We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You HAVE to do this!!!!”

Las Vegas Rock Crawlers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Nevada has some of the most amazing scenic 4x4 trails that are perfect for documenting your Vegas Vacation. Don’t go home with out hitting the trail in one of our wranglers on a exciting jeep tour that will keep you pinned to your seat while you’re navigating large obstacles and sharp terrain. We do large groups, team events, family events or just yourself . Every trail will be scenic and offloading. You will not go wrong with any trail you pick. You can also rent one of our jeeps and take it to a scenic area around Vegas on your own.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This was so much fun and it was really exciting. After getting picked up at the hotel we headed out to the Nellis Sand Dunes. The morning tour was just getting back and like another reviewer wrote you could tell from the smiles and looks on their faces that this was gonna be good. The tour guide Tim (Owner) is really nice as is his wife and daughter. After a few instructions we hopped into an air conditioned jacked up Jeep and off we went.

It's right next to Nellis Air Force Base and during our time on the tour we saw multiple Air Force fighter jets flying around. You will definitely feel some adrenalin pumping while you navigate the terrain. To be honest, the first part of the tour I was a little freaked out but I settled down when I realized what these jeeps can do. My new wife was thrilled to be the passenger and didn't even want to drive when I offered to change seats. We even got to drive the jeeps back to Las Vegas after the tour was over which was pretty cool.

If you visit Las Vegas you absolutely have to go on one of these tours. It was one of most exhilarating and fun things I have ever done. I cant say enough good things about the tour and people that run it.

Thank Gregc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasVegasRockCrawlers, Tour Guides at Las Vegas Rock Crawlers, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Hello Greg and thanks for the great comments. It is pretty cool to see the fighter jets fly over while driving this terrain. It definately makes the trail more exciting than usual. That first hill usually gets the blood pumping and starts the excitement. Thanks you again for your review and looking forward to seeing you both in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 296 of 358 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

My boyfriend and I were coming to Las Vegas for a few days, from New Hampshire, and found a Groupon for this experience. My boyfriend having worked at Fort Irwin for the military, has experienced things like this before, so I thought he would find it fun.

One of the first things that struck us was just how friendly and accommodating the employees were. We discovered this was a family owned, family operated company, and that meant a lot to us. As it was summer, their kids were on board and helping out, and it was very neat to see them being so proactive. We were provided with ice cold water, and given explicit instructions to avoid any confusion.

The jeeps themselves were very clean, and looked awesome! We had a short drive out to the terrain, and then we were off. The trail they led us on was perfect for any group: it was mild enough for those who are a bit nervous about anything extreme, but it also had moments of real challenge that got your blood pumping. We were commenting on how our little one (6 years old) would have loved this excursion...even though it is exhilarating, it is slow enough for kids.

Part way through, our jeep starting making some concerning noises, so we radioed over to Tim and QuinAnn, and they stopped. They tried their best to get our jeep through the rest of the trail, but it soon became apparent that our jeep had broken an axle, and would have to be towed out. They handled it extremely professionally, and were nothing but calm and courteous, which really put us at ease. The other two jeeps teamed up, to allow us to drive another jeep out of the desert. At the end of the trail, before heading back, we hopped in to the lead jeep with QuinAnn, so Tim could take the one we were driving back out to the desert, to tow out the one we had to abandon. It was quite a day for them, I'm sure, but they were stellar hosts. Driving back with QuinAnn and her son was also a lot of fun.

Chances are, your experience won't be quite as tumultuous as ours, as this was a very rare occurrence, but rest assured, if it ever did, you would be in the best and friendliest of hands! We very highly recommend this experience. =)

Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasVegasRockCrawlers, Tour Guides at Las Vegas Rock Crawlers, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

Amy thank you for sharing your experience. Sometimes things go another way than planned. The great news is that the tour went on and everybody had a fantastic time with new friends and old friends on the trail. Timothy was excited that you remembered him and spoke of him:). The jeep is back on the road the next day and working like a charm. It was our pleasure riding with you guys back to the hotel. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Very cool adventure. Only about 30 minutes from the hotel to the trails. Lots of fun terrain and good hosts.

Thank bjody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasVegasRockCrawlers, Tour Guide at Las Vegas Rock Crawlers, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

Glad you enjoyed your experience and shared with everyone how Great it is to just get away from the strip and try something else. Thank you for the post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This company offers the most dynamic and exciting off-roading experience at the best price of all the groups I looked at. We met at the hotel and were brought out to the Nellis sand dunes, right near the Nellis air force base and met up with a group from earlier in the day, I could tell by their smiles that this was going to be a fun ride. The group leader spoke with us and another couple shortly (less than five minutes) and explained what we were going to do on the tour, how many car lengths to stay behind, and to try to follow his tracks in the sand as closely as possible to keep from getting stuck. And then we were off in a caravan of three lifted jeeps with improved shocks and suspension. This was my first time off roading and I didn't find it hard to get the hang of, one thing to note is that every rock and dip is felt. The sand felt a lot like snow to drive in and the partially deflated tires gave plenty of traction on more difficult sections. Every jeep has a radio for communication with the leader and so he can warn us of oncoming obstacles. After about two and a half hours of off roading, we returned to the start of the trails, drove to fill up the tires and get gas before returning to the hotel. This company really takes to the time to work with you and I'd recommend them to anyone as the most reasonable and most fun you can have off roading near the strip.
-M.Z.

Thank Mike Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasVegasRockCrawlers, Tour Guides at Las Vegas Rock Crawlers, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

Mike,
Hopefully we make it to Philly for those awesome Philly steak sandwiches . It was great meeting you and your girlfriend . We are so excited that you shared your experience with Trip Advisor. You did very well as a driver and handled all the different obstacles and terrain. Sounds like there is a new jeep in the future. Good luck with everything Mike. Thanks again for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Had a great time. Tim & Quinann were wonderfully hosts and guides. Jeeps are set up to handle anything thrown at them. Great range of trips from beginner to advanced. Can wait to try the expert run on our next trip! Defiantly the best thrill ride I've had in Vegas!

Thank Troy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasVegasRockCrawlers, Tour Guides at Las Vegas Rock Crawlers, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Thank you Troy for the review and letting it be known that this is the Best thrill ride in Vegas! Gotta love off roading and adventures. We are excited to take you to the expert trail. Just another jeep trail under your belt and loads of Fun. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Vegas Rock Crawlers also viewed

 

Been to Las Vegas Rock Crawlers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing