We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but understaffed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palms Casino Resort
Ranked #71 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This was my first time at the Palms. I love that it is off the strip so it doesn't feel as crazy. I also was there on Monday, Tuesday. The rooms were beautiful and the beds really comfortable. The only problem was we didn't have hot enough water. When I mentioned it at checkout they took off the resort fee charge. Went to the Ghost Bar which was nice but pricey drinks. The breakfast buffet was good but the service was bad. They are going through a transition so many things were not open anymore. Movie theatres are a nice convenience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,555 - 1,561 of 3,346 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

Have stayed in a number of hotels in Las Vegas, and this will not be on my list of favorites.
Positive: Nice size rooms, comfortable beds, movies theater located behind the food court. Off the strip but has a strip shuttle.
Negative: Staff is grumpy, and guests seem to be an inconvenience, don't ask questions its an interruption in their day. Pool gets locked down for a pool party, Fri & Sat so unless you want to get their early and secure a chair and enjoy booming tunes and a crowded pool full of intoxicated people spilling drinks and dropping cups and straws in the pool stay somewhere else.

We brought our price quote from our online reservation but they told us the prices were incorrect and we were charged almost $200 more for a weeks stay, as well we were charged for items used from the room snacks which we never touched...we had a vehicle and bought snacks at Walmart, much cheaper.

I would suggest the following hotels for their pools: Mirage, Monte Carlo and Tropicana (they have a swim up bar/blackjack tables at the Trop).
If you want a classy hotel and a break from the casinos and noise, try the Vdara, a little pricy but the rooms are luxurious and the staff is very friendly, close to the Bellagio so mid strip.

Room Tip: Get a room on the non pool side, then you will not hear the booming music from 0900-1800.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PAMCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at the Palms..it is a nice hotel and they are upgrading some items but not finished....rooms and casino are older but still nice...Pool is nice a little wild...recommend the Palms Place pool a little laid back...would we stay there again..yes but there are a lot of other Resorts in Vegas that I might want to check out...

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank SeaRay52SB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great value! Location was perfect and super-fun! The room was fantastic, the staff was SO friendly and helpful. LOVED the breakfast buffet - it had absolutely everything and every type of cuisine you could possibly want!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sulin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

When we first arrived they put us in a room in Ivory tower which was nice with all the amenities, comfortable bedding and so on, then we decided we wanted to check out Palm's place which is accessible via an indoor walkway. The room was really nice with bigger bathroom and a kitchenette, more condo like and the walk to casino is about 10 minutes. The main pool as others have stated is young, loud and expect to get patted down guys but also fun, the pool at Place is a little quieter more family style with kids. As far as food we ate at 24/7 which was pretty good rest of the time were at other places in Vegas.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Check-in was fast, efficient and courteous. However, the smell of smoke was over whelming even with my first steps into the hotel.

During the weekend the hotel pool was filled with young people who were having a great time. I am not used to being patted down before I go for a swim, but security was polite and the experience not too onerous. The pool was less busy during the week.

If you are not under twenty nine, the music being played in the pool area may not be for you and as the afternoon progressed the music became louder and louder.

The rooms are comfortable and clean, but a bit dark, the air-conditioning is quiet and efficient. Don't plan to nap if you have a room above the pool on a weekend. The music will vibrate the windows.

I wanted to use the gym and was pointed to the fitness center in the old tower. Only when I was checking out did someone tell me they have a very good gym in the Ivory Tower. I was also told then that the pool below the Ivory Tower is much more over thirty friendly.

The breakfast restaurant offers a great variety of well present and tasty foods. Everything is fresh and hot. Service was very good.

The 24/seven restaurant fights above its weight and the food there was really very good. Service was excellent.

Poolside food was average, but again the service was excellent.

My biggest and only real complain was the smell of smoke that just doesn't seem too be drawn efficiently from the casino area and even the conference rooms on the floor above the casino stunk of smoke.

Room Tip: Stay in the Ivory Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LeeTSMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The rooms are very nice and I like the location. Easy access to everything in Vegas, but you won't want to leave the Palms as they have everything you need and want right at the one location!!

Stayed here two weekends in June. On the second weekend, we were put in a room in the Fantasy Tower which was a really nice room with a fantastic view! However, the A/C was not working properly and the room would not get cool. They sent repairmen to fix it and they said it was working but the room just wouldn't cool off to my satisfaction. When we contacted the front desk we were initially told they were sold out and they were unable to move us. However, we called them again in the evening when it was obvious to us the room wasn't cooling off and they moved us to a beautiful corner room with floor to ceiling windows and a fantastic view of the strip! WOW!!!

I would highly recommend this hotel/casino to anyone visiting Las Vegas!!

Room Tip: Either side of the hotel has great views but if you can snag a corner room you will have sweeping vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonMilwaukeeWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
0.3 mi away
Palms Place Hotel and Spa
Palms Place Hotel and Spa
#78 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,444 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel and Casino Las Vegas
2.4 mi away
Renaissance Las Vegas Hotel
Renaissance Las Vegas Hotel
#69 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gold Coast Hotel and Casino
Gold Coast Hotel and Casino
#76 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,730 reviews
1.6 mi away
Signature at MGM Grand
Signature at MGM Grand
#11 of 263 in Las Vegas
12,776 reviews
1.7 mi away
Platinum Hotel and Spa
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#7 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palms Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palms Casino Resort

Address: 4321 West Flamingo Road, Las Vegas, NV 89103-3903 (Formerly The Palms Casino Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#30 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#31 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#51 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#52 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#57 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: $79 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palms Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 702
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palms Casino Resort, heralded as one of Las Vegas' most sought-after destinations, is an all-encompassing, one-stop experience. Opened in 2001, the boutique property boasts three distinct towers and a diverse mix of bars and restaurants across a 95,000-square-foot casino. Palms is in the midst of a property-wide renovation, having renovated its Ivory Tower guestrooms, the redesigned Race and Sports Book, the iconic N9NE Steakhouse and suave Ghostbar, named “Best Lounge” by Nightclub & Bar Magazine in 2014. Other amenities include the popular Fantasy Suites, such as the Hardwood Suite, the only hotel room in the world with its own basketball court, and the Pearl Concert Theater, Las Vegas’ leading concert venue; Nove Italiano; the Michelin-starred Alize; Lao Sze Chuan, an authentic Chinese cuisine restaurant by renowned Chicago chef Tony Hu; Cafe 6, a contemporary take on American comfort food classics; the world’s largest Hooters; Drift Spa & Hammam; Brenden Theatres, a 14-theatre Cineplex; three swimming pool environments, and more than 60,000 square-feet of meeting space. Palms Casino Resort is located just west of the center of the Las Vegas Strip off I-15 on Flamingo Road and offers free shuttle service to The Strip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Vegas.com, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Palms Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel Las Vegas
The Palms Las Vegas
Palms Las Vegas
Playboy Hotel Las Vegas
Palms Hotel Las Vegas
Palms Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing