We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis in the Las Vegas Desert”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Desert Rose Resort
Ranked #52 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Oasis in the Las Vegas Desert”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

It was wonderful to land at the Desert Rose Resort, only a couple of hundred yards from the main strip. The prices of accommodation, the actual suite, with a full kitchen, a lounge and a large bedroom, were great. The rooms were clean, the staff helpful and friendly and the pool and spa were excellent. A continental breakfast was included, which, was a little un- settling, given the number of guests and a very small eating area. Hot food was included too, and apart from the crowding in the eating area, the breakfast was fine.
I recommend the resort to any travelers who want to be close to the strip, but not right on top of it.
PS. Stay away from the Buffets at large resorts like MGM. Food poisoning waiting to happen. It actually did with me.

Room Tip: It is not necessary to have a balcony, except in the warmer months, as the sun does not hit most of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cotlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,039
    1,186
    312
    106
    83
See reviews for
1,352
1,296
143
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

This was our first in Vegas and this resort is close to everything with great services. Even though it was cold, the services was great. Has everything in the loitchen top cook all meals. The bed is very comfortable and does not lack hot water. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fpi agency
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Stayed 10 nights in October and had no complaints. Room was cleaned every day. The kitchen was fully equipped which included dishwasher, fridge freezer, microwave oven and large electric cooker. Air conditioned.

Hotel was 10 minutes walk from the MGM.

If you are going Downtown make sure you use the single decker deuce express whcih stops outside the MGM Limited stops

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parkinson42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

hotel was good, very clean and tidy,great location just off the strip, breakfast and coffee included. the only complaint would be the inadequate staff who cannot book cabs and do not inform international guests of daylight savings, other than that cannot fault the hotel itself

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heusm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

My first visit to Desert Rose and 6th to Vegas. I have always stayed on the strip so this was a first for me venturing off it for accommodation and I wasn't disappointed. Room was large with kitchen, lounge etc. all clean if a little dated. Not having to walk thru a casino felt odd but it was far more peaceful and relaxing and still only 5 mins to MGM Grand. Price was very good, soo much cheaper than the strip. My only gripe would be the amount or lack of chairs and tables for breakfast, but that was around 0800-09.00 , when I came earlier than hat there were no issues. I had also read all the reports about credit card fraud but luckily nothing has appeared yet!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soapy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stroud
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

First visit to the US for us and I have to say I was pretty impressed with the Hotel - our apartment was spacious and clean - the actual bath/shower room was a bit small but there was a large washroom with sink and enormous mirror attached so that didnt matter, the power shower was really powerful with no lack of hot water. The kitchen - not that we used it much! was excellent with huge fridge freezer, microwave and cooker and dishwasher. The main bedroom was very comfy and the sofa bed perfectly adequate for children. The only downside was the noisy aircon but you get used to that and it didnt bother us especially as it was great to come back to a cool room after being out in the 40 degree heat. We were always up really early for the buffet breakfast which was comprehensive, I think it got busy later but we never found out.
Desert Rose is located about a 15 minute walk from the strip, although we took the car quite a bit and did the valet parking stuff, its down a quiet road with no casinos so its a great location if you cant be bothered with the "lunacy" of the strip 24/7.
The swimming pool (and jacuzzi) was fine and opened till 11 at night, I didn't go to Vegas to chill by the pool but it was nice in the evening after a hard day.
We had a ground floor apartment with a small patio in the shade which was close to the foyer but not noisy, the grounds were pleasant and kept clean. The concierge ( I forget her name) was enthusiastic and very helpful.
To allay any fears of our credit card numbers being used fraudulently we paid the $100 deposit in cash and got a receipt, no problems.
Would we stay here again, definately

Room Tip: Ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

My husband, son & daughter-in-law enjoyed a four-day stay at the Desert Rose Resort, which is easy to find & convenient to the strip. It was a welcome place to come home to at the end of each tiring day. Each room is like a mini-apartment with all the amenities you would ever need. It is also quiet, which is a blessing after the hustle & bustle of the city. The only complaint would the lack of seating in the breakfast room. Every time we went to eat breakfast, the place was overflowing with guests, which is good for the hotel but bad for fellow travelers. I have to say we never heard other guests at all - only at breakfast. We would stay again & recommend not only for the location but also the price.

Room Tip: Our room in the Building 3 on the end made it easier to get in & out without a lot of hassle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank virginiagirl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#17 of 264 in Las Vegas
1,294 reviews
Polo Towers Suites
#30 of 264 in Las Vegas
2,259 reviews
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#7 of 264 in Las Vegas
3,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Wyndham Grand Desert
Wyndham Grand Desert
#29 of 264 in Las Vegas
2,071 reviews
The Strip
Travelodge Las Vegas Airport North/Near the Strip
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#9 of 264 in Las Vegas
3,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Property: Desert Rose Resort
Address: 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#49 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#61 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Rose Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 blocks from the Las Vegas Strip, Desert Rose Resort provides you with great access to all the glitz and glam of Las Vegas along with all the gracious pleasures of a resort hotel. Settle into one and two-bedroom condo suites in Las Vegas with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable living and dining areas – all beautifully decorated with sleek, contemporary furnishings and a rich color palette. Desert Rose Resort’s pool is an oasis, a truly relaxing and refreshing hideaway – dramatically different from the crush of people at some Vegas hotels. Lucky you, Desert Rose Resort is a winning deal in Las Vegas - without stepping foot in a casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Vegas.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Rose Hotel Las Vegas
Desert Rose Las Vegas
Desert Rose Resort Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing