We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the Strip”
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Desert Rose Resort
Ranked #37 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We didn't want to stay at a casino hotel so we opted for this property about 2 blocks from the MGM Grand end of the strip. Decent property...quiet and nicely equipped. No flat screen tv but do you really go to Vegas to watch tv? Complimentary continental breakfast was ok...not great, but ok. Eggs, sausage, cereal, oatmeal, etc....but it was free. The best part is the 2 room suite with a full kitchen! Plenty of room to spread out in. Worst part...tiny bathroom area. The area is separated into 2 rooms....one is the very large sink area. One sink with ample counter space but the commode and bathtub are in a very small area. Also, the tub is super tall. If you're short good luck getting into the shower. The shower head in our unit needed upgrading as well...not a lot of pressure and narrow spray. All in all...a decent place to stay. Staff was friendly and helpful...would stay here again.

Room Tip: A little tricky to find. Exit Tropicana from I-15 and turn on Koval which turns into Reno and then m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justbreathe2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,920)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,131 - 1,137 of 3,920 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

Great hotel, very competitive, well placed off the strip but not too far (MGM 3mins away), quiet, secure, and the bonus of a free breakfast, beer and nibbles in the evening and a heated pool and hot tub. The biggest pro are the staff, from reception, through to cleaners and utility everyone made you feel well looked after, fantastic people.

The only con, the rooms are a little dated, but not so as to effect the stay.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Conveniently located within walking distance to the Vegas strip, the Desert Rose provides a clean, well serviced and friendly home while vacationing in Las Vegas. A full kitchen allows you to eat in or eat those dinners you couldn't finish at those high end hotel restaurants you inevitably visit. A full breakfast is available every day free of charge to get you energized to do all those things people do in Vegas.
The staff is most friendly and always ready to help. A concierge is in the lobby to help find those special shows or activities. All in all the Desert Rose is a wonderful place to stay in Vegas.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

To start off I just want to say the place is fantastic, free breakfast in the morning, free beer and wine on select afternoons, no gambling on site.

We had a couple choices with places to stay thru Interval International and took this one because of the reviews. As I mentioned the place is fantastic except that one needs to either have a car (that would be a headache) or walk / take the bus.

If you are fit the walk is not bad, if you not fit...... It was a 15-20 minute walk each way to catch a bus and that was hard on my wife as we were in Vegas for 5 days and all our shows were on the other end of the Strip.

We will go back but will probably stay off the Strip and stay at a Complex that runs a shuttle.

BTW, the concierge's were fantastic.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the Side of the MGM as it is a lot closer to bus stops
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrrrITSCOLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The desert rose hotel was a gem! Rooms are lovely, food is fabulous..breakfast is included. We enjoyed the pool and the strip was a bit of a walk, but do-able. Taxi's arrive pretty quick and our tour bus picked us up at the lobby. We even got to eat breakfsat before we left, since the buffet was open early.

The option belowdoes not permit us to go back before dec 2011, hence the discrepancy in the dates. We visited in May 2011.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in a 2 bdrm unit. The staff were all very friendly. You were always spoken to if they walked past you and staff always held the lift door open for you given the opportunity. The units were well equipped. Bedding clean and comfortable. It was an easy 15 min walk to the strip through the back of the MGM hotel. The walls/roofing seemed to be very thin as we could hear people/children running around early every morning. A buffet breakfast was available each morning which satisfied our needs.There was also a fair amount of air traffic as well but after the first day we were less aware of it.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 3rd floor it may be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed at the desert rose 20 to 24 nov 2012 with my wife,we were in town for a concert at the mgm not so much gambling but like a flutter. Rooms were spacious and had everything you would need for a great stay including full kitchen facilities plus a dishwasher. It was a ten minute walk to the excalibur/luxor where we went for a show and slightly closer to the mgm which gives you access to loads more of the strip via the monorail.Bonus having a balcony as the weather was lovely 70ish,(thats great if your from the uk). Would definately stay at the desert rose next time we are in vegas.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steven c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#20 of 264 in Las Vegas
1,417 reviews
Polo Towers Suites
#27 of 264 in Las Vegas
2,574 reviews
The Strip
Wyndham Grand Desert
Wyndham Grand Desert
#29 of 264 in Las Vegas
2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#7 of 264 in Las Vegas
3,804 reviews
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#45 of 264 in Las Vegas
3,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Address: 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119-1143
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#40 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#61 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $95 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Rose Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 blocks from the Las Vegas Strip, Desert Rose Resort provides you with great access to all the glitz and glam of Las Vegas along with all the gracious pleasures of a resort hotel. Settle into one and two-bedroom condo suites in Las Vegas with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable living and dining areas – all beautifully decorated with sleek, contemporary furnishings and a rich color palette. Desert Rose Resort’s pool is an oasis, a truly relaxing and refreshing hideaway – dramatically different from the crush of people at some Vegas hotels. Lucky you, Desert Rose Resort is a winning deal in Las Vegas - without stepping foot in a casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Vegas.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Rose Hotel Las Vegas
Desert Rose Las Vegas
Desert Rose Resort Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing