We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a long stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Desert Rose Resort
Ranked #51 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great for a long stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We only stayed 1 night as the review indicated it was near the airport and we were picking up a rental car the next morning to drive to Death Valley. Nice staff, helpful, we had a 1 bed suite for 4 persons and there was a lovely fully equipped kitchenette. They offered free breakfast which was great except for the polystyrene plates, cups, plastic cutlery etc. No slot machines in sight, and, as it turned out only a block or so from the Strip. On arrival in McCarran Airport, we took a taxi who tried to take us to the Desert Golf Club Resort, in spite of me telling him that it was near the airport. Meter got to $30 and he admitted he was wrong and we paid him $20. Returning in the morning it cost us $15. The hotel has a nice swimming pool area although the breakfast area was in the lobby of the hotel and quite full but it was a comparatively peaceful hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank lifestorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,041
    1,188
    313
    106
    83
See reviews for
1,355
1,296
143
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (587)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We are a family of 5 & stayed here in early Dec 2012 in a top floor 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment. The apartment was very spacious & allowed us to spread out & have our own space. Our teenage son slept on the pullout sofa bed & found it very comfortable. The king size bed in the main bedroom was extremely comfortable as well. The apartment is fully self contained with all utensils supplied to cook & eat but we did not use them during our 4 night stay. We ate breakfast every morning in the dining area just off the main lobby. There was plenty of choice with both hot & cold selections each day. The breakfast area is quite small though & was very busy so it was sometimes difficult to find a seat. The front desk staff & concierge were very helpful & friendly & answered all of our many questions. The facilities at the Desert Rose were well maintained although we did not use the pool as it was too cold. We did use the small laundry & bought a few necessary items from the small convenience store found in the lobby. The Desert Rose is an easy 10 minute walk to the strip & we felt safe walking to & fro even at night. It was a quiet oasis to stay at after the frenetic energy of the Strip. If you enjoy a quiet apartment style accommodation free of poker machines, this is the place for you!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Good - Location is quiet enough in the evening but within reasonable walking distance to the Vegas Strip without the casino effect. Big spacious accommodation for us two. Only one separate bedroom, so not so sure for four people. Nice comfy bed and slept well (do see not so good). Service friendly and concierge helpful. Value was exceptionally good considering the area and being a holiday weekend. The room was clean. Good shower. Would recommend.

Not so Good - Extremely noisy in the morning from other guest rooms, airplanes and helicopters. Room needed some maintenance, example paint peeling off door and patio light fitting hanging off the wall, minor issues.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddy_R281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

My first impression when I walked into the lobby wasn't particularly favourable. It seemed a bit dark and gloomy but we'd just flown in from the UK and were feeling a bit fragile. However, the desk staff were friendly and helpful. Going out into the garden with the pool towards block 4 we felt a bit better and by the time we got to our room we were feeling great. The room was a bit dated ( the colours were brown and beige 70s style) but it had everything you'd want for a short, or possibly long stay. There was a separate living room and kitchen and the rooms were large, although coming from the UK most US hotel rooms seem enormous. The place was clean, it was near enough to the strip to walk but there is a bus that goes up and down the strip and up to Fremont street which is helpful as we didn't get our hire car till the next day. We were only stopping one night and the place was good value for money. Breakfast was fine. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldersburg, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

At first we were not sure about this place and got to love it! We were early for check-in and asked for a top floor room in a recently renovated room. Jason at the front desk looked around and found us a room in the most recently renovated building (building #2) but said it would take about an hour to be ready. He was very helpful and suggested that we go and have lunch next door at Hooters. This turned out to be a very good experience and close to the hotel. The meal was excellent and my wife was able to make her first donation to the slots. When we got back about 1 1/2 hours later, our room was ready. Throughout our entire stay, Jason was very friendly and helpful.

The room was very clean and modern. The kitchen and bath seemed to be very new along with the carpet. The furniture showed some age but was in very good condition. Overall, the room was one of the best we've had in our travels.

Breakfast each day was very good and varied each day between: eggs, bacon, ham, french toast, potatoes, fruit, cereal, etc. Each day we ate outside and enjoyed the cool weather before the temps hit 100 degrees. It was nice not to have to go out for breakfast.

The afternoon welcome reception wasn't fancy but included unlimited wine, beer and soft drinks along with nibbles (cheese, nachos, etc.) We really appreciated the reception after returning from a day at the Grand Canyon.

The location is close to the strip but is a bit of a walk on really hot days for someone who is in the their "senior" years. We used the bus on the strip and found it a good deal to buy 24 hour tickets for $8. We just hopped on and off the bus wherever we wanted all the way up to Fremont St. in downtown. The free tram from Monte Carlo to the Bellagio came in handy.

As I said we came to love the Desert Rose and would not hesitate to stay there again or recommend to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room in building #2 since it's very quiet and updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnl745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Vegas.If your looking to be close to the strip but not stay in the heart of it all.Situated behind Hooters Hotel it is a 5-10 minute walk to the strip and a 5-10 min taxi drive to mccarron international.The resort has 24 hour reception and security.continental breakfast(which is ideal and just enough)also the free couple of hours in the afternoon where drinks and snacks are served (wine & nachos)there is also a small shop next to reception if your looking for a drink or snack.There is a gym if you desire to keep fit whilst on holiday and a great pool & jacuzzi with plenty of sun beds and a couple of massive barbecues and picnic tables .The apts are lovely in the desert rose, we had a 1 bedroom with tv and small walk in wardrobe with a dressing area and bathroom attached.The kitchen has absolutely everything you need and there is also a dining area.The living area is great with tv & DVD player and a corner sofa.The colour in the building gives the resort a kind of Mediterranean feel and with having a balcony it is very different from the strip hotel rooms.The apt was spotless and cleaned everyday.The staff & concierge in this resort were excellent.This was our 4th trip to Vegas and have tried 3,4 and 5 star hotels on the strip which were also very good, but would definitely return to the Desert Rose.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lannie111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, AL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I had to look for a while but I found a place to stay that was not also a casino. The Desert Rose Resort was in a great location, just a couple blocks off the strip near the Luxor and the Airport. We rented a 2 bedroom condo with a full kitchen, dining table, 3 tv's, 2 baths and paid less than we had paid for some dinky hotel rooms. We had a small terrace that overlooked the pool area and palm trees. Free breakfast always included a couple of hot items. Friendly, helpful staff. Great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jbmobileal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#16 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
Polo Towers Suites
#30 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,269 reviews
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Travelodge Las Vegas Airport North/Near the Strip
The Strip
Wyndham Grand Desert
Wyndham Grand Desert
#29 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#8 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Property: Desert Rose Resort
Address: 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#49 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#61 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Rose Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 blocks from the Las Vegas Strip, Desert Rose Resort provides you with great access to all the glitz and glam of Las Vegas along with all the gracious pleasures of a resort hotel. Settle into one and two-bedroom condo suites in Las Vegas with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable living and dining areas – all beautifully decorated with sleek, contemporary furnishings and a rich color palette. Desert Rose Resort’s pool is an oasis, a truly relaxing and refreshing hideaway – dramatically different from the crush of people at some Vegas hotels. Lucky you, Desert Rose Resort is a winning deal in Las Vegas - without stepping foot in a casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Vegas.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Rose Hotel Las Vegas
Desert Rose Las Vegas
Desert Rose Resort Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing