We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tour, lots of info!”

Dean Outdooor Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$108.99*
and up
Personally-Guided Hoover Dam Expedition Tour
Ranked #78 of 236 Tours in Las Vegas
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dean Outdoor Adventures is a small group, personally guided tour company that offers tours to Hoover Dam, Grand Canyon National Park (south rim) and our all new Mountain Biking Tour. We take pride in our small group adventures so that you may enjoy the intimacy our tours provide. We take no more than 10 people per vehicle on any of our excursions so that your time is well spent! Our tours are about experiencing your destination, and not just about visiting them. Find out for yourself why Dean Outdoor is not just another tour company.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Barrie, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Tour, lots of info!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Found Dean here on trip advisor and so glad we did! Booked a Hoover Dam tour, Pick up was exactly on time, Dean was friendly, incredibly knowledgeable and accommodating. Terrific insight into the areas history on the trip to the Dam, out of Vegas and thru Boulder City visited the McCallum-Tillman bridge, again great information. Hoover Dam tour was interesting and fun. Dean dropped us off back on the strip wherever we wanted. Highly recommend Dean and his company, worth the money, way better than the large bus tours, hands down! See you next time Dean, and thanks again for a great day!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KP1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    5
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“EXCELLENT TOUR!!!!!!!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Chose Dean Outdoor becouse of the great reviews and was not disappointed. Very informative and learned so much about Nevada. Our family loved the small group experience as we were taken care of the entire time. Clean vehicle, on time, great guide.......a great half day tour!

Helpful?
Thank bett125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, ON
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hoover Dam Tour”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Fabulous time. Turns out we were the only two booked to go on this particular day, and in hindsight, I would have expected to be bumped to another day since we also booked at the last minute. To Deans credit, he showed up bright eyed and bushy tailed (haha) and off we went for a great half day tour of the dam, and just as interesting, was the tour about Vegas, Boulder City and Nevada in general we got on the drive down and on the drive back. I loved it, and would totally recommend this to anyone else interested in getting off the strip for a little bit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank DonSmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean V, Owner at Dean Outdooor Adventures, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Not in responce to review. Cannot correct listing classification. Listed under Activities/Adventure. Should be Activities/Sigtseeing tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dean Outdoor Adventures to the Hoover Dam”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a copy of the e-mail I sent to Dean Tours on the 5th of January 2013, so read on.

Now this is going to sound a bit wierd, but I'm e-mailing you to thank you for the fantastic day trip to the Hoover Dam on the 24th of April 2011. Yes that's right, 2011!!!

I thought that my wife had done it and she thought I had!

Anyway, we had an absolutely fantastic time being driven and shown around by Dirk (see attached picture), who is a true gent (no pun intended) and really made us feel welcome and special. In fact by the end of the day it was as if we'd known him for years. The trip was especially good because we were the only ones on it, a real personal service!

I can only thank you and all your staff , but especially Dirk once again, and hope you carry on with every success in the future.

With the very best of regards and good wishes for the New Year.

Rob Gent

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bandid0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Personalized, Thorough Tour of Hoover Dam/Boulder City”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Went on this tour on a Friday morning in early december. We got picked up in the vdara back parking garage by dean in a 15-passenger van at 730am sharp. We only had 2 people in our group, so we got an extra personalized tour since it was just us 2 and dean.

On the way to hoover dam, dean was kind of enough to take a small detour to visit the famous las vegas sign south of mandalay bay before it got busy. we took pictures in front of the sign. (note: this stop was a bonus stop since we had a small group and it was not busy).

Then we drove south to boulder city to start our tour. Dean gave us a very detailed history behind boulder city and the importance it played in housing construction workers for the hoover dam.

We stopped to take pictures in boulder city to get a view of lake mead and at the pat tillman bypass bridge. Once we got hoover dam, dean dropped us off at the front and we took the official hoover dam tour inside the power plant (only federal guides are allowed inside the dam, private guides are not allowed inside). After the tour ended, dean picked us up and drove us back to vdara around 1230pm.

Total cost per person was ~$70-$80/person. Allow approximately 5-6 hours for the tour depending on traffic.

I would recommend the morning tour since the sites were not as crowded and you can stop at more places. Afternoon tours will see more tour groups and you may not enjoy the sites as much due to the crowds.

I would bring limited amount of valuables or carry them on you as the only other option is the lock them in dean's van while stepping out for pictures and sightseeing. bathrooms are available at the viewing sites.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carmen1318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dean Outdooor Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Dean Outdooor Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing