We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Course - A little tight”

Desert Pines Golf Club
Ranked #100 of 226 Outdoor Activities in Las Vegas
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We invite you to experience the Carolina sandhills, tucked away minutes from the Las Vegas Strip, in the historic part of Las Vegas. As you begin your Vegas golf round at Desert Pines Golf Club Las Vegas, you will feel transported from the closed-in casinos and overpowering glitz to a place where you can enjoy the fresh, calming scent of real pine trees. This Dye-designed golf course features over 4,000 mature pine trees lining the fairways with green grass running from tees to pins. White sand bunkers protect large, undulating, bent grass greens fashioned after those at Augusta National Golf Club. Although there are no forced carries, four lakes will add to the excitement and beauty of your round. Spanning more than 50 hitting stations, the Practice Center is ideal for a pre-round warm-up or a stop to practice your swing. The two-level facility is covered, to protect from rain and sunlight, and features misters during summer months and heaters during the winter for ultimate comfort and enjoyment. Extended hours allow flexibility for golfers, with closing times at 11 p.m. The Snack Bar offers the delicious food served, situated conveniently next to the 10th tee box and within walking distance to the parking lot, the Practice Center provides a chance to perfect your game.
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Well maintained and great service like all Walter's Golf properties. Only knock is that the course is a little tight... Would recommend it based on the service, course quality and price. Solid Course.

Thank kylehauber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"pro shop"
in 22 reviews
"driving range"
in 19 reviews
"in great shape"
in 18 reviews
"narrow fairways"
in 9 reviews
"rental clubs"
in 8 reviews
"pete dye"
in 4 reviews
"beverage cart"
in 4 reviews
"tees"
in 12 reviews
"bunker"
in 5 reviews
"callaway"
in 3 reviews
"shot"
in 10 reviews
"woods"
in 2 reviews
"las"
in 14 reviews
"vegas"
in 39 reviews
"strip"
in 18 reviews
"xr"
in 2 reviews
"rounds"
in 4 reviews
Filter

54 - 58 of 145 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2014

I was recently in Las Vegas celebrating a birthday with family and wanted to get a round of golf in. Since staying at the Venetian, we decided to book at this property and try to take advantage of any rate specials they might have for my son and I.

We teed off just after 8 am, and with rental clubs for each of us, it was approx $300 to golf. Not a terrific price for sure - but a lot worse out there. We were also attracted to this site as only 15 mins away from Vegas - so we wouldn't have to kill the day and still spend some time with the rest of the family in the afternoon.

The course is in nice condition and not unreasonably long. Our round included some warm up balls at the range - and it was nice to test the Calloway X2 irons and drivers before hitting the course. The set even included a couple of trouble woods.

The course is fairly narrow - there are some fairways where the hitting zone might only be 20 yards wide. So accuracy is at a premium. Many holes will allow for an errant shot - you may have to hit from the scrub or another fairway - but still doable. Other holes punish you for a bad hit with water features, bushes or out of bounds. The greens were quick and often the holes seemed to be on small slopes - you needed to make a good putt to score well.

There is no GPS on the cart, and the sprinkler heads are sometimes marked, sometimes not. Being able to accurately assess yardage just by looking at the green would be a strong skill here.

But all in all - a good experience and we were able to golf 18 in about 4 hours - which is an excellent pace.

2  Thank harvman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This is a beautiful course. We played early one morning and had plenty of time to play and were not rushed at all. I'm a beginner player and enjoyed the course. Everyone we came into contact with was very nice also.

1  Thank JandJ618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

First off this is a beautiful course kept in great shape. the tee boxes, fairways and greens all top notch. We only had 3 issues with the course. 1st is that you really need to hot your tee shot straight as the holes are very narrow. You can get into trouble very easily. Balls were easy to find when they went off fairway but not a lot of forgiveness. But that isn't problem as long as you are ok with that.

2nd is we saw the breakfast sandwich before heading out from the kitchen and it looked great. So we were excited when on 9tee box there was a phone and menu to call in an order. We were out early so we ordered breakfast sandwhiches and were dissapointed to find that these were microwaved egg and sausage biscuits pre-packaged and not the homemade ones from the kitchen.

3rd issue is we had the more ignorant thing happen to us we have ever encountered on a golf course. Coming up the 9th fairway there were some workers with chainsaws cutting down some branches and stumps just off the fairway. Our drives rolled right down to about 10 feet from where they were working and they looked at us and continued with their chainsaws. We yelled at them and asked them to stop for a minute until we hit our shots and one guy actually just stood there and revved it louder and louder not even cutting anything. Of course we told the marshal and he apologized but it tainted to round at that point. Rudest thing we have experienced on a course. Other than those it was a beautiful place to golf. We probably would not return as the fairways are a little to narrow for our skill level but shouldn;t deter others who are a bit better than us.

2  Thank Hoops00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaltersGolfMGT, Manager at Desert Pines Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Hello Sir or Mam,

We deeply appreciate that you took the time to write this sincere review. First and foremost we are glad you enjoyed the conditions and could handle the narrow fairways. We agree, balls from errant shots are easy to find, but difficult to play especially if they end up in the drink.

We are dismayed that the contractors on site, were not respectful of your golf game. Moving forward we will brief any third parties on site to demonstrate good golf etiquette even while they work.

For breakfast sandwiches, Duffer's makes a great breakfast sandwich; however the snack bar does not. The call in system on the ninth goes straight to the snack bar, which caused the issue. Because of your review, we're going to work to coordinate the efforts of the snack bar and Duffer's better, so you can get a fresh breakfast sandwich even via a snack bar order.

Thank you for the feedback, we're extremely glad you visited us, and appreciate how insightful your comments were. It's truly giving us the opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Nathan Corliss
Desert Pines Golf Club and Walters Golf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The course was great, deffinetely worth it, but the customer service did not match the course. I understand there are policies, but there are also out of the norm situations. I booked a tee time for 3 but instead of having everyone call to set it up separetly I did it for all. Unfortunetely the other 2 had their flight delayed so only I showed up. I was still charged for the three green fees. I understand if none of us showed up to be charged, but I came straight from airport to make the tee time and they would not budge. What happened with making the customer happy.

2  Thank Ugueto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desert Pines Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Desert Pines Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing