We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Against what all golf should be measured”

Shadow Creek Golf Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Designed by Tom Fazio, this magnificent 18-hole championship course is characterized by sparkling creeks, towering waterfalls and lush gardens, all of which are framed by commanding mountains.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Against what all golf should be measured”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I played Shadow Creek last year just prior to Michael Jordan's tournament. It was in a word, SPECTACULAR! The service was great, our caddie excellent, and the course is without peer. Each and every hole is worthy of a camera shot, and kept in pristine condition. Very expensive but you do experience some value when pace of play is brisk, clubhouse and locker room is luxorious and service phenomenal. I will play again.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank barler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    9
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hunt Valley, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Off the Hook!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Shadow Creek was the best golf experience of my life, and I have been privileged to play many highly ranked courses. The service went beyond exceptional, the course is perfect, and the caddies were great. Pricey, but they pick you up at your hotel and bring you to the course. Very, very private experience. If you don't mind dropping a wad on golf, Shadow Creek is a lifetime experience.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Shadow Creek, classic vegas-like experience”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Having played Shadow Creek and most of the other courses in LV, SC is by far the best course in town- both for the golf course and the experience. First, the course is beautiful and very challenging with it's water hazards, deep bunkering, very fast undulating greens, and rolling terrain where level lies are rare. It is not USGA rated, but from the 6500 yd tees, I would estimate it to be a 72.5/73.0 with a slope of 135-140. So plenty of course for the serious golfer.

The experience is like that of a very private and exclusive club. True, it can be crowded at times which is why I generally go on a weekday and stay away from big events in town. If you try to go during March Madness, or Super Bowl week, it's going to be crowded since it serves clients from at least 8 MGM hotels. But if you go at a non-crowded time( and you can call and ask them) you will be one of perhaps 10 groups on the entire course, especially if you tee off early in the morning - just your group and the caddie. The locker room will be empty, the attendents will be serving you and your needs only, your shoes will get cleaned right away, etc.

Yes it is pricey but it is very Vegas-like in that way. A woodlands-type course in the middle of the desert, totally manufactured complete with the man-made (but natural looking) water features and imported pheasants. But it is such a unique experience from the limo ride out, to the relaxed and quiet atmosphere, to the unique holes and great service. Should be done once by those who love golf- just choose the time so you get the maximum experience, when it is least busy.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank dw732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Course...”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The good…The course was absolutely amazing.

The bad…The head golf pro with family and friend pushed us and golf lessons in front of us caused delays. The course was unfortunately overcrowded and some of it was self-induced by employees. I think employees shouldn't be playing with friends/family or giving course lessons when you have people spending a lot of money on a busy weekend (Sun Nov 4th).

Wynn Country club wasn’t as nice but much better managed/run!

Pro’s: Course was amazing... just ensure it is not too crowded.

Cons: People brought Jambox’es for the carts, and had the music cranked up. Not very classy for such a top golf resort. Had to skip holes to overcome the 30 minute wait a hole.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank docuwize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must play course”
Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

I live in Florida and to come out and play this beautiful course with mountains in the back ground and streams an lakes was great I would like to thank the MGM grand for having my friends and I out for the game

Gunnar

Helpful?
2 Thank Nikijo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shadow Creek Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Shadow Creek Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing