We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Vegas' Best Kept Secret !"”
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Desert Rose Resort
Ranked #41 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 21, 2012

The title of my review was not my words - these were the words of the airport shuttle driver after he dropped off all the others on board at their respective hotels. He said clearly that you can spend plenty of money on The Strip, but the Desert Rose Resort is well situated, very clean, and highly affordable.

I was very impressed with the DRR, and would stay there again on future trips to Vegas. The rooms are more like apartments, and are very large, even having a lounge & kitchenette. The wi-fi reception is very steady, and the place in general is very relaxed. I didn't indulge in the poolside, but it looked great.

Best of all - you take the rear gate (your room pass opens it from the outside), and you are about 75yds from The Strip, and about 100yds from The Luxor. It is on a block that is shared by Hooters and the Tropicana casino, and MGM Grand, Excalibur, New York New York, are an easy five minute walk away. If you pay the daily amount of $7, the public bus will take you up & down The Strip until all hours of the night.

I would say that the only downside I found was that I felt the breakfast was rather dull. I am not big on buffets, and that's what you get, but hey - this is Vegas, so if you can't find a diner or something that makes a better breakfast, then you are not getting out like you should !

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PietroMorrizio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,881)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,475 - 1,481 of 3,881 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2012

This resort is a great value, the rooms are large and nice. We got to have a free evening happy hour when we were there. It has free parking and is close to the airport and strip.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank YvetteRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We took our son to Las Vegas for Spring Break and had an AMAZING time. I was a little worried when we turned off Tropicana and onto Duke Ellington passing some of the college kids at Hooters. Hooters is on the corner and I had a moments hesitation about not staying on the strip, when I saw the traffic but the moment we pulled in it was all forgotten. The grounds and hotel were immaculate the location was excellent. We quickly discovered we were able to walk across the Tropicana parking lot and head right to the strip. The first night we visited Excalibur, Tropicana, Luxor the shops at Mandalay Bay and the M&M store. It was such a great location. And the hotel itself was like staying at a quiet island resort. It was so peaceful. Even despite the large number of other guests which I didn't even notice until we headed to the breakfast buffet in the morning. Be warned it can get a little crowded there. But even that didn't dampen our spirits because the place was just so perfect for our needs. There is a store a little ways down Tropicana ( they have the address listed on the refrigerator) and if you want you can go pick up supplies to prepare your own meals and save money. We only picked up a couple of necessities there because we liked trying the different restaurants in town but we had a fridge to store leftovers when our eyes were bigger than our stomachs. I would absolutely stay here again! Do not hesitate to book this hotel. It is a gem in the heart of Vegas!!!

Pros:Free breakfast, affordable, clean updated rooms, family friendly, helpful staff, and location!

Cons: The lines at the breakfast buffet were pretty long, but it was a free hot breakfast so it is hard to even complain about that!

LOCATION: Located directly behind the Tropicana. You can walk to the strip through Tropicana's parking lot. Near Excalibur, MGM, NYNY. Great Location!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AshFab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Good location, easy parking and great rooms.
As others have commented the breakfast sucks, there is a Denny's a short walk if you want a full breakfast. Otherwise stick with toast, cereal, juice and coffee or tea.
The place is a 3 floor apartment buildings, not sure on the exact number of buildings and a central area.

Would seek this place out in the future. However if you have never been to Las Vegas before get a hotel on the strip for the experience.

Room Tip: Get a top floor. Some walls sounded thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmericanInEurope02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Last week my husband and I stayed at this great family resort! Only one block off the strip, it was easily accessible to the MGM Monorail. Every staff member was courteous and friendly. Carrie the concierge was so helpful and energetic to all! The rooms were immaculate and well situated. We really appreciated the full breakfast each morning and happy hour in the evening. Free!!
Shell Vacations really takes care of you! We can't wait to bring our friends and family to the Desert Rose Resort!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 72Kari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

My daughter is in the military and she got us rooms at the Desert Rose for a November trip to Las Vegas to celebrate a milestone birthday. What a wonderful resort. It saved us money because you were close to the action but far enough away to avoid temptation. The rooms were a very nice size, clean and I cannot say enough how great the location is. The continental breakfast was substantial, which was also a cost savings. The pool was beautiful, too cold in November to use but very nice. Nice little suite type room. You will not be disappointed by staying at a property that does not have gambling. Will definately stay there again. What a well kept secret!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor and one facing the strip rather than the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sinbad060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Our family stayed for 1 week during March break and loved it! Staff were helpful and very pleasant. Our kids enjoyed the pool area and hot tub. Free happy hour Sun thru Thurs was excellent! Wine & beer and different appetizer every day made for a nice retreat after a full day of walking. Check-in and front desk staff were pleasant and very helpful. Special kudos goes to Don, Food & Beverage Manager and Carrie, Concierge for making our stay even more enjoyable. They greeted us each day with a bright smile and were always so willing to help with anything we asked. Free breakfast was remarkable - lots of food...scrambled eggs, sausage, home fries and one day french toast was delicious! Yogurt & fresh fruit on some days too! Ample coffee & juices available throughout the day was an added bonus. Suite was ample and nicely equipped with a kitchen. We're not gamblers but thoroughly enjoyed touring the nearby canyon and sites. This hotel is conveniently located just off the strip near MGM, behind Hooters. We plan to go back to Vegas to visit more sites and will definitely stay here again. Tip-nearby 'Coco's' Bakery Restaurant is a great little place for meals. We enjoyed it so much we went twice. Prices are great and food is excellent!

Room Tip: We had an inside room which eliminated any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mississauga2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Polo Towers Suites
#29 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,497 reviews
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#18 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,387 reviews
The Strip
Wyndham Grand Desert
Wyndham Grand Desert
#27 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Travelodge Las Vegas Airport North/Near the Strip
Hampton Inn Tropicana
#28 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,222 reviews
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Address: 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119-1143
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#49 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#61 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $67 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Rose Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 blocks from the Las Vegas Strip, Desert Rose Resort provides you with great access to all the glitz and glam of Las Vegas along with all the gracious pleasures of a resort hotel. Settle into one and two-bedroom condo suites in Las Vegas with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable living and dining areas – all beautifully decorated with sleek, contemporary furnishings and a rich color palette. Desert Rose Resort’s pool is an oasis, a truly relaxing and refreshing hideaway – dramatically different from the crush of people at some Vegas hotels. Lucky you, Desert Rose Resort is a winning deal in Las Vegas - without stepping foot in a casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Vegas.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Rose Hotel Las Vegas
Desert Rose Las Vegas
Desert Rose Resort Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing