We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations”
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Desert Rose Resort
Ranked #43 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Can't say enough good things about the Desert Rose. From the moment we arrived we were blown away
The location was perfect. Far enough off the Vegas strip to be quiet, but close enough to walk. Reception staff were very helpful. We arrived early for check-in, so our room was not ready, but the guy on reception gave us a key to another room to look round to see if it was okay. In the end we chose the alternative room. They were also great at suggesting things such as nearest local supermarkets and the best pizza delivery around.
The room was large, clean and was equipped with everything we need, including a large safe, perfect for cameras, I-pads etc. The kitchen was large and had microwave, toaster and a coffee maker, the coffee being replenished daily, though it was not always required as there was free Starbucks coffee in reception day or night. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom had a large sink area and separate room for the toilet and shower.
The free breakfast was great as it meant you didn't have to trail out in a morning to the nearest Mc-Burgers. There was a selection of cereals as well as a couple of different hot items every morning as well as bread for toasting, and fruit. As well as the free coffee mentioned earlier there was also juice, hot water for teabags and hot chocolate, also supplied. Not enough to fill you, but certainly enough to get you started in a morning.
Four nights of the week there was also a welcome reception with nibbles as well as beer and wine, also free.
There was also free wi-fi all around the complex which was great for surfing, keeping in touch etc, though there was also a PC and printer in reception.
The only criticism we can think of is the shortage of sunbeds around the pool, which meant that, unless you put your pool-towel (also supplied in the rooms) over a bed first thing in the morning you were unlikely to find an empty one by mid-morning, though there were chairs available.
Overall we wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Desert Rose Resort, or to return on our next visit to Vegas.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet night go for the higher floors, and avoid rooms facing the Hooters hotel next do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pacman1854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,879)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

956 - 962 of 3,879 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

After a four day trip here, this place was nothing less than an oasis. The staff was real laid back and cool, no stuffy attitudes. I wanted to stay at a casino hotel but after one night ere I was hooked. Easy parking, and clean.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Less than 2 blocks from the southern terminal of the Las Vegas monorail. Situated right behind ( to the east) of the Flamingo! Still, if in Vegas, you probably need a car. The Vegas slogan is "Money talks and nobody walks." Good parking is free. My room was delightful. Really a suite with garden and pool view (ask for it). My room was recently updated and included a full equipped kitchen. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Who knew such a deal still existed in Sin City?

Room Tip: Newly renovated and with garden or pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fritzy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is our our premier hotel resort to stay at when we are in Las Vegas. It's not a casino hotel so good for families. We rent the 2 BR suite.
Hot breakfast is good,concierge and front desk are helpful, staff is all friendly.Rooms clean, beds comfortable, easy access parking, hotel reception a plus. Rooms had full kitchen, walk on closets, workout facilites, nice pool and spa.
It is a timeshare, so they try to get you to purchase. Parking can get full.

Room Tip: Call in advance for room request. Has 3 floors, some rooms have views others not so good, Rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Safety1stAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was our second trip to LV we stayed previously at Mandalay Beach, for the pool mainly. We found the Desert Rose to be a much better value for money option. For the same price as our room at the Beach, we got two beds, two baths, living and kitchen, and breakfast. We loved the fact that there was no casino. The pool while not comparable to the beach was fine and the staff excellent. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corinna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Just got back from our 3rd visit to the Desert Rose, everyone is so friendly and make you feel right at home. Our suite was spotless and had everything we needed.
Car parking very accessible, breakfast excellent with plenty of variety, hot and cold.
Hope to be here again in 2014

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sally56cheshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We have stayed here more than 3 times before and cannot fault the location, cleanliness ,pool and free breakfast but this time we had a problem with checking in .We stayed at the flamingo for 3 days before going to desert rose so we had already popped in to see them asking if we could have a room on the third floor which is top floor and we would be arriving about noon .They told us that would be no problem . Arriving just after noon we were told no rooms available but would not be long at all .4 hours later we are still in reception sitting about waiting .The young guy at reception kept apologising for the delay but we were getting a bit fed up with reasons for the delay .Cleaners were on lunch ,they have been held up in another room ,they are doing your room now etc etc . When eventually they realised I was getting quite annoyed I was told that checkin was not until 4pm anyhow .When i reminded them we had been sitting for 4 hours watching loads of other people arrive and get checked in straight away we were told they did not want top floor !! Anyhow 4pm we had our room .Although we do really like this place we left a little disapointed and are looking at elsewhere for our october trip .

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vegasduoNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#18 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,385 reviews
Polo Towers Suites
#32 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,485 reviews
The Strip
Wyndham Grand Desert
Wyndham Grand Desert
#28 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Travelodge Las Vegas Airport North/Near the Strip
Hampton Inn Tropicana
#30 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,211 reviews
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Address: 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119-1143
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#49 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#61 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $77 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Rose Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 blocks from the Las Vegas Strip, Desert Rose Resort provides you with great access to all the glitz and glam of Las Vegas along with all the gracious pleasures of a resort hotel. Settle into one and two-bedroom condo suites in Las Vegas with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable living and dining areas – all beautifully decorated with sleek, contemporary furnishings and a rich color palette. Desert Rose Resort’s pool is an oasis, a truly relaxing and refreshing hideaway – dramatically different from the crush of people at some Vegas hotels. Lucky you, Desert Rose Resort is a winning deal in Las Vegas - without stepping foot in a casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Vegas.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Rose Hotel Las Vegas
Desert Rose Las Vegas
Desert Rose Resort Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing