We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well Manicured, But Tight” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desert Pines Golf Club

Desert Pines Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We invite you to experience the Carolina sandhills, tucked away minutes from the Las Vegas Strip, in the historic part of Las Vegas. As you begin your Vegas golf round at Desert Pines Golf Club Las Vegas, you will feel transported from the closed-in casinos and overpowering glitz to a place where you can enjoy the fresh, calming scent of real pine trees. This Dye-designed golf course features over 4,000 mature pine trees lining the fairways with green grass running from tees to pins. White sand bunkers protect large, undulating, bent grass greens fashioned after those at Augusta National Golf Club. Although there are no forced carries, four lakes will add to the excitement and beauty of your round. Spanning more than 50 hitting stations, the Practice Center is ideal for a pre-round warm-up or a stop to practice your swing. The two-level facility is covered, to protect from rain and sunlight, and features misters during summer months and heaters during the winter for ultimate comfort and enjoyment. Extended hours allow flexibility for golfers, with closing times at 11 p.m. The Snack Bar offers the delicious food served, situated conveniently next to the 10th tee box and within walking distance to the parking lot, the Practice Center provides a chance to perfect your game.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Well Manicured, But Tight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This course, with regard to the competitive layout, is a very good challenge to one's golfing skills. The cerebral player will enjoy the test of the proper club selection, whereas a "driver" off of the tee box might not necessarily be the most prudent selection. The staff was polite and effective. The downside to playing this course, IMHO, is twofold; (1) with the course layout being "squeezed" into a specific plot of land, within the city limits, errant shots from adjacent fairways can make for some dangerous play, This was personally witnessed on several holes, and (2) when we played golf at Desert Pines (mid-Oct 2012), there was quite the eclectic mix of golfers, that is to say, the variety of people playing golf, ranged from the avid golfer to the foreigner who barely played the game, thus you might be in for a slower than normal round depending on any given day there. The Golf Shop has a nice variety of apparel offered.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jakuchis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    39
    11
    13
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
461 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“One of the best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I've played this course over 50x & have never left a review.
Course is well maintained, the fees are reasonable & overall a great value.
Course usually plays quick.
Nice views of downtown.
They are renovating their driving range right now- so don't count on it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank VicandFawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Wow! I'm a beginner but even I could see how great this course is!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We booked online two days before we visited Desert Pines on the advice of a guy we got chatting to in the Adidas store on the Strip and he earnt lots of gold stars for it!

From the second we arrived we were made to feel important. We had a quick breakfast of omelettes which came with toast and little fried potato cubes and it was all lovely,

We hired clubs and a buggy as part of our package and were more or less sent straight out even though our tee time wasn't for another hour or so as they weren't busy. We had a go on the putting green but the driving range is closed for remodelling so we weren't able to use this.

The course itself has a back drop of the Redrock mountains and downtown Vegas which was beautful and I imagine is a great backdrop for the night golf they do too.

There is a small lake with fish in on one hole and various rock formations and pretty aesthtices everywhere plus the greens are immaculate! Even the rough is better than ours back home. It was an absolute pleasure to go round this course even in the 104 degree heat (there are water coolers strategically placed at every 2-3 holes and at least two rest rooms throughout the 18 holes.

When we'd finished, they were even kind enough to call us a cab back to our hotel!

Would recommend this for those golfers who are not complete novices/beginners as it's quite tough but the average golfer should find it challenging but not too hard.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

A group of 10 of us went on a Stag do to Vegas in June 2013 and 5 of us decided to play here and we all loved it. The greens and fairways are immaculately kept and even the rough looks good! The greens are something special - pretty fast, absolutely massive and very difficult which makes it a real challenge but they are great fun!

The people are great - not stuffy like you get at a lot of courses in England with excellent customer service. We hired clubs and they were great - brand new Callaways!

I've played some really nice courses both in England and abroad but value for money this has to be the best I've played and if I ever go back to Vegas I will be making a trip here and calling up the enthusiastic Ross to book a tee time!

Cheers guys and hopefully see you again!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good golf course”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Played a family tournament here in early June 2013. Of the three Walters properties I think this is the best course. Royal Links is fun and is worth a play and Bali Hai is the most resorty, but Pines offers the most golf interest. Bali Hai is very convenient if your staying at the bottom of The Strip. Royal Links and Desert Pines are a little further out and cabs take a while to get to you after play. Loved the Carolina feel at Pines with railroad ties and dogleg fairways. Greens were a challenge but true. Staff were professional and helpful. With a bit of planning you can secure good rates at all of these courses.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank cabdrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desert Pines Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Desert Pines Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing