We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No need to look further!”

McGhie's Guided Bicycle and Hiking Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: McGhie's Ski, Bike and Board specializes in personalized, private road and mountain bike tours. We provide a unique experience for individuals, small groups and large corporate events. Tours include pick up and drop off at your hotel, professional guide, bicycle rental, water and basic energy food. We do not believe in a "one size fits all" tour and work hard to make your ride the highlight of your Las Vegas vacation. We are now offering hiking tours of the Red Rock National Conservation Area with the same attention to detail for our guests. It is just you and your guide who is 100% focused on providing the best experience for YOU-not you and 6 strangers. Our goal is always to make your time with McGhie's the highlight of your Las Vegas experience.
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

After reading rave reviews about Amy I decided to book a mountain bike ride. I booked 2 days before my arrival in Vegas and had no problem confirming the reservation and getting in touch with Amy.

As a road cyclist I was afraid of the rough terrain but my fears were put aside with Amys professional instruction and encouragement. On the fly we created a route to fit my ability and risk tolerance. We had so much fun!

The bikes were in great condition. I recommend upgrading to the Cannondale Scalpel. What a bike! Between the equipment and Amy I would only be successful in this endeavour!

Love the personal touch that you get with a pickup-drop off at your hotel. Makes 6am much more tolerable!

I'd recommend McGhies to anyone regardless of experience. There's lots of trails for any level. Get out there and have fun!

5  Thank Allison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vegasbike, Manager at McGhie's Guided Bicycle and Hiking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you for the great review, Alli! It was a fantastic day on the trails, made even better by your "can do" attitude and the nice cloud cover. We covered a lot of terrain and that was due to your great fitness level. There are so many layers to the desert and this enabled me to show you how different each section of the trails is from the others.
Chris does a great job in keeping the bikes in tip top condition and it was nice that you appreciated the smooth ride of the Cannondale Scalpel.
We hope you come back to ride with us again so we can show you some more of our beautiful landscape...and hopefully the donkeys will show for a photo or two!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 248 of 416 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2014

We booked a bike ride for 2 people. Amy, our amazing guide, was emailing back and forth to determine what type of ride we would like etc. Normally the bike tour would be at the Red Rock Canyon but I asked Amy to take us somewhere else since I've seen the Red Rock Canyon before. She suggested that we go to Lake Mead and the Hoover Dam. Amy brought food and enough water for us which was great cause we really needed it.

Let me emphasise that it's a PRIVATE GUIDED TOUR so it was just us and her which made it even better. Amy came to pick us up at our hotel early in the morning around 6 am to avoid the heat. She drove us to Lake Mead, setup the bikes and we rode a mining trail over looking Lake Mead, it was amazing! We stopped to take pictures and Amy added some history and facts about the Lake so it was pretty cool. We then stopped at the Hoover Dam, we got to see it from the Pat Tillman Memorial Bridge and then we biked all the way down to the Hoover Dam itself and walked across it.

I clicked on more than 3 hours for the recommended length of visit that's because we had to drive to Lake Mead. If it was to the Red Rock Canyon, I'm sure it would've been under 3 hours.

It's honestly one of the best tours or activities I've done in Las Vegas .... a must do!!!

1  Thank WK316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vegasbike, Manager at McGhie's Guided Bicycle and Hiking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thank you for your great review! Although it was really hot for our ride, the company, scenery and very interesting conversation made it an awesome day for me, too!
The excellent communication you provided made it so easy for me to plan a great ride for you. And despite not being avid cyclists, your "can do" attitude made the day perfect.
Thank you both for allowing me to ask so many questions-you have fascinating backgrounds and I loved hearing about your interesting lives. If you decide to ride on a return trip to Las Vegas, I will try to come up with something different and equally cool!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

I had to write a review to to RAVE about the awesome time I had doing a private tour with Amy @ [URL="http://mcghies.com/itemdetails.cfm?ID=3733"]McGhie's Blue Diamond Tours[/URL] in Las Vegas.

This is going to sound like a total spam, unpaid commercial, and I'm sorry for that. This is unsolicited, unpaid, no discounts, God's honest truth - IT WAS AWESOME!

I was planning to be out here for business and decided I wanted to MTB one morning. I considered renting a bike and going it alone, but, when I searched using the ole' Googler, McGhie's Trip Advisor was the top result.

The positive reviews were overwhelming. A private, guided tour? I'm a fairly experienced rider and was worried it would be a watered down snooze fest. Boy was I wrong! I decided I had to book a private tour. It wasn't that much more than renting a bike! I sent an email on the plane ride from South Beach describing myself and what I was looking to do while in Vegas. Before I landed, Amy had already responded to my email and sent me a text! We got everything squared away for my tour @ 40k feet :-D

We exchanged several texts over the days leading up. She was awesome, helping me with not only my tour, but other local recommendations, etc. We decided to meet at 5:30 am (because the low in July is only 84).

She had a nice Trek Fuel EX waiting for me with XT pedals already on. We got a little paperwork out of the way and we were on our way!

Amy tailored the ride specifically for me. She kept me from blowing myself up on the climbs and flats and let me go flat out on the 8 mile downhill section (Called Viagra - HUGE boner thrill!)

She also went ahead and took pictures, reminded me to enjoy the scenery, listened to me brag about how amazing I am - and was just a TON of FUN!

<a href="http://imgur.com/PxglyM0"><img src="http://i.imgur.com/PxglyM0l.jpg" alt="Amy on the camera, me on the bike" /></a>

<a href="http://imgur.com/DOI0lLl"><img src="http://i.imgur.com/DOI0lLll.jpg" alt="Amy taking a pic of me huffing after a big climb" /></a>

By the end of the ride, I felt like I had made a new buddy. We exchanged some jokes and hugs and I was off to get back to work (On a Saturday!)

She also recommended I hike at Red Rock Canyon and then drive all the way out to Boulder City to have dinner and wine at Milo's Cellar & Inn (where I am now - very cool place). Both were fantastic recommendations! Climbing nearly to the top of Red Rock - what a thrill!

Overall, today is a day I'll remember for a long time (maybe forever?) Thank you Amy, Thank you McGhie's for hiring Amy. She made my day, and my trip, extra special!

1  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vegasbike, Manager at McGhie's Guided Bicycle and Hiking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thank you for the amazing review! You must have used a thesaurus :)
We are all so happy that you enjoyed your day on the trails with us and appreciate the shoutout you gave us on mtbr.com, too. Don't kid yourself-I slowed you down on the climbs so I would not blow up-I think you could have shelled me at any point on the ride. But I am glad you did not as the conversation was interesting and amusing.
We locals do have favorite places that are off the beaten path in Vegas and love to share them with our new friends. I already have a few new places to recommend to you and also an interesting new mountain bike route to take you on! See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

i recently took a tour with Amy from mcghies and it was amazing! i was going to bring a second person that's not as familiar with riding and she had a tour ready for us, but since he cancelled, at the last minute she changed the tour to something a little better suited to me being an experienced daily rider and after we rode together for a short period of time she asked if i wanted to do more miles and a more technical section. i was excited to and we had one absolutely amazing time! i could tell this was less of a job and more of adventure for her, that being said she was completely professional at all times and had everything i needed including personal safety equipment, water (lots of it) and even energy bars. she's not boring either, she's a bit of a cut up and had me laughing most of the time and even gave me a history lesson on the area which i enjoyed as well. i can't wait to go back and bring friends!

2  Thank Jarred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vegasbike, Manager at McGhie's Guided Bicycle and Hiking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Thank you so much, Jarred for both the excellent review and the super fun ride! A "cut up," huh? I don't think I am ready to give up my day job! I think you made me laugh as much as I made you laugh and the selfie with the donkeys is an absolute classic.
We are ready for the DORBA posse to show up in Vegas and show those fellas the true wild side of Las Vegas. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is a terrific and relatively affordable event. These folks just like to ride bikes and like people who ride. The ride is over beautiful terrain and almost anyone can do it. We did the mountain bike and there is real terrain, elevation drops and rocks to bike over, great fun and a great workout. It was hot but we knew that going in. Our guide was Ben and he was a great guy and very good guiding us thru the trails. Cannot imagine going back to las vegas and not going back to see the folks at McGhies.

Thank Gdaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vegasbike, Manager at McGhie's Guided Bicycle and Hiking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Thank you so much for the great review! Ben is a super guide and loves to show off this hidden gem of Las Vegas. We are so happy that your tour met and exceeded expectations. It was fun to meet up with you guys on the trail-I put the photo of you guys with Ben on our McGhie's Ski, Bike and Board Bicycle Tours Facebook page, so check it out!
We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Las Vegas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGhie's Guided Bicycle and Hiking Tours also viewed

 

Been to McGhie's Guided Bicycle and Hiking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing