We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Refreshing time-out from the Vegas Strip”

Grand Canyon by One Day Tours
Ranked #13 of 235 Tours in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We specialize in small group tours 14 people or less in a Mercedes Sprinter. We go to both the West Rim (Glass Skywalk)and South Rim (Grand Canyon National Park) of the Grand Canyon and give you your own time there. Having done this business for awhile, some do not want the traditional "hold your hand tour" and wish to do as they please. The ride there and back is comfortable in leather reclining seats, USB charging ports and outlets in every row. Avoid the crowded buses, ride in luxury.
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Refreshing time-out from the Vegas Strip”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Took a three-hour afternoon trip with Red Rock Canyon Tours in Nov 2012 - very pleasant outing and would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting a quick brush with nature. At first sight I was maybe a little bit underwhelmed - I think I was expecting a smaller version of the Grand Canyon, and Red Rock is more a large valley - but it is still beautiful. Tom, the guide, was enthusiastic and knowledgeable and is a likeable, easygoing guy. The Mercedes van is new and comfortable. Bottled water and a light snack is included in the price, and there are walking sticks for those who want to use them. All round, very good value for $59, I thought.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gaviano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    641
    24
    3
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery, great guide, bad itinerary organization”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This tour was a mix of good and bad.

The good:

The tour director was organized (brought everything you could possibly need/might have forgotten), on time, enthusiastic and knowledgeable.

The scenery is beautiful.

The bad:

The structure of the tour is intentionally unclear on the website. Once all passengers are in the van, two options are proposed. The first: a two hour hike along a less touristy trail. The second: a drive along the loop with periodic shorter, easier hikes. The tour director makes it clear that if anyone was unable to do the first option, the whole group would do the second.

This created an atmosphere of peer pressure for people unable to do the hike (one of our members was asked repeatedly by another group member if they would possibly do the hike- until eventually they agreed). Conversely, one unwilling person would prevent a whole van of people from taking their hike. This was very uncomfortable and could have been avoided by having different itineraries on different days, or different tour guides for the groups.

The hike was beautiful, but in spite of being told that the group would wait for us, we were often left behind and missed out on explanations of plants, scenery etc.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Canadian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth every penny!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We booked this tour based on previous reviews and we were not disappointed. Tom picked us up promptly and had all of the bases covered--water, jackets, sunscreen, sanitizer. He's very knowledgeable about Red Rock Canyon and very attuned to the abilities of each person on the tour. What we really enjoyed , though, was being able to get away from a standard, watered down tour of the Red Rock Canyon. We didn't have to be stuck in he crowd with just a glimpse of the canyon from the same paths everyone else took--he took us to less traveled, but just as beautiful spots. This was definitely one of the highlights of our trip and a nice change of pace from the very bustling Las Vegas Strip.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank fearoheights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Tx
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful tour”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Booked the canyon tour after reading about it here. This ended up being the highlight of our trip to Vegas. Tom was an amazing guide. He was enthusiastic and knowledgeable and made sure everyone on the tour was having a good time. He explained whatever you wanted to know and even offered to take our pictures in the nicest areas. The cost of the tour was 59 dollars and he picked us up at the Paris Hotel. The tour was supposed to be 3 hours long but he went with the pace of our toup group and we ended up taking about 3 1/2 hours. Since we were in a rush to get back to our hotel bc we were going to a show, Tom even offered to drop us off at our hotel instead of the Paris, which was extremely nice. He brought hiking sticks, water and snacks for the group. The canyons were beautiful and the weather was nice. We will definitely do this again when we return. Tom rocked!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TxAndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Had considered doing a Grand Canyon or Zion tour during our recent stay in Vegas, but my wife and I didn't think the long travel to/from would be worth it for the short time at the actual destination. Instead, we decided to check out Red Rock Canyon because of the close proximity to the strip and solid reviews we had read. We figured it wouldn't have the same "wow factor" as the other two options, but it definitely turned out to be well worth the time...primarily due to Tom and his knowledge of the park and area.

Booking the tour was a breeze, as I received an e-mail back almost instantly and was able to easily book via PayPal and got confirmation right away. Tom arrived at Paris in his clean, comfortable van right on time and we were off to check out the sites. There were only four of us on the tour that day and Tom made it a point to get to know each of us and ask our preferences for viewing the different areas. If you are recovering from the previous night and want to take in the beautiful colors and scenes from the comfort of the van, no problem. Should you prefer to get out and walk a few of the many trails, totally fine as well.

Tom gave us in-depth info on all the different plants, rock formations, elevation changes, water basins, etc. in the park, led us to some great spots for taking pictures and was more than happy to snap as many photos as we wanted. He even had some great suggestions on various poses that turned out great (and some quite humerous as well)!

Tom has you covered from start to finish, including water, snacks, sunscreen, hand sanitizer or even a coat if the temperatures start to drop during the tour.

Definitely would recommend this tour to anyone looking for a quiet, scenic, enjoyable experience (and maybe a few hours away from the tables and hustle & bustle of the strip).

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawkiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Canyon by One Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Grand Canyon by One Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing