Vegas Airport North/Near the Strip
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,351 reviews
Hampton Inn Tropicana
#29 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Address: 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119-1143
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#49 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#61 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $90 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Rose Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 blocks from the Las Vegas Strip, Desert Rose Resort provides you with great access to all the glitz and glam of Las Vegas along with all the gracious pleasures of a resort hotel. Settle into one and two-bedroom condo suites in Las Vegas with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable living and dining areas – all beautifully decorated with sleek, contemporary furnishings and a rich color palette. Desert Rose Resort’s pool is an oasis, a truly relaxing and refreshing hideaway – dramatically different from the crush of people at some Vegas hotels. Lucky you, Desert Rose Resort is a winning deal in Las Vegas - without stepping foot in a casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Vegas.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Rose Hotel Las Vegas
Desert Rose Las Vegas
Desert Rose Resort Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing