We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of Wicked Spoon

Wicked Spoon
Ranked #154 of 4,825 Restaurants in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
175 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I liked the selection of unusual dishes such as duck raviloi with pumpkin sauce. I did not like the price.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MJSpock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,959
    1,485
    628
    224
    124
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level Contributor
314 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“It all looks AMAZING but little tastes as good as it looks”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We ate at the four big buffets in a week (Bellagio (****), Wynn (*****), Bacchanal at Caesar's (*****) and here. We went for dinner, which was quite expensive. You can't go for a late lunch here and benefit from the dinner selection. We did our standard walk round everything and came to the conclusion that from first looks, this was the best buffet of the lot. Unfortunately, things went downhill from here. Lets start with some good things: sushi was good, salad selection fine, prawns with cheddar mash excellent, Asian dishes were interesting, and the ice creams were impressive. But there were real problems... serving everything in little dishes meant that most food was luke warm at best. It's no surprise, since if it's to be hot, the dish will then be hot and someone will sue them. So there is a fatal flaw...the food is not hot enough. Then there are problems with dishes... the scallop potatoes were under-cooked (picked out in another review so not for the first time), delicious oysters were ruined by being deep fried, the calamari had too much batter, the person carving meats was struggling and the beef was tough and the lamb tasted a little strange. Some of the puddings were inedible (chocolate mousse with raspberry on top tasted so artificial I'm sure it has never seen a cocoa been) and others were just disappointing compared to how they looked. Does the Wicked Spoon really merit a 'poor' rating? Only when compared to the other buffets in town - if you only ate here, I'm sure you'd say it was good. Of our eating experiences it was the worst of the four by some way.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 5_9_2_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent buffet with more of a restaurant ambience”
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

For $36 p/p incl soft drinks, wicked spoon buffet was wicked value. We were impressed with the restaurant 'feel' of this place - it doesn't feel like you're in none of those Vegas type buffet place where food is manhandled and patrons are just a number.
Overall quality and range of food was excellent. They had everything from antipasto to Asian stir fry. The roast prime ribs were cooked to perfection & delicious and the snow crabs were fresh and sweet. There was a big range of deserts and I was particularly pleased to see real scoop ice cream on offer and not just the soft serve confectionary stuff.
I ordinarily hate buffets but really enjoyed this one. The service was outstanding with dirty dishes cleared at lightening speed and drinks continually refilled. For $45, you can also get unlimited red & white wine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollytd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

A lot of hype for an average buffet. The desserts were good but the rest was fairly typical. Cheap enough at $22 for brunch on a weekday.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank streetfighter1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not your Average Vegas Buffet”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Wicked Spoon has been hyped up for some time as the buffet to redefine buffets. Let me just say that you should believe the hype.

Wicked Spoon flips the buffet concept on its head with the little portions of a huge variety of incredible dishes. Everything you could imagine on a buffet is there but it’s so much better. My favorite dishes included the gnocci, the salmon, the cheese bar which was awesome and the dessert area where at that point my eyes were definitely bigger than my belly. Sure it’s a little more than pricey than other Vegas buffets but trust me – you get what you pay for. Perfect for a pre-theatre dinner (because you can control and manage your time without waiting on servers etc.) do Wicked Spoon and then a show and you have the start of a perfect Vegas evening.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JazzyCazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wicked Spoon also viewed

 

Been to Wicked Spoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing