We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“9th Time in Vegas, 9 hotels, just stay on the strip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palms Casino Resort
Ranked #62 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“9th Time in Vegas, 9 hotels, just stay on the strip”
Reviewed May 15, 2008

I just stayed at the Palms and it was an ok hotel. I went to Vegas with my 22yr old son and he liked this hotel a lot. I am of course older and felt just a tad out of my place. The price of the room and a view of the pool I wasn't complaining. Drab decor though. Went to Alize and was absolutely the best food I have ever had in Vegas. Ate at buffet ok, Garduno's wasn't impressed, 24/7 was fine for a quick bite, don't forget they have a food court and MCD's is always an option. But the best is Blue Agave for a margarita. Only thing I didn't like was they charged me a $1.00 a day to have a phone in my room that I never used, and also a damage/room deposit of a $100/day. I tried twice at check in and out to figure out what this deposit was for actually and was only told that it would be discharged from my credit card in 72hrs after I checked out of the hotel. Check in was a snap and so was check out. I was not impressed with the hired help at the front desk. The Bell boys were making crude comments to me when I gave the one guy who brought out my luggage his $1 tip. I only gave them one dollar because my son had one suitcase and I had a suitcase and a carry on. I had piggy backed my carry on to my suitcase, and when the suitcases came out my carry on was on my son's suitcase and not on mine. OH, you think they went through my cases. Yeah, I figured that too. I liked the casino here but the waitresses were a pain. They didn't help women I noticed, but the men got all the attention in the world.

  • Liked — Confortable beds
  • Disliked — Unfair fees
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,448
    983
    428
    220
    189
See reviews for
353
1,161
241
446
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (843)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2008

We stayed at the Palms for three nights at the beginning of May 2008. There were several reasons why we decided on the hotel...1) The group we were traveling with had already booked their rooms 2) The nightlife 3) The pool.

CHECK IN:
Check in was painless. We were fortunate to meet DJ at the front desk who was extremely friendly and informative. He provided us with passes to the nightclubs and even upgraded our room to the Fantasy Tower superior. Our flight arrived early and we were checked in by 1 PM.

ROOM:
The superior room in the fantasy tower was nice. LCD TV, nice bathroom with jacuzzi tub, and two double beds. One of the beds was actually broken and in horrible shape. After going back down to the front desk and advising the staff of the problem , the bed was replaced within a few hours. It was extremely comfortable and wasn't a big deal. They gave us the option to change rooms, but it wasn't worth it after already unpacking.

POOL:
The pool area at the Palms is nice. We went everyday and the best day was definately Friday (Ditch Friday). Packed with people, yet alot of fun. Service was mediocre at best and I found some of the bartenders so overwhelmed that they were nasty to some of the people waiting. If you don't go on Friday, there are less people.

CASINO:
Very small with not enough tables. We gambled at the other casinos more than the Palms. Mediocre dealers at the Palms and absolutely no excitement here.

RESTAURANTS:
We had dinner at Nove Italiano and it was excellent from the food to the service. Worth the money. We also dined at the restaurant "24/7" and it easily had the worst service I've received at a restaurant in five (yes 5) years. SLOW, SLOWER, SLOWEST. Every customer in there was obviously upset and I can't see how they survive on tips. There is also a food court at the Palms with your average fast food and a coffee shop serving three dollar coffee (per cup). Not even Starbucks.

NIGHTCLUBS:
I think many people travel to the Palms for the nightlife. Well, look elsewhere, the Palms has been left behind by all the clubs on the strip. Ghostbar was cool with a view , but the guy to girl ratio is 65/35 and the drinks were about 10 a pop. Wouldn't care about the price, but the place just has a view now. Not that fun. We also witnessed a girl's purse and camera get jacked from her table when she got up for a few minutes. Security came and tried to rectify the situation. They found out who took the items but DID NOT throw the dude out. Come on. As for Moon. Again, nice view and same price on drinks. At least here you get a dance floor and a retractable roof. Other than that, pretty lame. Playboy Club was cool if you like a lounge type place. It's really nice but more like a place to gamble, smoke cigars and sip scotch while you take in the atmosphere. Last but not least Rain. I remember Rain three years ago when it was one of the best clubs in Vegas. Now? Easily one of the worst. Guy/Girl ratio was 80/20 (scary). Thankfully we had comp admission and did not have to wait on the line b/c the place....sucked. The Palms can no longer compete with the newer clubs/bars elsewhere in Vegas.

CHECK OUT
Just a few notes here. Our flight was departing very late so I asked if we could check out three hours past normal time, understanding that they couldn't let us stay too long. I figured a nominal fee but got a quote of $250.00 for the extra three (yes 3) hours. I also noticed some extra charges on our room bill for things from the in room bar that we never took. They were removed.

SUMMARY
The Palms is your average off the strip hotel. It's all hype that they have been living off of since 2004. If you go, stop by for DItch Fridays at the pool or have dinner at Nove Italiano. Stay away from the clubs unless you like to party with all men. There are so many other places to go in Vegas and the hotel is not convenient nor is it what it used to be. Horrible hotel? No. Mediocre with few bright spots, yes. I don't intend on returning.

  • Liked — Nove Italiano
  • Disliked — Nightlife
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NJtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis, tennessee
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2008

Amazing place. Everything you need all in one spot. If you are ever in the area this place is a MUST. It is a little pricey but it is really worth every penny. I probably wouldnt recommend for children or wives but perfect spot for singles and young or older travelers who like to have a good time.

  • Liked — beautiful people
  • Disliked — price was a little too high but worth it and they do have romantic rooms also
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjauvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, NM
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2008

Awful hotel. Nice party site but not a place to stay. Rooms are aout the quality of and size of a 2 star hotel. Every night we could hear normal conversation and traffic from the streat. We were on the 16th floor. The casino was dark and uninvting. There really wasn't anything enjoyable about the hotel as a place to stay.

  • Disliked — Walls paper thin. Could hear and smelleverything coming from other rooms.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Coyote_Traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England, USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2008

Stayed for 5 nights in April 2008 for a business trip. Check in and out was very smooth. Room very spacious, clean and comfortable. Lots of security. No balcony but good view of the mountains. Excellent toiletries including toothpaste, deodorant, etc. Food was very expensive - $2.50 for a soda in the mini bar and meals at the restaurants in the $40+ range. This hotel is for the elite young partying crowd, not for average people on vacation. There was constant loud contemporary music playing everywhere. People were very dressed up (like in a fashion magazine) all times of the day.

It is a mile from the strip so you have to take a taxi for $11 each way (no sidewalks to walk to it). Pool area is small....I did not use it but others complained that there was no place to lounge. The casino is not very spacious and full of smokers...both cigarettes and cigars. There was no escape from the smoke as the reception area and several restaurants are a few feet from the border of the casino.

The hotel has free valet parking which was very efficient. Every employee that I came in contact with was very professional and friendly.

Although the accomodations were fine, I would not stay here again due to the location and atmosphere.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — Location and atmosphere
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ShareTravelInfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2008

Unless you are 21-25 and are into the club scene, save your money!!! The hotel is the furthest away from the strip, the casino is a joke (run by kids) and the minimum bets are twice what they are at nicer casinos like the Bellagio and MGM. My wife and I were kept awake until 4AM by a party going on in the room next to us, and all the front desk could was to put us on hold! The staff are just as young and rude as the partiers that turn the resort into a loud, dressed-up frat party. I do not understand what resort these reviewers are referring to--but it can't possibly be the same Palms we stayed at. Save your money and stay at the Bellagio, Paris, Monte Carol, MGM, or the Venetian. The Palms "took us" for $1400 and we never gambled a dime there.

  • Liked — The bed was nice and soft
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mckayjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2008

This hotel is perfect for the party goers...I absolutely do not recommend this hotel to families or anyone looking for a romantic getaway...The Palms pool is the place to be during the day, people are still partying from the night before and the music is pumped to the max and will get anyone going...There were 7 girls in our group and we had the best time ever!!! Just a tip, if you want to get a seat at the pool go down early and try and reserve some, otherwise they're all gone by 10am and you'll have to stand around...The service was great, absolutely no complaints at all...Rooms are spacious, clean, and fairly modern...If you have a chance book a diner at N9NE Steakhouse, the food is amazing!!! Trust me the menu has more of a seafood selection than steak...best lobster bisque ever!!!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Curlytopt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Palms Place Hotel and Spa
#80 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,393 reviews
Hard Rock Hotel and Casino
#79 of 263 in Las Vegas
8,419 reviews
The LINQ Hotel & Casino
#78 of 263 in Las Vegas
7,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
SLS Las Vegas Hotel & Casino
Signature at MGM Grand
#13 of 263 in Las Vegas
12,513 reviews
Renaissance Las Vegas Hotel
#66 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palms Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palms Casino Resort

Property: Palms Casino Resort
Address: 4321 West Flamingo Road, Las Vegas, NV 89103-3903 (Formerly The Palms Casino Hotel)
Location: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#27 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#28 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#51 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#52 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#57 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palms Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 702
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palms Casino Resort, heralded as one of Las Vegas' most sought-after destinations, is an all-encompassing, one-stop experience. Opened in 2001, the boutique property boasts three distinct towers and a diverse mix of bars and restaurants across a 95,000-square-foot casino. Palms is in the midst of a property-wide renovation, having renovated its Ivory Tower guestrooms, the redesigned Race and Sports Book, the iconic N9NE Steakhouse and suave Ghostbar, named “Best Lounge” by Nightclub & Bar Magazine in 2014. Other amenities include the popular Fantasy Suites, such as the Hardwood Suite, the only hotel room in the world with its own basketball court, and the Pearl Concert Theater, Las Vegas’ leading concert venue; Nove Italiano; the Michelin-starred Alize; Lao Sze Chuan, an authentic Chinese cuisine restaurant by renowned Chicago chef Tony Hu; Cafe 6, a contemporary take on American comfort food classics; the world’s largest Hooters; Drift Spa & Hammam; Brenden Theatres, a 14-theatre Cineplex; three swimming pool environments, and more than 60,000 square-feet of meeting space. Palms Casino Resort is located just west of the center of the Las Vegas Strip off I-15 on Flamingo Road and offers free shuttle service to The Strip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Vegas.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palms Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel Las Vegas
The Palms Las Vegas
Palms Las Vegas
Playboy Hotel Las Vegas
Palms Hotel Las Vegas
Palms Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing